We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We returned to Middlethorpe for the 2nd time to celebrate my sister's 21st birthday and what a superb stay it was. Stunning building and grounds, exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff, a brilliantly relaxing spa and to top it off, incredible food. Rooms were very clean and well equipped, whilst maintaining a historic feel. Staff as ever were brilliant, and made my 85 year old Grandmother's visit unforgettable, through their generosity and good will. Food was exceptional, especially the scallops, ate far too much but so worth it! Highly recommended to both families and couples alike, a real treat of a weekend away. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    217
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
730
52
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My Husband and myself recently stayed at Middlethorpe Hall.Staff were extremely
polite and friendly. The service we received by all the staff was faultless.We stayed in the main house which was spotless and very comfortable. The food was superb
and well presented also enjoyed our afternoon champagne tea.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank liames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I took my 19 year old daughter for a two day weekend break to Middlethorpe Hall and Spa to celebrate her birthday in style. we arrived by taxi from York railway station, a short journey of a couple of miles. The building is lovely, quaint, old fashined and stately. we had booked a standard ensuite room in the courtyard.

On check in we received a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe suite on the first floor of the courtyard buildings which was beautiful. The gentleman who showed us round was very informative and helpful and very polite. The francis terry suite had a huge lounge, lovely kingsize (or twin) bedroom looking out to the spa. There were two bathrooms with both bath and shower, under floor heating and toiletries, a dressing area and comfy, cosy beds. We asked for a hospitality tray to be delivered and within half an hour it arrived. (you must request one if you want one).

You are not permitted to use mobiles or other electronic gadgets in the public rooms of the main house which was a lovely change I must say! Peaceful, tranquil and restful were the key words for the atmosphere in this grand old house which is decorated in period style as it should be. The drawing room is a lovely place to sit at any time of the day but especially before dinner where your canapes and pre dinner drinks are served while you peruse the menu.

This is gourmet dining and quite expensive (for example the main courses were around £28.00, starters around £9.00 and desserts up to £13.00) so will not suit everyone. As it was a special occasion we decided to dine in the restaurant for one night. We booked a table for 8pm and were escorted to our table promptly. The staff here are very pleasant with a quiet calm manner which enhances your relaxation. I found them all to be very efficient and willing to help.

I must admit that this was a rather expensive meal (£105 without the drinks!) and the portions very small although the food was delicious. I felt that it was not good value for money but the experience and the pannelled room and candles made for a lovely evening enjoyed by myself and my daughter. We chose to dine in York itself on the second evening.

We both had spa treatments which were very good. The prices are what you would normally pay in the North (a lot more reasonable than the South). The staff were very obliging and friendly and we enjoyed coffee afterwards. We made use of the swimming pool (supposedly heated but extremely cold) and the whirlpool, sauna and steamroom. very enjoyable. It was pleasant in the evening as the lights are dimmed and it is quieter then. There is also a small gym area which unfortunately we did not have time to use.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant between 8am-10am weekends and from 7.30 weekdays. A good selection fro fresh fruit, yoghurts, juices and cereals were available which you helped yourself to. The staff would take your order for hot food and also serve tea and toast to you at the table. (proper tea with a strainer) or coffee if preffered. The yorkshire breakfast was delicious and I felt that the breakfast was very good value for money.

I am returning to Middlethorpe Hall in a couple of weeks time with my husband and we shall be staying in the main house. I am confident that he will enjoy his stay here and would reccommend this hotel if you like peace, relaxation, no noisy children, and stately homes.

There are 20 acres of grounds to explore which looked beautiful and we did explore part of the garden but the weather was terrible so it was very muddy on one of our days. Next time!.

Best part : being transported back in time to when things were more tranquil and elegant and people were more courteous (lovely staff).

Slight gripe: the freezing cold "heated" pool brrrrrr! and overpriced dinner.

Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lightworkerwithwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful experience. The staff greeted us and looked after us from the minute we arrived to the minute we left.

The whole atmosphere is of a day gone by but with the modern day luxuries.

We loved the spa area and pool - quiet and so enjoyable.

The suite was spot on, cottagey in a Laura Ashley sort of way. The grounds were elegant in a country manor sort of way and the restaurant was just divine in a master chef meets Yorkshire gentry sort of way.

It is one of those places you just have to visit and experience. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Sat 10th Nov. - my children organised a big dinner party for my 70th birthday. Everything went like clockwork - the staff were efficient and pleasant, the food was gorgeous and hot when served (not easy for 40 people) the atmosphere was relaxed and all the guests and family had a wonderful time. The family stayed over and the party continued into the early hours and those of us who were capable went to the Spa before breakfast. Lots of coffee followed and we finally left at mid-day - all with a smile on our faces. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Everyone in our party was happy with their rooms so don't think there's a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Middlethorpe Hall & Spa is a wonderful experience very English in manners and tone, the staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. When we went down to dinner they appeared at the bottom of the stairs as by magic to direct you to the formal lounge to have drinks and order dinner.

Yes I would say silver service is the standard in this hotel. We stayed in the main house the only draw back is the clime to our room but the view is worth it. The main building in national trust and mostly original the facilities are very good right down to the heated towel rack in the bathroom. Travelling allot I really appreciated the wonderful shelf in the bathroom for his and hers section for toiletries a small point but when sharing limited bathroom space it is nice to have it.

We enjoyed our stay even if only for two nights very relaxing and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-traveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have visited Middlethorpe Hall on numerous occasions over the last 20 years - usually for special family occasions. Tonight we took my mother there to celebrate her birthday. Although the setting was, as always impressive, the food tonight was exceptional. Congratulation to the chef - and many thanks to the staff in reception who took such good care of us and even held the umbrella as they escorted us to our taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing