We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollies Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollies Guest House
Ranked #101 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Came to the hollies for our honeymoon and had an absolutely brilliant time. Our room was very nice, clean, bright and comfy!!
Breakfast was great.
Also the lady running the place was really friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend the hollies as a place to stay if visiting York!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hollies is a wonderful bed and breakfast located on the bus route into town and close to town. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The accomodations are very comfortable and clean. We stayed in the Micklegate room which was so elegantly decorated. The breakfast was delicious. I highly recommed a stay here while visiting beautiful and historic York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 708Anna_W_12708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Made to feel very welcome, excellent service by both staff and management, the rooms are very very well presented with loads of room, breakfast was cooked to order and was red hot when served, something missing at most B&Bs, not got a bad word to say about the place, very nice beds, quiet, family run place in a good location, free parking too, I'll be back for sure, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gangerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at The Hollies and it was great. We were made to feel welcome straight away, Hayley was a great host and gave us lots of local information. The rooms were comfy and clean. Breakfast came out tasty and hot! City Centre is about 15 mins away and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival. The room was comfortable with all necessities for our overnight stay. A delicious cooked breakfast was served and help given to find our way around places of interest as it was our first stay in York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great homely feel, rooms very nicely decorated, excellent breakfasts, friendly and helpful service, easy to locate and within reasonable walking distance (20 - 30 mins) to main tourist sites, only issue was lack of reliable internet connection in the room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent 3 weeks driving around England in May and had a great time. The hollies in York was amongst the best stays we had. Hayley was very welcoming and accommodating. She provided us with excellent advise on transport. Bus was about 200metres away and took only 10 minutes to get into town. Room was a good size and as they are renovating I think they did a wonderful job keeping the rooms clean and tidy. Breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choices. Thank you Hayley and Paul. Sorry it has taken so long - have only just got home from France!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Moorland House
Moorland House
#171 of 205 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#77 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.6 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#146 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#153 of 205 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#84 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollies Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollies Guest House

Property: Hollies Guest House
Address: 141 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollies Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hollies Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing