We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had spent two nights in Aldwark Manor which is a golf and leisure hotel and obviously the Elmbank does not compare, but neither does the price. We had booked a show at the Grand Old Opera House and so just needed a place to sleep for the night. We only paid £59.40 which for somewhere within walking distance (along one single (interesting) road) with a car park is an absolute steel for York. We got what we paid for - a clean bed, hot water to shower and coffee/tea tray. We were in the annex which looked a better bet than the main hotel and all in all it was very acceptable.

Room Tip: We preferred the annex. There is a small car park there which is convenient for loading/unloading
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Relionme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Relionme,

Thank you for your review and rating.

The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II listed building packed with character and lots of original features.

Quite a few of our guests prefer the Courtyard which has its own patio and a small parking area. There is also an easy access ramp which leads to the main building.

We are very happy that you had a good visit to York and hope you enjoyed your show at the Opera House. Maybe we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    280
    254
    199
    206
See reviews for
133
535
44
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The photos are of the main building, which looks charming, but the majority of the rooms were in an ugly modern building, and some (like ours) were in a separate bungalow/outhouse... It felt (and smelt)like we were in a nursing home, it had missing light bulbs, there were cobwebs everywhere and the shower had a weird plastic door that felt as though it cost about 50 quid to put up. All in all didn't seem great value for money given that breakfast wasn't included and it cost £90/night in mid January.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Matt,

Thank you for you feedback and rating.

The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II listed building which still retains many of it's original features.

The main building which houses the reception, bar and restaurant has 47 bedrooms, when these bedrooms are filled we then use our annexe rooms.

12 of these rooms are located in the Courtyard area. This is also where our disabled access rooms can be found. 11 more bedrooms are located in the Elmbank Lodge.

Our Staff are on hand 24 hours to rectify problems as and when they arise. On occasion we will move guests who are not happy with the allocated accommodation (on availability).

Our internet booking agents offer very competitive prices which are in-keeping with York rates. Most of these sites do not have breakfast included however they do advise clients of the price before arrival.

The Management and Staff hope that you will visit the historic City of York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Was on a night out in York and just wanted somewhere to rest our heads when we got in. So for the price I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and warm. The bathroom was new and clean. The décor when you enter the hotel is rather grand too !

We didnt go to the bar or have any food so cant comment on that, but I would recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Natalie

Thank you for your feedback, rating and for making your reservation with the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge.

The Management and staff are pleased you have enjoyed your visit to York and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I think the other reviews of this hotel are unjust and that the people posting may have other interests, we stayed here for three nights, we picked it for price and stars and we were not expecting the Ritz nor did we want that, this is York and the hotel is in keeping.
A short walk from the center I would advise that if you are hard of walking then this is not the place to go.
A nice quiet bar, space to breathe without feeling out of place and the management care !

I do alot of traveling around the UK and I wish to return here in October as to buisness stroke pleasure and am at present looking at costs as to book, I would consider staying here again on my trip and if I do I will again review.

I will choose the best price/standard I can and if offered will stay at this property.

Room Tip: Trust this place and there is a taxi office just round the corner who are happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darenrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Daren,

Thank you for your feedback, rating and for making your reservation with the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge.

The Management and Staff a pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is old and charming. It's just a short walk from the city life. Parking is restricted but we had 6 cars and we all managed to get parked. The staff were helpful and accommodating. The lounge had loads of character and the fires were lovely. The rooms are small, but clean. The bathrooms are clean , towels were white and fluffy. Breakfast was all the usual and the service was quick. It's clearly not a five start hotel, but they don't charge five star prices, so I would say its a nice clean bed for the night and great value for money

Room Tip: No lifts, so you would need to climb stairs to any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Bluebell,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your visit to the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge and the historic City of York.

Staff are on hand 24 hours and will gladly help any of our guests to carry belonging up the stairs.

Hopefully you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Planed this short break for my wife and myself as we know York quite well, wetoo got a brilliant price on our three night stay. We stayed in the balcony rooms and have no complaints whatsoever, Hotel receptionists were very helpful to us, nothing was a problem to them, Room was big clean quiet and very comfortable everything we needed was there, brill shower room and telly, ordered extra pillows and were given them immediately. Breakfasts were very good ( we took advantage of on-line offer for special deal) We couldn't believe it either when we read some of the reviews of this hotel! The staff try their very best to make you feel welcome and we cannot see what people expect for the price that you pay, The walk into town took Laine and me about 10 minutes and we are both in our 50s, if you stopped in every pub on the way in it might take you longer? If you are looking for a nice cosy hotel that gives good service with clean comfortable rooms at an unbeatable price, you wont beat this hotel. We will return again. Thanks
Laine and Dave

Room Tip: We were given room 256, no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Brownbenz,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to meet again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Took my boyfriend away for his birthday last week and stayed at the Elmbank after finding a fantastic quote on their website (cheaper than Booking.com and Laterooms!). Requested a nice room in the main building as I wanted to make it special for him. Well! We got there, beautiful building, gorgeous interior, and the receptionist was bubbly and friendly and helpful, checked in really easily, we were staying up the staircase and along the balcony which was a wonderful walk to breakfast each morning, and when we got in the room we found that they had given us the four poster room :-) absolutely made up! Room was lovely, bed was comfy, decor was grand, bathroom was clean and nicely tiled, I'd like to add that the entire room throughout our stay was extremely clean and the maids were friendly and very accommodating - my other half wasn't feeling well one morning so I asked if we could not have our room 'seen to' that day but if we could just have some fresh towels and more tea/coffee - there was a little knock on the door later on and everything we needed was outside. The bath was nice and big, the wardrobe and chest of drawers were HUGE, very helpful, we had a nice view, the room was nice and warm but if it gets too warm you can turn it down easily, the tv was brill and had lots of channels, and the complimentary tray of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and biscuits was very welcome. We didn't manage to sample the bar snacks menu but it looked delicious, and breakfast was wonderful each morning. We had a regular staff member see to us each morning, he was very friendly and courteous, and breakfast was delicious, fantastic range of food and very tasty! Lots of fresh orange juice, tea and coffee as well. The grounds were lovely and we had no trouble parking - it IS limited but if you have any problems, speak to the reception ladies as they're very helpful with this. We walked into town each day - those complaining about the walk need to get to the gym, it only takes about 15 minutes and is very pleasant. The day my partner was ill, I wandered into town to get us some sandwiches, I was only gone for half an hour. It's a good distance - near enough to walk into without trouble but far enough away to give you some peace and quiet! It's 24 hour access into the hotel so when we came in at 5am after a night out it was great to be able to just get our key and hop into bed. There's lots to do around the town - we recommend York Dungeons, great fun and they really involve you, also obviously the Cathedral is a must. York has everything you could need and this hotel is perfect for a lovely romantic getaway.

Room Tip: As I say, we stayed in the main building so I know that that was beautiful, we didn't go in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_J0H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Emily,

Thank you so very much for your feedback and rating.

All of the Staff are very pleased that we could make your partners Birthday special.

We hope to see you in the future but in the meantime the Management and Staff would like to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.5 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing