We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elmbank Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$233
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
$178
$84
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
$83
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
$127
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveler rating
141
336
299
234
262
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
336
299
234
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge arearace coursesuperior roomfour poster bedrailway stationyork centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Location of the hotel is great, 15 minute walk into York centre. Car parking at hotel, which takes a cost away from other hotels as almost all the others you have to go into off street parking at an additional cost per night.
However, staff seem keen but misguided. Breakfast was late on 2 mornings, and as it starts at 7:30 most business guests would already be up and away.
Cannot speak for all rooms, but we certainly never got what is pictured in their info. Everything creaks, the tv must have been the first one ever done in colour judging by the age of it and no point in having a remote as it never operated anything (same with colleague in another room), noise from everywhere in the hotel and you have to be careful as you could either be in a room adjacent to the boiler or under the noisy creaky stairs.
If you want internet, WiFi is available and free, but you have to sit in a chair at the reception or in the bar to use it.
Location and first looks have it, went downhill from there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

On arriving at the Hotel it all looked very nice. reception area with leather settees and lamps and nice chandeliers However entering the room it all changed. The toilet roll holder was broken, the cold tap on the basin was broken, the extractor fan in the bathroom was revolting, the back pipes of the sink were covered in dust, the window in the room wouldn`t open so the window was running in water in the morning. The tray that the kettle was on had a big crack in it (very hygienic!) the tv remote only hd one battery in (very useful!) Then as for the food we had a evening meal there on our first night to put it bluntly i have never seen my dad leave food but he did here.Hs steak was half grisle. The cooked breakfast buffet looked as though it has been there since 7;30am and it tasted like it as well . the bacon was hard and the beans were dried up.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

This hotel has the most beautiful interior...the bar was decorated by a famous art nouveau artist and theres a magnificent wooden staircase...all very grand...until you get into the bedroom! Ours was MFI circa 1975...with floral bedding your grandma would be ashamed to admit to owning! Really not stylish at all, and very disappointing. The bathroom was clean and modern though.

We also were not given a key, and when returning late had to knock loudly quite a few times before staff let us back in.

I would recommend staying at the Ramada down the road but calling into the bar here just to see the history of it as it is really quite special!

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibblebobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Well... the photos look good online. The reality is somewhat not so picturesque. Starting with a good point and that is it is very central for the city centre, a ten minute pleasant walk in to the main area. Alas that is all i can say. The poor reception staff looked over worked and harrassed as we arrived. Waiting in the bar, as our room wasn't ready, was a fruitless task as there was no one to serve us. but hey ho.... surely the room would be fine? Ummm the bathroom was clean, the bed was made and if you could ignore the mould on the window and the flithy towel hanging from the top of the curtain to block the light out, it would be passable.Be preared to make your own bed as arriving back at 4pm the next day we were greeted by the room exactly as we left it! Apparantly they were short staffed but did provide us with extra milk ands coffee as opposed to clean towels and bedding!
We didnt experience the hotel catering but I had visions of a sit com where one member of staff was called Jack( of all trades) and donned different wigs and aprons to fool us into thinking it was a fully staffed hostelry.
Yes, we managed to laugh about it, yes we would go back to York but back to the Elmbank?? a definate NO.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

stayed here 2 nights fri13 to sun 15th feb, stayed in room bottom floor which stunk of damp enough said

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oswaldtwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews