We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good, clean hotel, great buffet breakfast, only downside was the lifts are confusing to use as some lifts only go to certain floors and certain sides of the hotel and there is no signs up telling you which lift for what floors also bar area small but overall if your just after bed and breakfast nothing too fancy or overpriced in the center of York this is a great choice with some good views. Would recommend/use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sammyjo

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre. The team are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    794
    385
    116
    48
See reviews for
239
893
71
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I expected much better of this hotel. I appreciate that it is in the middle of refurbishment, but I was disappointed at having to stay in one of the old rooms. I paid £120 for a very dated room, with very basic facilities. The hot water tap and shower kept spluttering bursts of extra hot out which made showering a dreadful experience as I had to keep hopping in and out to avoid the super heated spurts. The kettle was leaky too (who has a leaky kettle?) This is absolutely no better than a Travelodge, but someone has somehow awarded them four stars. On a plus side, the location is simply fabulous and you are minutes away from the shopping and bar areas and also it's only an 8 minute walk from York train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I am absolutely amazed to read your review as all the 200 bedrooms in the hotel have been fully refurbished, and we are always congratulated on the brand new walk in showers. In order to investigate your complaints I would welcome further information so would be pleased if you would contact me directly sally.hughes@rezidorparkinn.com.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay for my husbands birthday. I booked the superior room with river view thinking it would be a lovely large spacious room! The room was tiny, toiletries not replaced. I just think £142 for this tiny room with no breakfast was a total rip off. We have stayed in a number of different hotels, with river views etc & never payed so much, for what could only be described as a b&b standard.staff looked harassed & didn't even ask if we had enjoyed our stay, in which I could of explained my disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
The rooms overlooking the mirror are usually extremely popular so I am a little surprised to find that it was not as you had expected. York is a very busy city for visitors and the room prices do reflect that demand but there are some dates when we offer some amazing rates on our website so I would always recommend checking there first.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a clean and friendly hotel, its central to York Centre and although I was staying there whilst they were upgrading it didnt disturb me and will be even better when complete. Worth staying. There is plenty of room to move about or to sit in the public areas and the decore is nice and fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debiandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
How lovely to hear that you appreciated the fresh new image that we now have; I am delighted to conifrm that everything is now finished so I do hope you come back and see us soon!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment and the 'new' areas give a glimpse of what the finished product is going to look like. We stayed in a refurbished room and you couldn't fault it; the comfort, cleanliness and quality were all spit on.
The older, non-refurbished areas are what lets the property down at present. Once the refurbishment is completed and the whole hotel brought up to the same standard then the overll rating would be very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review; we are nearly at the end of the works and everything is looking great! We cannot wait for the bar to reopen so we can all enjoy the fabulous views of the river.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a hotel for business not romance.....the reception is like a doctors surgery. No privacy whatsoever and doesnt help when you get the loud receptionist who tells whole place your business! Rooms nice ,clean tho bit clinical . Dont expect a long lie, the cleaners start early and there is no 'do not disturb' sign for door! Embarrasing if you're not quick enough! For the price and considering it a place for business meetings, no trouser press or iron. £10 for continental breakfast just too much considering you get a fantastic breakfast for £5 in wetherspoons! Not to be confused with Yates over the bridge which was awful ! And an extreme shortage of tea and coffee sachets in room. location is great..2 min from shops and bars. Hotel Car park is not free. its £12 a day.... HOTEL car park?????

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tishtash40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I am very sorry you did not request more tea bags and milk, which one our receptionists would be please to provide for you, and likewise an iron and ironing board can quickly be brought to a room if required. I do apologise if that was not made clear to you. Thank you so much for advising me that the Do Not Disturb sign could not be found on the door handle; I will bring this to the attention of our Houskeeping department as we always advise guests to use this if they want to enjoy a later start to the day; the room attendants will definitely respect your wishes!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I will start with the positive because the view from the room was lovely, overlooking the river & the Minster. It is right in the centre so it's a short walk to the shops, bars & restaurants. That's where it stops though I'm afraid. My friend and I were most disappointed with the hotel.

Check in & service was standard. The Car Park is frighteningly tight. The restaurant is a million miles away from anywhere & both the bar & restaurant are in desperate need of a makeover. A tired 80's look is really not good. I couldn't understand why the restaurant boasted that it overlooked the river, but the blinds were down so you couldn't see a thing? On the plus side, we ordered Rib Eye Steak & it was a nice meal. However, the inclusive option was a carvery & the whole restaurant smelt of soggy cabbage so it was really quite off-putting. Breakfast was typical hotel buffet & luke warm.

There are signs of preparation for decorating & improvement around, but no work seemed to be done while we were there. A new restaurant & bar is promised but who knows when that will be? It will be located far nearer the Reception which makes more sense.

The room was reasonable, the bed was comfy BUT the bathroom was old & tatty. There was chipboard coming away from the side of the bath.

It's such a shame as the location is fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I was disappointed to read your review and particularly surprised at your comment with regard to the bathrooms. All the hotel bedrooms and bathrooms have been completely refurbished during 2012. Unlike many hotels in the heart of the city, we do benefit from over 60 car parking spaces which are suitable for the average car so I am sorry if you found the spaces a little restricted for your vehicle.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing