We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon Tea in a great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Tea in a great setting”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel run to a high standard by caring people.
It is an old building that has been lovingly restored
The decor is very traditional and the service is very English, polite and caring
we had afternoon tea that was served in china with silver tea service and silver platter with lovely cream and jam scones. The library/lounge is very crisp white linen napkins and starched uniforms - just what you would expect. There are no mobile phones disturbing the tranquil environment!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    218
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
733
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed May 8-10. Middlethorpe Hall is absolute perfection - the house stunning, the gardens impeccable, the service superb! As an American, it fulfilled my every dream of the perfect country house experience...large enough to be luxurious but small enough to feel like a private home. It didn't look or feel commercial in any way, which was important to me, and I enjoyed the beautiful grounds as much as any of the Trust properties we visited on our 12 day trip. The interiors are perfection - a large, tall drawing room, a library, and a more intimate upstairs sitting room, all with fireplaces lit at your command, in which to enjoy drinks or afternoon tea or curl up with a book. A dark paneled dining room and lighter "Pineapple" room for exquisite meals. Acres of sumptuous grounds and walled gardens to explore, plus the pleasure of the spa. A quick taxi ride from the York rail station downtown. Our top floor room in the main house was small but ever so comfortable, and we enjoyed the nightly cookies by the bedside. Yes, you can hear a little noise from the roadway, but it is very convenient for hopping on the A64 to explore the countryside without fighting the traffic of inner York. Would highly recommend, though probably not ideal for families with little children. We booked online from the hotel website for the B&B rate which seemed a great deal...breakfast, VAT, a dinner credit and a bottle of champaign all included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our first visit and my mum, myself and my two sisters stayed in the cottage suites, meaning we had the whole house to ourselves in lovely, quiet surroundings with our own garden. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind enough for us to have our champagne afternoon tea in the garden but it was so absolutely scrummy that it really didn't matter!

I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere where the staff have been so attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and as mum was in a wheelchair access was provided whenever we visited the main hotel for meals and we never had to ask for the side door to be opened or the ramp to be put down because someone always spotted us arrive. Sam and Andrew were particularly attentive.

The food was excellent, the spa facilities suited us perfectly, a walk through the gardens and surrounding woodland is very relaxing and our cottage was very homely and catered to all our needs.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

my wife and I spent 2 nights in the main hotel and very very impressed with the room, public rooms and attentive, friendly staff. Food was also excellent, as was the spa. We hope to visit again soon and would recommend Middlethorpe Hall to anyone looking for a relaxing break in pleasant, traditional surroundings.

Room Tip: Never saw the courtyard rooms but rooms in main hotel are excellent, traditionally and comfortably f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AChristison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely and clean, and the staff are an absolute asset. Wonderful stay here. Maybe not one for younger people (my husband and I are in our early 20s and we did perhaps feel a little out of place). Still, we had a lovely time and our room was great, a little noise from the A64 could be heard but it wasnt too loud!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PYT_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here in February, booked on the internet direct with the hotel and went for the cottage suite, we were allocated the upper part of the cottage which was smaller than the ground floor, quite nice all the same but for £220 a night I must admit I was expecting something a little more special the other slight issue I had was that the people staying below had a dog, every time we walked across the floor the floorboards creaked, the dog below heard it and you know what's coming next, yes it started barking.
I was sure when I looked at the accommodation details on the Halls website it did not say anything about guests having dogs so I checked and it's not at all clear when you search and look at the accommodation it does not say anything about dogs but on the main home page the is a link titled (yes you guessed it) dogs, that states.......

"We welcome dogs at Middlethorpe Hall in the Cottage Suites and Garden Suite by prior arrangement. Two small dogs or one larger dog may be accommodated, but are not allowed in the bedrooms. You may walk with your dog(s) in the park, but may not take your dog into the gardens. Any damage to the rooms or injury to livestock will be charged for. We regret that dogs are not allowed in the main house, unless guide dogs"

My point would be to the management that when searching the individual accommodation details it should clearly state guests are allowed dogs on all the room links where dogs are permitted i.e. the Garden and cottage suites for people like me that do not read every link on your homepage!

Apart from the barking dog we did have an enjoyable stay all the staff were polite and gave us great service, we ate in the restaurant which was very nice indeed and a further tip would be to book your table through the Halls website which gives you % discounts off the bill if you eat at certain times, just follow the "book online" link

Room Tip: Go for the main building, no dogs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The first impressions of Middlethorpe Hall are of a rather grand country home, but from the moment of entering the front door there is the feeling of a warm, welcoming atmosphere, with comfortable and attractive public areas - formal, but in no way intimindatory. The staff are unfailingly friendly and efficient; nothing is too much trouble and in an unobtrusive manner they ensure that each guest is treated as a special visitor. The menus offer a wide range of choices of locally sourced produce. The meals are very well cooked and beautifully presented in the small, intimate, panelled dining rooms. The bedrooms are very well appointed, spotless and very comfortable. We have stayed in one of the rooms in the main building - positively sumptuous. We have also stayed in two of the junior suites in the former stable yard - each a delight and just what is needed for a short special occasion stay. There is a tranquil formal walled garden of flower beds, and beds of vegetables and fruit. The main park is a delight to walk in and provides interesting views of the south of the Hall. As it was a special visit, my wife visited the spa for a little bit of pampering.

This was our third visit to Middlethorpe Hall - each being to celebrate a wedding anniversary, the most recent our golden wedding anniversary. We cannot think of a better place to spend such an landmark.

Room Tip: The junior suites in the courtyard are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing