We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night in York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bedale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Night in York”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I made a telephone call to reception where i spoke to a supercilious gentleman called Jose who claimed to be the assistant manager. Had it not been for the fact my stay had been a gift for me and my wife I would never have set eyes on Middlethorpe Hall. I find it hard to believe such an insolent person is employed as the assistant manager for such a highly rated establishment.

That said we throughly enjoyed our stay and found the staff attentive, helpful and customer friendly. The fare was top class and the rooms clean, neat and tidy and most comfortable. The public rooms and gardens are exactly what one requires for a quiet and relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlethorpe, General Manager at Middlethorpe Hall & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are delighted that these guests thoroughly enjoyed their recent visit to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa. Their praises towards the team here, our historic public rooms and our award-winning gardens are very pleasing.

We of course regret the difficult conversation that took place at the time of booking:- as in most hotels, we do require a credit card to secure a hotel reservation, even when a guest is informing us that he/she will present a gift voucher to settle his/her account on departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    218
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
733
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We held our wedding and reception at Middlethorpe Hall and received excellent service. All the staff couldn't do enough for us and whilst it was a very small affair we were made to feel very special. The staff anticipated our requests and their attention to detail was excellent. Great food, great rooms and décor, great staff, great hotel!

Room Tip: As the bride and groom we had the Duke of York suite and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wow, Wow, Wow was all my wife could say as we entered on our recent two day visit. A 2 night stay for a special birthday treat at an unknown location (as far as the wife was concerned) turned out to be a wonderful experience for us both. Afternoon tea served outside as the weather was superb in the settings of this historic house certainly started our break of in a relaxing style. But from the moment we entered on the Thursday afternoon to leaving Saturday morning the staff bar non were pleasant, polite and helpful. And that includes Martin the painter, sprucing up the external decor. We'll live off his meeting at dining events for months to come! The nitty gritty relating to room cleanliness etc, couldn't fault it. Spotless, comfortable bed, exceptional toiletries and a turn down service each evening, which was a nice welcome when returning from exploring around York during the evening. Breakfast of both continental style and/or Yorkshire cooked was available and as expected everything tip top quality. Dinner on the Friday night was an unmissable experience. From the complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate the birthday to the fine dining that followed. So well presented and cooked to perfection - I guess I must add at this point that it's not for the feint hearted on the wallet strings chaps - gulp! But was it worth it? YES. So definately a place to add to your must visit list and being so close to York you'll never be short of things to see or do. Well done to all at Middlethorpe 11/10 for you on our reckoning and thank you for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lincsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
270 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our couple of days at Middlethorpe Hall felt special and many aspects of the hotel (beautiful grounds, historic surroundings, attentive service) helped ensure we went away pretty happy. Our room (number 12) in the main house was well equipped and had everything one would expect from a hotel at this level. A couple of minor points: some of the complimentary toiletries were a few days from their use by date and our bath lacked a hair washing shower attachment which made things rather awkward when using the bath.
The hotel did let itself down though when it came to arranging the two invoices for my mother and myself. My bill was incorrect, as we had been charged the wrong room rate and my mother's was several hundred pounds too high, as items from another room (dinner and drinks etc.) had been incorrectly added. This was eventually sorted out, but there should be a clearer system when charging to a room (perhaps showing your key or signing a chit?).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in lady mary room which was a suite of three rooms charmingly decorated and very comfortable. Staff could not have been more polite from minute of arrival with tea and coffee in beautiful drawing room to Derek who served our group of 20 every night and was more than helpful, attentive and just A number 1. Location great to visit country houses locally and to stroll city of York do not miss stroll through lovely gardens which are fairly extensive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22314lsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have just had a break at this hotel. The service was exceptional and the food was wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms which was really comfortable. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in or around York

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Atmospheric William and Mary House set in simply magical gardens, perfect setting for a two day break. Food lovely - we loved the paneled dining room and drinks on the terrace overlooking the gorgeous garden. Staff were very welcoming and worked extremely hard to ensure we had a great time. We had to force ourselves to leave the hotel to visit the sights of York - all easily accessible. The pool and spa enabled us to really unwind. We would love to do it all again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing