We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On arriving after checking in our case was taken by the conceirge,who was warm and welcoming ,showing us around the house and facilities meeting other staff who were also friendly.we stayed in a lovely room in the courtyard overlooking the beautiful gardens.Also the chef made the most delicious biscuits that were in your room and served with tea( so good they should sell them)The only downside was we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

From the moment you get shown to your room, to the moment you leave, nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent as is the spa. The gardens are beautifully kept, you can play croquet on the lawn, it has a helipad, a lovely little lake with wild birds, it even has a sunken garden where you can have seclusion. The house itself is beautiful, nothing whatever to fault this place

Room Tip: Courtyard suites are excellent
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have just come home from a three day stay at Middlethorpe. I booked on the basis of reviews and the information given on their web site and I can say that I wasn't disappointed. It is a beautiful old building, full of character. I stayed in a superior Courtyard Suite which consisted of large sitting room, double bedroom with large bed, two bathrooms and a dressing room, all of which were clean and well furnished. The staff were courteous, attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The spa is cleverly disguised in two cottages and the swimming pool, although small, is adequate. (I didn't use the gym)
The food was superb, fresh, well cooked and well presented, served by very good waiting staff in a delightful dining room.
A very enjoyable stay which exceeded my expectations.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AndrewSG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Attentive from start to finish. Beautiful setting with astonishing grounds. wonderful food with too many great options for one night. I didn't have time to visit the spa/ gym but will do next time as i will be sure to visit again. Highlight of my visit to York .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

While visiting York and lodging at the Cedar Court Hotel in central York, we felt that dining in a 'great house' nearby would be a worthwhile experience, and we were not disappointed. Middlethorpe Hall is a beautiful and romantic hotel, and, while we can't comment on the accommodations and hotel service, we can attest that our lunch in its elegant restaurant was all that we'd hoped for. A delicious meal enhanced by flawless, warm service. Our pleasure was vastly increased when we learned that we could enjoy the delicious dessert and tea on the lovely grounds behind the mansion. This was graciously served to us and we then spent considerable time walking the grounds and the charming sculptured English garden. It was like stepping back to an earlier, more serene time. Although not inexpensive, my wife and I felt it was definitely good value for the money and highly recommend this experience at Middlethorpe to those visiting York.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

we really enjoyed this place. Service was good.
We had a relaxing time .
We had a girl's weekend away and stayed in one of the courtyard rooms.
The rooms were lovely, nice deco. We made use of the swimming pool. :)
It was nice stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel's sister hotel, Bodysgallen, on several occasions and always had a great time and so we thought that we'd give Middlethorpe a visit.
When we arrived the receptionist was checking us in when the phone rang. Even though there were two other staff members present she stopped serving us to take the call - not a good start.
The room was okay but rather small and there was a lot of road noise as the A64 runs alongside the hotel. As this was in the heatwave we had no choice but to sleep with the windows open.
Dinner the first night was very nice and a pleasant experience. However breakfast the next morning certainly was not. We took our table and waited and waited and waited. Eventually someone took our order for one tea and one coffee. We then waited and waited and waited. We then caught the attention of one of the staff and asked where our tea and coffee was. They apologised and said that they were busy that morning - strangely there were several tables empty and so they were not operating to capacity and also there were a lot of staff around avoiding eye contact. Anyway the coffee arrived but no tea so we waited and waited and waited (there is a definite theme here). Again we complained to a staff member and eventually got the tea. Too late really as breakfast was spoilt. Also they ran out of pancakes!!! Just make some more batter - or perhaps they buy them in.
Dinner on the second night did not start well. You go to the drawing room for a pre-dinner drink and to study the menu. We arrived and although there were many staff around we waited and waited and waited. Eventually when we did get our food selected and seated in the restaurant the food was very nice and the staff waiting in the restaurant were very efficient - perhaps they should show the others how it is done.
All in all the very poor service spoilt our weekend at what is a very expensive hotel.
Following a complaint to the General Manager we have been offered a free upgrade and champagne on our next visit - the thing is that it is very unlikely that there will be a next visit. In future we shall stick with going to Bodysgallen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZacMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,330 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $150 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing