We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor cottage room, very pleasant but decor urgently to review
Excellent service, convenient location to visit York.
Very nice lounges and restaurant room, good service but food quality and preparation absolutely below standard for this hotel category. Left restaurant in the middle of main course because too disappointed. Refused to have breakfast next morning. Must admit that although we asked that breakfast should be deducted from the room price, the dinner charge was deducted as well even without asking for this.
However, we would have preferred a good dinner without any price deductions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlethorpe, Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We were sorry that, unlike most of our guests who enjoy the food here, and say so on Tripadvisor, you did not.
Whilst we did not agree with your judgement, your lack of enjoyment mattered to us, and so we refunded the cost of the meal.
We now feel it is somewhat unfair and uncalled-for that you have complained on Tripadvisor as well as accepting the refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with really nice staff. We stayed in a deluxe room within the house, and it was warm, very clean and well maintained. Food was fantastic, if a little pricey for dinner. However you "gets what you pay for" and we had no complaints with the two dinners we had - one off the A La Carte menu, and the other off the Table D'Hote. The food can't be far away from a Michelin Star, as frankly it was better than the one-starred restaurant we regularly go to in Edinburgh. The staff were all friendly, helpful and cheerful. Great to see old-fashioned courtesy with the concierge opening the door for you etc. It takes about 35 minutes to walk right into the centre of York, however beware of the badly behaved cyclists who fly along the pavement, and who regard us pedestrians as clearly the bottom of the food chain! Spoils a lovely walk.

Room Tip: Room in the main house saves you having to walk outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsayburnett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Middlethorpe Hall, the staff were excellent, helpful, polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms spotless and very well presented, we enjoyed the spa which was very well equipped and had a fantastic massage, the food again was excellent and to an amazing standard, it certainly was a fantastic stay and am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We hired the drawing room for afternoon tea and had a fabulous champagne, sandwiches, scones, cake and patisserie. Wonderful service and a venue to die for... this really is a wonderful place to visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisheyesYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Just 2 miles outside York yet in the middle of the country. Great accommodation, great service and staff. The main meals were a little overpriced but don't let that out you off - we will certainly be going back. There is a choice of standard or superior rooms and some suites. Go on and treat yourself!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RichG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's not easy for a hotel to excel in service, attitude as well as in ambiance. This slice of 18th Century England has it all. The finest staff, the most accomplished kitchen, the perfect property, country walks, a cute Spa (admittedly could be refreshed in some small ways). If you dream of a weekend to recover your sanity then look no further. As a frequent world traveller I had scant hope that my own county and country could match the service ethos of some parts of the world - but the staff here are wonderful, genuine and passionate about what they do and how they do it. It makes all the difference. It would have been easy to bask in the property and let that do all the work, but hats off to the training, to the management and mostly to the staff themselves. All details were taken care of. The food was simply delicious and so well presented at each meal. I have experienced Hartwell too and that was equally fantastic. But in the end the splendour of York gives Middlethorpe the edge.

In summary, if you would like to connect with England in a wonderful way - then this is everything that you would hope for and more.

Room Tip: dual aspect, main house gives spectacular views / sunsets/ across Knavesmire and gardens (actually b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in October 2013 with a group of friends. We had afternoon tea at the hotel which was lovely. There was lots of choice of sandwiches and cakes and we upgraded to have champagne with it too.

The rooms were spacious, very clean and had gorgeous views of the grounds. The breakfast was delicious and the service was very good.

From arriving right up to checking out the staff were attentive, friendly and made our stay that little bit better. The rooms are quite pricey (£199 for a standard double) however I feel it is good value for money as they offer a high standard of service. I would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,387 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $153 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing