We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carmic123
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was more of a relaxing break in a site located in a quiet Yorkshire Village.
We were close this time to York and we were able to visit an explore the many attractions and sites that this beautiful city has to offer, most enjoyable especially the National Railway Museum, "really" an extremely interesting day out.
We were also situated quite close to the Yorkshire Air Museum an ex-RAF bomber command base from WW11, packed with military aircraft past and present.
The only reason that I gave 4 stars for this location, the site itself offers nothing for the guests, even the Wi-Fi was hit and miss, we actually had none for the last 5 days there.
The Village was to quiet, again with nothing really to offer visitors, appart from this we traveled home feeling refreshed and relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Lack of facilities and poor Wi-Fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Herrington Park, I am disappointed that you felt the site had nothing to offer. We have many returning guests who enjoy the peace and tranquillity of relaxing in the hot tub or on the deck after a busy day sightseeing. We advertise Herrington Park as a very quiet and peaceful site, with an extremely good country pub within walking distance. If you require/need a sports complex, nightly entertainment or on site shop, then Herrington Park is not the place for you. Regarding the WiFi, there was a fault at the telephone exchange which was beyond our control, however we have also changed our service provider with repairs guaranteed within 24 hours.
We always ask guests to let us know of any problems during their stay, so that we have the chance to put them right. Thanks again for your time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMadele...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Beautiful location, private, peaceful and serene on site. Everything catered for within the cabin. Incredibly clean and well thought out. A good amount of land surrounding you, which is great for relaxing of an evening after the children have been playing throughout the day. Safe and secure. The hot tub is wonderful! The hosts are polite, professional and welcoming.
Very close to some superb attractions such as York Maze, Yorkshire Farming Museum and Yorkshire Air Museum.
We would definitely stay here again. Just what we needed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us at Herrington Park, hopefully we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet location near York and routes to Hull, Scarborough and West Yorkshire”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely cabin with modern fixtures, fittings, furnishings on gated small holiday park.
Everything is spotless and hot tub is checked / serviced every morning. Plenty towels provided. Bottle of wine in fridge on arrival.
We were in Cabin 2 which had three bed rooms and an en-suite bathroom. King size bed was comfy enough and we had no difficulty sleeping.
Free view, DVD and wifi for entertainment.
Nice lawn for children to play and feels secluded with bushes and trees providing privacy from other cabins. No children's facilities on site but good play park in nearby village.
Local pub serves good food at lunchtime and from 6.30 in evening,shuts at 11pm. This was a bit late for our 2 year old so we mainly ate in the cabin.
Owners very friendly and are on hand to deal with any queries.
We would definitely return if visiting the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, modern, quiet, hot tub
Liked least: nothing of concern - but you will need a car as only a local shop and pub nearby
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, we are extremely pleased you enjoyed a relaxed and peaceful stay with us at Herrington Park. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0rraine4...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“outstanding”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This family group ranged from 13 to 85 years of age. Lodge was perfect, luxurious, clean, warm,, everything you needed was there, including a bottle of wine, the hot tub was amazing.

Perfect spot for York park and ride, and we took steam train from Pickering to Whitby, great.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, we are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Herrington Park and found the cabin to be clean and comfortable with everything you needed. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the quality and cleanliness of our log cabin. Willow is set in almost half an acre and surrounded by trees & Shrubs, so whilst the other cabins may have seemed close the distance between them far exceeds the statutory 20 feet required. Thank you again and we hope to see you at Herrington Park in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hannah B
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing break - faultless”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I booked this lodge having not been before as I liked the look of the log cabins and also that it was a family run business. The cabins were deceiving from the outside, the interior was large, spacious, lots of rooms and very nicely decorated, a real home from home with everything inside we needed for our stay.

Myself and my husband went with our two boys aged 10 and 6, which to be honest a quiet family long weekend never normally turns out so 'quiet', but taking everything they needed to keep them entertained, we really didn't need it all, the hot tub saw to that. On arrival we were shown around and how to use the hot tub (including what button not to press), on the last night someone accidentally pressed this button and the temperature dropped in the hot tub, but after calling the owner who was straight round to help, everything was fine and we could enjoy our last night chilling out under the stars.

We loved it here, was a perfect base to go to York, although we were happy just to stay in the cabin! None of us wanted to go home and will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: How well equipped and clean it was
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, we are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Herrington Park and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing