We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Understated luxury”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of February and have to say that the experience was terrific.
On arrival we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was beautifully appointed and most comfortable.
We used the spa on two of the evenings and there was everything you needed for a relaxing hour - pool, steam room, sauna and whirlpool.
The hotel is most convenient for the lovely city of York and we used local taxis to ferry us to and from the centre.
Food (breakfast and dinner) was very good and restaurant staff were most helpful.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay made extra special by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    221
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
208
743
55
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Middlethorpe Hall for one night as a Mother's Day treat with my friend. We bought a special package which included bed, early morning tea, breakfast, £43 towards dinner, use of the pool & SPA and a choice of luxury extra (we chose a back massage but champagne or afternoon tea were also options).

Everything about Middlethorpe is luxurious, cosy, quality & special.

We arrived at the hotel to find we had a free upgrade into a luxury room in the main house - our original superior room was to be in the courtyard. A lovely surprise.

We started our day in the spa and after changing into robe & slippers (provided) we had fresh coffee and homemade biscuits whilst we completed our registration forms - all complimentary. The back massage only lasted 25 mins but we felt this was long enough - it wasn't rushed, very enjoyable and just the right thing to set off our relaxing break.

We used the spa which consists of a pool, spa bath, sauna and steam room - all clean and as you'd expect.

We were shown to our room which was amazing. Views to 2 aspects (room 12) of the courtyard and amazing grounds. We had twin beds, flat screen TV & DVD (hotel has an Oscar winning DVD library) and a modern bathroom with bath & shower head. My dress for dinner had been hung up in the wardrobe already which was a lovely touch and we also had a handwritten welcome note from the manager and homemade shortbread.

Dinner was amazing. You dine in an oak panelled, candlelit room. The bread was out of this world and the quality continued throughout. We had the duck and stonebass (homemade chips are a must) followed by chocolate pudding and rhubarb & custard. We also had prosecco which was divine.

After a lovely nights sleep, our early morning tea arrived at 8 (our chosen time) which was a lovely touch and then breakfast in the dining room which again was fantastic.

After a quick walk around the grounds where we were lucky enough to spot the resident deer family we headed home.

In summary an amazing building, just outside York so near enough for a visit. Luxury without being stuffy or pretentious and the friendly staff couldn't do enough for us, again without being too formal. The food was to die for and all the little added touches meant my friend and I had an absolutely amazing experience which if I could, I would repeat tomorrow!

This hotel is a real find - luxury modern hotels are clinical and lack personality and character. This has both in spades and almost felt like staying in someone's manor home.

A gem of a find.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T21AMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Middlethorpe hall as a mother's day treat and it was the most wonderful break away I have ever had in this country. The staff are all warm, welcoming and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.
We had a massage as part of our break and this was relaxing and good value for money. The spa facilities are clean and well maintained.
We were upgraded upon arrival from a superior room to a luxury twin in the house. The room had amazing views and everything we could possibly need. The coffee we ordered to the room came with gorgeous handmade biscuits and my husband had arranged for the hotel to leave chocolates for us which were delicious.
Dinner was out of this world and we truly did not want our meal to end. Breakfast was delicious too and included lovely pastries, fruit , cereals and yogurts. The cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection and all the staff were attentive.
I can only say positive things about our stay here and I have happy memories fromy stay that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007hifive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I must say that Middlethorpeis right up there with the best of them.
The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious clean and well furnished.
The meals were very good and the service excellent.
Overall it is a great base to visit York although we would have been happy staying in the hotel & spa .
Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derby_Chris187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've stayed here several times over the years, although a bit expensive its worth saving for. I've stayed in the main house and court yard and found the service superb. The breakfasts are amazing and the main restaurant meals a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milomeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The setting is wonderful, the welcome warm and friendly, the rooms very comfortable, the food excellent, all in all a fine venue and a warm and friendly ambience. A convenient location from which tondo business inn York or as a base to explore the wonderful City of York

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Begbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had such good memories from our last visit, we decided to take advantage of the late availability offer, for one night only. Was given upgrade upon arrival. Dinner was excellent, as was the breakfast. All staff helpful as always. Gardens beautiful even in February. Cannot imagine how the hotel could be improved upon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
621 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,209 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing