We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a wonderful Christmas present treat for a stay at Middlethorpe Hall. It turned out even better as we were upgraded to the top four poster bedroom with lovely views over the garden.
The Hall is magnificent yet has a homely feel and you can almost dream of living there.
Staff could not be more attentive or helpful from offering to park the car to service in the restaurant.
We had a delightful champagne afternoon tea although it took 35 minutes to actually get some food.
The steaks we had in the restaurant were excellent but the sticky toffee souffle was a little sweet for our taste.
The spa and pool facilities were fine but the gym is a little basic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacaranda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    218
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
205
737
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our meal at Middlethorpe Hall redeemed what was turning out to be a very un-birthday birthday. It was too cold and windy for our proposed trip to the coast, the NT attractions we wanted to visit were closed, then Middlethorpe Hall came to the rescue. Booked a meal immediately, received a very warm welcome and complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate the birthday. Things were looking up! The service was excellent, the food was tasty,the surroundings historic, the setting peaceful. We will go again, but only once a year for a birthday, as the meal was very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel run to a high standard by caring people.
It is an old building that has been lovingly restored
The decor is very traditional and the service is very English, polite and caring
we had afternoon tea that was served in china with silver tea service and silver platter with lovely cream and jam scones. The library/lounge is very crisp white linen napkins and starched uniforms - just what you would expect. There are no mobile phones disturbing the tranquil environment!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed May 8-10. Middlethorpe Hall is absolute perfection - the house stunning, the gardens impeccable, the service superb! As an American, it fulfilled my every dream of the perfect country house experience...large enough to be luxurious but small enough to feel like a private home. It didn't look or feel commercial in any way, which was important to me, and I enjoyed the beautiful grounds as much as any of the Trust properties we visited on our 12 day trip. The interiors are perfection - a large, tall drawing room, a library, and a more intimate upstairs sitting room, all with fireplaces lit at your command, in which to enjoy drinks or afternoon tea or curl up with a book. A dark paneled dining room and lighter "Pineapple" room for exquisite meals. Acres of sumptuous grounds and walled gardens to explore, plus the pleasure of the spa. A quick taxi ride from the York rail station downtown. Our top floor room in the main house was small but ever so comfortable, and we enjoyed the nightly cookies by the bedside. Yes, you can hear a little noise from the roadway, but it is very convenient for hopping on the A64 to explore the countryside without fighting the traffic of inner York. Would highly recommend, though probably not ideal for families with little children. We booked online from the hotel website for the B&B rate which seemed a great deal...breakfast, VAT, a dinner credit and a bottle of champaign all included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our first visit and my mum, myself and my two sisters stayed in the cottage suites, meaning we had the whole house to ourselves in lovely, quiet surroundings with our own garden. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind enough for us to have our champagne afternoon tea in the garden but it was so absolutely scrummy that it really didn't matter!

I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere where the staff have been so attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and as mum was in a wheelchair access was provided whenever we visited the main hotel for meals and we never had to ask for the side door to be opened or the ramp to be put down because someone always spotted us arrive. Sam and Andrew were particularly attentive.

The food was excellent, the spa facilities suited us perfectly, a walk through the gardens and surrounding woodland is very relaxing and our cottage was very homely and catered to all our needs.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

my wife and I spent 2 nights in the main hotel and very very impressed with the room, public rooms and attentive, friendly staff. Food was also excellent, as was the spa. We hope to visit again soon and would recommend Middlethorpe Hall to anyone looking for a relaxing break in pleasant, traditional surroundings.

Room Tip: Never saw the courtyard rooms but rooms in main hotel are excellent, traditionally and comfortably f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AChristison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely and clean, and the staff are an absolute asset. Wonderful stay here. Maybe not one for younger people (my husband and I are in our early 20s and we did perhaps feel a little out of place). Still, we had a lovely time and our room was great, a little noise from the A64 could be heard but it wasnt too loud!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PYT_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
606 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing