We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful stay at Middlethorpe Hall- the perfect tonic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Blissful stay at Middlethorpe Hall- the perfect tonic.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you want to feel like you are living in Downton Abbey or starring in an Agatha Christie who-dunnit - then this is the place for you. A beautiful, historic country house which oozes English charm. From the moment my friend and I arrived for a much-needed break, we were treated like royalty. I could not fault the service we received.......just impeccable. Thank you so much to all the team for caring for us so well. From the lovely people on reception, the staff who brought trays of tea to our room & turned down the beds / tidied the room every day- to the wonderful restaurant staff who treated us to exquisite meals, breakfasts and afternoon tea (special thanks to Viv and the gentleman concierge for your care and attention ). We stayed in Room 12, in the main house - we were upgraded on arrival which was a lovely surprise. The room overlooked the stunning lawns and gardens- I half expected Mr Darcy to come striding across from the lake........maybe next time!!!
We went to the spa daily which was a real treat- the facilities were excellent and the staff very helpful. We loved sitting by the pool reading between swims and using the hot-tub, steam room and sauna. It was a really tranquil and relaxing environment- we treasured every moment there. We chose to hop on the bus to go shopping in York- the bus-stop was right at the end of the drive, so very convenient and only took about 20 mins to the Minster. We got taxis back (due to the amount of shopping we had done!!!) which cost about £7 - £8.

Usually we pick a different place each year for our annual Ladies Pampering Break, but we were were so bowled over by Middlethorpe Hall that we will be heading back there again next year. Your awards and excellent feedback are well justified- thank you for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeltasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    221
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
209
743
55
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Enjoyed the gardens, the room and a fine dinner and all was well until later - I paid my bill and said I would be leaving early and was kindly and spontaneously offered a continental breakfast at 6.30am in my room, which sounded goo, but sadly this never arrived and so I and to leave to beat the traffic hungry. At the prices charged this seems rather poor. I wouldn't have minded but they did offer. Failed promise worse than no promise at all...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is about 15 – 20 minutes by taxi from York. We had to take taxis into the city center which the wonderful staff arranged. I wished we were driving but it worked out fine as we hired a taxi driver to take us around Yorkshire and to Whitby. The hotel concierge arranged this for us. In fact I felt as if I were a guest at a grand old estate and the hosts were personally taking care of me. The house reminds me of historic houses in New England, but it is much older. It was fun to see the grounds, the house and imagine how settlers from England built their houses based on what they knew. The weather was not very good as it rained a lot but the house, staff and restaurant made it a special retreat, just charming.

We were in a very small room (#28) in one of the annex buildings, not the main house, at the top of uneven stairs. It was decorated quaintly with more than enough furniture. The windows look over the walled garden. The closet is very small as is the bathroom where there are two faucets to mix water in the sink basin. Robes and amenities were supplied, maid service was good. There is a TV in the room and more than enough odd books to entertain you. They have other rooms I am sure but this one was fine for a few nights. Heat was adequate. The beds were comfortable. It is a short walk to the main house and they supply you with umbrellas if needed.

I loved the garden. It has different areas: the walled garden – charming and serene, a small fountain by the vegetable gardens, all with trellised trained fruit trees, other segmented formal gardens, paths leading into the meadow by a lake and a sweeping lawn up to the house.

You should reserve for dinner but the hotel makes sure their guests are taken care of. The cuisine is excellent, served in the beautiful elegant state rooms. You have cocktails and place your order in the large salon then move to one of the other rooms, a paneled room or the pineapple room. Then you can sit in the library and read, relax after dinner. We had halibut from the North Sea, excellent. The pork was very good. They have an extensive wine list and service is excellent.

We were glad for the spa across the street. They have treatments you can book, also a gym, pool and spa in a peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were in room 28 in one of the buildings by the courtyard. It was very small and had a lot of cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A huge thank you to the whole team at Middlethorpe Hall and Spa for looking after us so well during our recent stay.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome and the service throughout was impeccable and of the highest standard, yet still friendly and not remotely stuffy or pompous. Our suite and all the rooms within the main hall were comfortable and relaxing. As for the food and wines we were treated to in the restaurant, these were out of this world and we were fed exceedingly well by a seriously talented Chef and his wonderful team. On a personal note, as a coeliac who is passionate about food and loves to eat, I thank you for every delicious morsel. And to the restaurant staff for their discretion and for making me feel special rather than a nuisance! Finally, a special thank you to young Max, who looked after us so well both nights and who made our visit extra special.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you all again one day soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0rb0rygmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Original features and all in keeping with the period. Rooms very comfortable and service excellent with a quiet efficiency. The parkland and gardens an added bonus. Only sad that we didn't have time to use the spa facilities. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house but the courtyard rooms looked nice too. Stairs quite steep in places. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

On a recent trip to York, I booked us into the Middlethorpe for the unique experience it offered.

What a grand building! We, and the general public, are lucky to have this building now in the care of the National Trust and available as a hotel for us all to enjoy.

We stayed in the converted stables, rather than the main house, and the room was very comfortable, though a little tight on space. However, everything was there that we needed, and it was warm and comfortable. Breakfast was taken in the dining room of the main House.

We had dinner in their restaurant, which was a fabulous evening. The standard was very high, and must rank as one of the best in the region. The whole experience was very 'country house', with pre-dinner drinks in the drawing room, whilst selecting from the menu, and then being escorted to dinner by a waiter when it was ready. There is a very subdued 'hush' to the atmosphere, which may be a bit overwhelming for some. This is probably due to the surroundings.

The building is grandly furnished with what appear to be original items. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make you relax. The grounds extend to about 20 acres, with manicured lawns, croquet green, lake and a ha-ha!

I'm sure that Lord Grantham, Lady Mary and Bates were around there somewhere!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 23425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable. The house goes back to the 17th century and sits on 20 acres. You get the feel of an authentic country house experience, but all the facilities are up to date, including free Wifi. The main house has the prettiest bedrooms. That said, we stayed in the courtyard and our room was very nice. The restaurant is excellent and the staff is knowledgeable and very helpful. We were there for three nights on a "dinner, bed, and breakfast" package and had no trouble finding good things to eat. The wine selection is good, particularly the "stickies". The grounds and garden are lovely and are a pleasure to walk around. The hotel is also a spa, with a well equipped fitness center. I had no trouble finding a machine. Three individuals stand out as excellent, the Scottish concierge, the Maître de, and our waiter, Max. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinotpomeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Luxury Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing