We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location right by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location right by the river”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Inn on the Saturday before Christmas to take advantage of some last minute shopping and the Christmas markets. We arrived at the hotel very early and had no problem leaving the car in the hotel car park. Some people have commented on the cost of the car park but we were only charged £12 for 24 hours.
Our room was on the 8th floor and had good views over the city. The rooms are clean but basic, I would rate them as an upmarket travel lodge style. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice.
The only downside was that the dinning room is in need of some refurbishment, the carpet was dirty and stained and the furniture needs replacing.
On a positive note the staff work hard and were very helpfull.

Tip - go for a high floor room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your full review of the hotel. Whilst it is always disappointing to hear when a guest has experienced a problem during their stay, please be assured I will follow up your comments in relation to the shower screen. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    794
    385
    116
    48
See reviews for
239
893
71
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Location, Location, Location! The hotel is in a brilliant location right on the river in the centre of York however the rest of the hotel can only be described as average at best.

We stayed in Room 338, which had a lovely view of another wall and the extractor units from the kitchen which were noisy. The Bathroom was probably more a wet room, especially after showering as the screens are pointless at best with a large amount of water spraying onto the floor after showering. A bonus with room 338 was you could also here the lift beeping each time someone entered the floor which was a real nice touch!

Disappointed, expensive for a poor hotel but the location is ideal. Your choice, average hotel great location or better hotel more walking. I would choice walking next time!

Room Tip: Room with a view and NOT 338
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy2283_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, July 5, 2015
Thanks for your honest feedback. It's disappointing to hear that the room didn't meet with your expectations and certainly the problems you experienced with the shower are not acceeptable. I wanted to assure you however that we do act positively on guest feedback and wish to assure you that these matters have now been addressed.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean, refreshing to see a modern room with plenty of space. The check in process was easy and with there being two rooms booked (myself and my partner & his parents,) we asked at reception for rooms not next to each other which they applied. We were given two key cards, one each. The only thing was this hotel is very higgledy piggledy. You have to go up one floor and across a corridor and around two corners to get to the next set of lifts if you're in the block at the rear, which gave it some character. The staff were friendly and the hotel overall was quiet even with it being around Christmas/New Year and everyone going out to parties or do's. The room was spacious as I said earlier and also as we had arranged for a double bed, which was massive! There was a television and free internet and the room was very clean. There was aircon/heating system which was easy to adjust. The room we were in didn't have a bath but did have a lovely shower which was great to get in after a day of walking around being the typical tourist. I did enjoy staying in this hotel with its friendly atmosphere. I will definitely return for our next trip to here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank actingninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Good evening: a few words to thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time in York and enjoyed staying at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travel bring you back to York.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights early December. Great location on the riverbank very close to the city centre. Cooked breakfast was self-service and the usual selection of continental and full english breakfast available, plenty of food available and freshly stocked. We went as part of a coach trip and the set evening meal was from a set menu with choices and of average quality. Next time I think I'd eat in the city centre instead. Naturally any weekend in December will be noisy with christmas parties and the weekend we stayed was no exception. I wish people would be more respectful in the corridors alongside the rooms. Ask for a room on the higher floor if you want to be away from the disco beat. We had no problem with the maid knocking for early entry, but one of our party were disturbed several times before breakfast. However, our maid needed to be taught how to make a bed. Our room had no drawer storage or built-in wardrobe, it did have hanging posts and I guess for a 1 or 2 night stay, this is adequate. Overall the room was clean and the beds comfortable. The reception staff were very pleasant and obliging when we asked for extra blankets. I'd stay here again, but definitely on a higher floor to be away from the parties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid the disco beat from the parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Baseball_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, July 5, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. I can fully appreciate that the noise from the christmas celebrations may have impacted your stay and send you my apologies.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Small pleasantly furnished rooms and a great view over the river are the two features that distinguish this hotel. Otherwise it's a typical provincial British hotel ... average, slow service; intermittent wifi; a tricky indoor car park and really not much to get excited about.
.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinghack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrener
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Two night stay for a family of seven and The Park is a fantastic base. Rooms were clean and spacious and we were given three rooms together on the 8th floor giving us lovely views over the city. The staff were very polite and extremely helpful, and the breakfasts were amazing and set you up for the day. Everything is on your doorstep and the hotel car park is very secure. The bar was a tad pricey, but then again most city centre hotels are...there are plenty of nice little bars within a few minutes walk. Would stay here again and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't leave it late for breakfast !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenphil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
it sounds as though the Park Inn provided you with the ideal base for your family break in York and that you had a very enjoyable time. I am pleased to hear the team provided the friendly and warm service for which Yorkshire is so famous and I know they will be pleased to hear that they played a part in you having such a positive experience.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived on Christmas day and were welcomed by friendly staff. The Hotel is in a great location for access to the Old city of York. Parking is easily available and breakfast more than enough. The staff were all very friendly, especially the bar staff who took time to make sure that we were comfortable and made good suggestions about places to visit in the local area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river give a great view of the Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael0746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at the Park Inn York. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and I am only sorry that we could not provide a traditional white Christmas!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing