We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I booked Middlethorpe as a suprise for my husbands birthday, and it was a treat we both enjoyed.
The hall is lovely set in beautiful suroundings.
From the moment we arrived every one was very friendly,nothing was too much trouble.
Check in was easy and we were upgraded to a junior suite, our room was room 16 out in the courtyard.
It had a lovely little lounge plus the bedroom,it was nice to have the extra room.
We made use of the spa which had a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and jacuzzi plus a fitness suite were you could work out, this was situated in a small summer house in the spa gardens, there was also sun loungers outside to enjoy the sun.
We both had a aroma back therapy massage which was really relaxing.
On the evening we ate in the main house, the food was lovely but dont expect large portions in hind site i would have had a starter as well but i cannot usually eat three courses.
Breakfast next day was great and plentiful.
All in all we had a nice relaxing time at Middlethorpe and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suepd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

I chose this hotel as a surprise for my wife's birthday. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were very welcoming, efficient and friendly but without being intrusive. Our room was fabulous and overlooked the stunning rear lawn. The gardens as a whole were extensive and very pleasant, akin to what we are used to seeing at National Trust properties. The dinner was not cheap but was delicious and all the food was meticulously prepared. The staff, without any prompting, acknowledged my wife's birthday through nice additional touches. All in all, we thoroughly enyoyed the stay at this charming hotel. My wife said that she was overehelmed so that made it well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaplin186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have used Middlethorpe Hall for nearly five years now - for business meetings and also for pleasure trips. It is one of the best hotels I have been to (and this in a career of holding business events in hotels for nearly 30 years). The senior team at Middlethorpe have stayed for years and have developed a team who are polite and interested but not intrusive. The service is excellent and all issues are dealt with fast and efficiently. My colleague and I have had about 80 nights in Middlethorpe and every meal we have had has been excellent. I have twice stayed for family events/leisure and again, the experience has been excellent. The location is good for transport (car) and train (taxi to hotel). There is the race course to jog round in the morning, or the lovely gardens to stroll round or the spa to swim in. There is nothing to fault in this hotel; it's brilliant.

Room Tip: If you can afford to go, then go.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

My wife and I, with our colleague and her partner, stayed 10 days ago at this stunning hotel for pleasure. But over the last five years we have stayed quite often for work. We have been running here an experimental leadership programme financed by a well-endowed charity to make four successive cohorts of NHS rising stars from across the UK improve the quality of patient care. Indeed in 2007 Tony Blair as Prime Minister stayed here and at our invitation joined the group for a personal briefing on NHS realities.They would spend 2 day intensives here learning from patients and each other to improve the impact of their high pressure workloads. Our people returned each time to hundreds of emails and backlogs of work. Here we knew that being briefly so well-looked after in this exceptional house allowed us to work them hard.

So the relaxed and friendly stay we have just enjoyed for the first time as leisured guests was as one with our many stays as organisers of events. The grounds are of course outstanding. 10 minutes from the city centre, 2 hours from London, and you are in this extraordinary National Trust oasis; a wonderful and graceful country house full of the rich gentle aroma of polished wood, with unpretentious but beautifully tended gardens and majestic cedars. The room we stayed in was wonderful, as all the rooms we have stayed in always have been; elegant and comfortable. Dinners were yet again outstanding. Cooked with style and thoughtfulness, served with friendly efficiency. And the breakfasts meet every test. Linda and Brenda manage the whole experience with attentiveness and humour. Everything from the freshly squeezed orange juice on tap to the beautifully composed and cooked dishes including choices of back and streaky and smoked bacon or the carefully prepared kippers or varieties of leaf tea with silver strainer, everything created a breakfast to be enjoyed and not rushed (and how we now regret the times we used to rush it as part of our working day!).

Until recently, when the leadership programmes ceased,we used to run events here for up to 40 people and relaxed delicious dinners for them the night before. Lionel Chatard and his team created each event to be a five-star experience in what is in theory and cost simply a four-star National Trust property. And what made them five-star was the same attention to detail, the friendly attentiveness and family-like feel typified by people like Adam, and the sheer professionalism we encountered 10 days ago. This hotel, its leadership and its lovely team create the definition of hospitality. Such a joy and privilege to be here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Don't have much more to say than the title: ok for 1 night.

Very from the city center and also not so easy to find. But, we arrived in the evening and left next day at morning, so...ok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed at Middlethorpe to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in April. The flowers I had ordered were not only there but already in our room, in water. The hotel had upgraded us to a four poster bedroom overlooking the grounds and my wife was overwhelmed. We spent the afternoon wandering the beautiful grounds and using the compact but well equipped spa, including a back massage which came as part of the package. Dinner was served immaculately by a young waiter under the watchful eye of a French head waiter, and was very good. We slept well in our huge four poster and after morning tea served in our room, we had a great breakfast the following morning served a by a new team of very perky staff. We left promising ourselves we would return. We loved the country house atmosphere and the attentive but not disconcerting service. The average age of other guests did seem to be on the high side, though which was a shame. You probably wouldn't come here if minibars and DIY tea making were important to you (there aren't any), but for relaxation and effortless luxury, Middlethorpe is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend for our silver wedding and we had hoped for something special however it far exceeeded our expectations! We love to visit historic houses and have often said how lovely it would be to live in one- well we did for a few days. The public rooms were outstanding and when we got to the bedroom (room 12 a superior twin in the main house) we couldnt believe it- the standard was just the same with decor appropriate to the period of the house. The beds were super comfy (I usually bring my own tempur mattress and pilows but didnt need them) and the whole place was very quiet and totally relaxing.

The view from the bedroom window was onto immaculate rolling lawns and just beyond we could see the edge of the race track.The rest of the gardens were beautiful with a walled garden with apple trees and flower beds then a long walled garden with mainly white flowers and wisteria. Beyond this was a more informal parkland area with a lake and if you stay in the courtyard rooms you can bring your dog.

We are not very keen on hotels usually due to frequently supercilious staff but we didnt need to worry as the staff at Middlethorpe Hall were so friendly and helpful. Food standard was excellent and the breakfast had great choices. There is also a spa with swimmin pool which we didnt get to use as there was so much to do in York. We would love to stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Brilliant location if you are coming to the races
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathandneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,329 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $150 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing