We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable medium class hotel. Well used and showing in parts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night during a BH weekend. Early checkin was requested for noon but which went ignored.

Had to go away and return at 3pm which was an inconvenience.

Staff at reception were pleasant enough if a little 'cold.'

Room overlooked the river on floor 4. I also asked for a room AWAY from the lift to avoid noise. That request was also ignored. I got a room just3 doors away.

Internally, the hotel looks as if some areas have been remodelled. Even so, there were furthersigns of use and poor maint/cleaning. Faded and flaked paint. Mildew along the sealed silicone bathstrips/tiling.

Mattress needed replacement and the carpet showed some areas of staining.

Externally the building looks like something from the filmset of a cold war thriller. Totally devoid of any architectural style and certainly not of any benefit or value add to York's skyline.

The bar area looked the freshest part of the hotel.

Breakfast area seating was dated and worn. Food was very good at breakfast with all the usual buffet style. Teabagswere the worst ive ever had. Stick to the coffee.

Waiting staff very attentive and pleasant.

Car parking available at £12 24hrs.

All in all a nothing more than average stay and accomodation. Let downs were checkin staff who were clinical and tired rooms.

I would stay here again for the location and breakfast quality.

Dont expect the standards of a Radisson Blu, expect a standard 1 notch above a travel lodge and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MITCHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Whilst it is always disappointing to hear some aspects of your stay were not to your expectation, the feedback is extremely useful. I am sorry we were unable to allocate a room when you arrived int hecity, as we do try our best to respond positively to guests special requests but I am afraid that is not always possible. The hotel was extremely busy over the Bank Holiday period and with check out at 12 noon we do not always have the capacity to check people in earlier than the advertised 3.00 p.m. check in time. We are happy however to store luggage whilst guests explore the city.

I do hope this will not deter you from returning in the future when we would be plased to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

stayed in this hotel April 26th-28th. friendly reception, adequate very clean room with spotless bathroom. Shower great. Room second one along from lift but no noise experienced.
Amounts of toiletries perfectly adequate for two people and replenished daily.
Hotel situation very good. room with lovely views of the river and distant York Minster.
Good breakfast. Cheerful staff.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you Margaret for writing a review. I am so pleased that you appeciated the cleanliness standards for which we pride ourselves at th Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre and hope that based on such a positive experienced you will consider using this hotel or one of our other hotels, in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel May bank holiday weekend ,Only 10 minute walk from York centre. Very pleased with all aspects of hotel and the facilities ( added bonus, checkout is not till noon on day of departure), Room clean , great DRENCH shower in bathroom , comfy bed , Super buffet breakfast. Will use again

Room Tip: seventh floor offers great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

It is always good to hear when guests have had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and we thank you for writing a review. The views over the riverside are, as you say, stunning with the Minster setting the backdrop and it is well worth upgrading if you can.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Found a caterpillar on the bed. Only 1 seat in the room the view well couldn't see much of the river. Was awake most of the night with the noise of people walking up and down the corridor doors slamming ,people shouting. The restaurant was shut so had to sit in the bar then the waitress came over who could not understand English in which we had to point at the menu to order . When the food arrived we had ordered rib eye steaks ,the cuts of meat which arrived were not rib eye more a rump cut. Breakfast was cold and uncooked the sausages were raw in the middle the coffee was cold . In summary the location is good the view would be good (get a floor higher than the 2nd all you can see is the restaurant roof) and use a separate restaurant as the one on the hotel is very poor but still charge top prices . And check the room I think we were unfortunate with having a creature in the bed . Personally I would not recommend this hotel you can get a premier inn for half the price with exactly the same service .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

I am obviously disappointed to read your comments which will be reviewed with the management team; please accept my apologies as this is not a true reflection of our usual standards.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed her for one night whilst my daughter had a university interview. The room was spacious and clean and we had a double aspect room that looked over the river. The bathroom was well equipped.

We had to pay extra for parking which was a little pricey but it is in the centre of York within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants.

Breakfast was a small selection of buffet food which included bacon and eggs which was included in our bargain rate of £65 for the night so I had no complaints.

I would stay at this hotel again if my daughter gets into the University.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room high up if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Good afternoon. It would appear that you benefitted from one of our fantastic special offer rates when you stayed in January; I am so pleased to hear you felt it represented great value for money. We wish your daughter good luck in her forthcoming examinations and hope she attains a place at University here in York. Hopefully we will see you again in the forthcoming months; keep a watch on our Park Inn website...... there may well be some more special offers available!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent place to stay for a visit to York. Right in the center of the city. There was a ramp from the station down to the river where a short walk will take you direct to the hotel. Rooms small but adequate, Breakfast good selection. Only a few rooms have showers but it was a good shower unit and cubicle. Probably not for car owners as car parking inside the city walls is steep, I would go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Inn by Radisson Hotels
Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time in York and thank you for your review. The hotel is ideally located for visiting all the main tourist attractions and for the transport links. We are fortunate to have a car park at the hotel which is chargeable, but once here, a car is no longer required as everything is within walking distance. Just a note for those who may read this response, all our guest rooms and bathrooms were recently full refurbished and we have showers in every room.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, what a lovely hotel, we had river view on the 7th floor,, lovely clean, snd lots room, bathroom looked new spotless great shower, lovely fluffy towels, we liked the open wardrobes plenty of space, breakfast was great lots of choice, very friendly staff, reception was very helpfull, car park was great, would recommend this hotel, and I am very fussy where I stay, cant understand some of thesr reviews,

Room Tip: Pay little bit more sbd get river view ask for 7th floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Good morning Ross. I just wanted to say a big thank you on behalf of the team for your kind comments. At a time when many are quick to criticise, it is reassuring when people take the time to write and let us know how much they have enjoyed their stay at the hotel and in York. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and I hope we will have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,849 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $92 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing