We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to the races”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel looked very impressive and the main lounge and imposing staircase gave us the 'wow' factor. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. So far, so good..
Carpet on landing was in need of hoovering and had bits of black tape holding it together.
Room 245 - door looked as if it had previously been broken onto. Room was 'tired'; furniture was old, chipped, stained and dated. Window frames were filthy - outside stone balcony had lots of discarded cigarette ends, shower was little more than a trickle of water that changed from warm to cold, shower doors wouldn't stay closed. Only one container of shower gel and shampoo which were not replaced for second night. We were able to open window to get fresh or as temperatures were stifling during the night.
On the plus side, the linen and towels were clean and bed was quite comfortable, and the hotel is in a great location for the racecourse (the reason for our stay) and for visiting the city. The bar was OK but no snacks were available when we arrived.
Overall, the hotel is in great need of an upgrade and probably continues to trade by virtue of its proximity to the racecourse and the city.
Would we stay again? Probably not - would prefer the guaranteed quality of one of the more reputable hotel chains. Sorry for negativity but for the price this was not good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nervoussheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Not the best hotel in york, found the staff not helpfull. Never anyone behind the bar when needed, we were at the side of hotel and not in it. At breakfast not enough staff had to wait for 20 mins for the breakfast bar to be re stocked with food. So overall very dissapointing as it wasnt cheap. Will never return.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a very bad stay in this hotel. The room was dirty and stuffy, the linens were not changed and the reception staff especially were not helpful at all. I would ask anyone to stay away from this one. Our one week stay was not good at all, waste of money,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Moses A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and rating.

Accommodation may sometimes be swapped if the original allocation does not meet with your needs (on availability).

On short stays our Housekeeping staff will replenish stocks of complimentary tray, towels and toiletries. Accommodation is also cleaned, vacuumed and dusted.

Bed linen will be changed if requested by guests during their stay.

The Management and Staff hope you will return to York and consider using our Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Seems a bit mean to say it was value for money and nothing else; however, there is little else to add. The room was a good size for an economy twin, especially considering we only paid £55 - without breakfast - but I would love to see some investment in the hotel overall as it was a bit sad. Investment in a new mattress would be great also as mine had the buttons sticking into my back and I had to ask the night porter for an extra duvet to put on the mattress for me to sleep on. Public areas have lovely period features and are quite impressive. Reception staff a bit of a miscellany! Continental breakfast was very meagre, and Full English rather costly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

The Management and Staff are pleased that we met with your needs and we could make your sleep a more comfortable one during your stay.

We hope you will return to York and our Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The elmbank hotel is of an average hotel in need of updating its part of the cairn hotel group which has a few hotels within the group and also manages some aswell for the hilton brand and holiday inn brand if the elmbank was to be updated it would be a real nice hotel the hotel really would suit coach tours as it stands now

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Toptourisuminspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

The Management and Staff are working flat out during refurbishments to ensure we do not disrupt our guests during their stay.

Our refurbishment program is a slow process especially during the busy summer season. We hope guests can bear with us during this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

On arriving we were shown to a room that I was not happy with within the main building, which has beautiful public areas, a wonderful bar and an impressive staircase in keeping with the history of this wonderful building. After a short discussion we returned downstairs and asked the reception staff if we could be relocated. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. Within a short space of time, and despite a shortage of rooms due to a school visit over the next few days, we were moved to a much larger semi suite in the lodge across from the main hotel at no extra charge. I would love to see real money spent doing this marvellous hotel up, because it is a historical place worth preserving. At the moment, it is doing its best to work through renovations while being constantly busy and offers reasonably priced rooms within walking distance of York City centre.

Room Tip: If you feel disappointed with your room,approach the staff politely and with friendship. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaththemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Kath,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments and could not have put it better ourselves.

The Management and Staff hope there is as little disruption as possible to our guests whilst work continues.

Once again, thank you so much. We hope you will come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Another hotel booked through booking.com. We asked for a quiet room, and received one, it was in an annex building at the back of the hotel, which I though might be ok. The room to me smelled of a basement that was mouldy and damp.

The toilet never flushed properly, and the shower leaked huge puddles on the bathroom floor.

The staff were rather abrupt, and not all that friendly. btw- when you leave the hotel, you have to drop off your room key and pick it up again when you return.

Breakfast was adequate. Parking was free on the street. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the city inside the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear MaxBC,

Thank you for your review and rating.

The Courtyard rooms are probably in the quietest location of the Hotel. Staff are on hand 24 hours a day to resolve any issues that may arise during your stay. Accommodation may be swapped if the original allocation does not meet with your needs (on availability).

The Management and Staff hope you will return to York and consider booking with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
683 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#44 of 47 in York
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $57 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing