We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing retreat, great service, the place to stay for York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very relaxing retreat, great service, the place to stay for York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a very relaxing weekend, we stayed in the Terry suite, room 26, it is excellent, well equipped and very comfortable. We dined in on Friday evening, very attentive service, excellent food and wine. The location is great, just a short taxi ride from the city centre, right next to the racecourse. Spa facilities are superb the gym is small with only 4 pieces of cardiac equipment but the pool, sauna and steam room are,very good. This is the place to stay for a relaxing weekend at York.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilsFamilyView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    217
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
730
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Warm elegant professional atmosphere and service. Beautiful rooms comfortable and the most homely i have ever stayed in.. room service excellent main course was delivered seperately from my desert. Breakfast open area looking onto beautiful gardens. superb service and food. A real treat.Thoughtful kind excellent. Wish i could have stayed longer. i will be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Even near the road rooms are quiet and dignified
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We were pleased to book into Middlethorpe Hall where we held the wedding breakfast for our daughter's wedding. Classic setting and service provided both the bride and groom and their families with a memorable event. We loved being there, wheee we enjoyed the grounds and amenities, as well as being close to the wonderful city of York.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BWSiegenthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Middlethorpe Hall is an elegant place; it's also quiet and relaxing. We went for lunch - a special deal at £19.90 per person for two courses. We waited rather a long time in the drawing room for drinks and the menu. The tables in the dining room are a little too close together; I don't want to have my neighbours' conversation imposed on me. We had starters and main courses which were very nice but on the small side. It's best not to be hungry in this place! The dishes also contained too much salt; chef - please don't add salt, we can add our own if we want it. We took our coffee and petit fours (not included in the price) in the lounge. The coffee was just about OK but not very strong (even though we asked for it strong). They don't have skimmed milk, only semi-skimmed. The service during the meal was efficient and 'correct' but not delivered with much enthusiasm. We would go there again if we wanted a grand place to eat (and take guests) but there is better food to be had elsewhere in the York area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here as a special event on our 47th wedding Anniversary. The management, on finding this, kindly upgraded our room to a courtyard suite cottage called the Sir Henry Thompson Suite. What a wonderful place with everything thought of, right down to the bowls of chocolates and grapes. Even the coffee making facilities had a caftiere and very decent coffee. The bathroom had his and hers basins and both bath and separate shower. There were televisions in both the lounge and the bedroom. We did not dine here as we had dined at the Hotel Du Vin using a voucher given by family, but the breakfast was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place spotlessly clean and well decorated. They thoughtfully closed the curtains, turned the lamps on and turned the bed covers back whilst we were out. The main building was ancient and superb and the main lounge unbelievably beautiful as the photos show. We found that this ground floor suite in its own courtyard was very quiet and restful. We could not recommend this place enough and will certainly return. Congratulations to all who are responsible for this haven. You are professionals indeed

Room Tip: I would suggest a courtyard room rather than the main building facing the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishermanNeLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Perfect setting for a romantic getaway, a perfect retreat.
quaint rooms and excellent friendly service.
Breakfast was very pleasant.
The grounds and setting were delightful.
Will definitely be coming back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mustyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The staff are friendly, professional and welcoming. The building is beautiful, the drawing room and library elegant but very homely.
Gardens are a treat to walk in the morning/evening.
The rooms are very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryS1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing