We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guest house is amazing a clean and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crossways Guest House
Ranked #95 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and every day we got a clean bed.The guest house is clean and tidy.The breakfast was lovely nice and filling.Emma is a lovely person she is so kind and helpful she has lots of leaflets to help her guests out and places that she recommends.The guest house has a amazing victorian garden that is lovely to sit in when the weather is nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2v2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Crossways Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Told what time we were to be booked in by and not at all flexible about accommodating a change of arrival time.

Smallest shower ever seen. Rules, rules, rules. Not made to feel welcome at all. Had to order breakfast the night before and it wasn't even worth it, the breakfast was overcooked. There are far better places to stay.

We go away to feel pampered not dreading coming back to the room.

Avoid this dump.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SunshineSoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I was up in York for one month for work and stayed in a number of hotels and guest houses around the city. Crossways was by far the best 6 nights of my stay. Nice location, 10 mins walk to the town centre, but far away enough out of town to be quiet at night and not be kept up by all the noisy hen/stag parties which descend on York at weekends. The rooms are clean, the bed was very comfy with lots of pillows and you wake up every morning to the most delicious smells of breakfast cooking! The host/owner is such a friendly lovely lady. She goes out if her way to make you feel welcome. I don't know why the below reviewer said they weren't given a wifi code as I found it very quickly in the guide on the desk in the room, I was very pleasantly surprised that the wifi was completely free, and fast too! Which is unheard of in hotels. I would definitely recommend staying here. Friendly, comfortable and fantastic value for money. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexandra_Oxford2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On booking this got an email telling us to arrive by 2pm on a Saturday. Its not manned after that time.! Tried to cancel but I had foolishly allowed payment to go through immediately.
Arrived in time, despite appalling traffic jam, to be asked to order breakfast for the following morning. We were also told no changes to breakfast choices could be made on subsequent days. There was a framed set of house rules on the wall of the tiny bedroom (number 1) a single room masquerading as a double, plus the ensuite was minute. No instructions on how to operate the shower though and we were'nt given the wi-fi code.We were asked to pay £5 per day parking charge . It was advertised as having parking one of the reasons I chose it.
No air con which was'nt surprising but no fan was provided despite the scorching temperature. The only mirrors were A4 sized and too high to see more then a head.
I made an error ordering and my partner only got porridge and I got a fry ,with egg over cooked . When we asked if they could cook him something we were told it was impossible as the food was taken from the freezer the night before, just enough for the orders that were placed in advance. More toast was provided.
Everything about the place felt mean,mean ,mean and it cost the same as the 4 star hotel we stayed in, in Stratford upon Avon the night before.
Find somewhere else to stay.Anywhere else is my advice. The very worst B+B I have stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nina09Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Crossways is very convenient for sight-seeing in York, walking only takes 10 mins to the Minster and it beats trying to drive in and find somewhere to park. The rooms are undeniably small, well ours was, on the top floor, but comfortable and VERY clean, and how much time do you actually spend in the bedroom anyway ? It was just somewhere to lay our heads for the night, as far as we're concerned. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the cooked breakfast was just what was needed before a full day's sight-seeing on foot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

this hotel was centrally located just 10 mins walk into York centre, the breakfast was enjoyable, especially the homemade jam and marmalade, full English breakfast was just right, not too much. my only negative point was the bed was too hard, this is personal choice I know, my parents were with us and their bed felt softer, will ask in future! still it was a pleasant place and I would stay again but in room 3 !














1

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having travelled to York on the 22nd of june without booking (big mistake) me and my partner couldnt find anywhere to stay so 2 hours later I looked up accommodation in York on my Internet and found the crossways guest house , the room was the superior king for £95 plus £5 to park.We took it .having opened the door to our room number 7 , wow was our thoughts, it was beautiful and so modern , infact it was the nicest b&b id ever stayed in.couldnt fault the room.The en suite was lovely clean and modern, the only draw back was the tiny shower, its impossible to turn around in it. A walk into York takes about 10/15 minute walk, it depends on how fast you walk and what part of York you go to. The breakfast is served from 8.30 till 9.15 and you have to order your meal the evening before. I had the full english and my partner had the scrambled egg and smoked salmon which we both said was beautiful . overall we had a great time and would highly recommend room 7 at this b&b

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark180tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.2 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.7 mi away
York House
York House
#70 of 194 in York
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#52 of 194 in York
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#50 of 194 in York
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 194 in York
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Guest House

Address: 23 Wigginton Road, York YO31 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $81 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crossways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing