We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York night out”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“York night out”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

First stay but I would recommend this hotel. Having stayed in York before I was surprised how quiet this hotel is. The rooms although old in character were very clean and comfortable. On booking in the staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated on the Mount the hotel is a short walk from the city centre and an even shorter walk to the nearest pubs and restaurants. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    294
    268
    202
    220
See reviews for
142
564
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Tavelelling north to Edinburgh from St Albans, we stopped in York to see the sights.
We chanced upon the ELMBANK Hotel and were delighted by its 'old world' charm, the welcome and the very reasonable price.
We enjoyed a very good dinner at the hotel and very good breakfast in the morning.
We had dinner while a wedding was going on but were neither neglected nor shortchanged.
Good food, Good sleep! Good breakfast, friendly staff and a good price.
What more does a traveller need

Room Tip: Arrive late in the day and get a really good rate to fill an empty room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract / featherstone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

third stay at the elmbank, we stayed in the court yard at the rear which was nice and clean then decided to stay another night but was moved across the road to the elmbank lodges the room we had was huge and again nice and clean anyone wanting a nice stay in york in a lovely old hotel, not in the sometimes noisy centre this hotel is no more than ten mins from the wall and a furthure five mins to the centre, you will not be dissapointed

Room Tip: we have stayed in types of room now and they are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Value for money hotel close to the city and attractions approx. 15 to 20 minutes walk. A great saving in price from the hotels on offer in the town of York. Just a couple of blocks walk to a number of restaurants for meals including some offering breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable for our overnight stay. Parking is on the street beside the hotel in a side street off the main road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Decent hotel with average facilities. The reception staff ( one in particular) were unfriendly and unwelcoming. We were told our room was not ready at 2.10pm even though check in was from 2pm. Breakfast at an extra cost of £8:50 pp. Situated within walking distance from the city centre. The bed was very comfortable and enabled a good nights sleep after a day of vamping and tramping around York. Would probably stay again and hope that the staff are a bit chirpier next time round.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was only £36 and was excellent quality for the price. Plenty of local shops around and good access to station. Although walls were thin, it was really no problem. The staff were helpful and even knocked on my door at 6.30 for a wake up call. I stayed here because it was the cheapest hotel in york for an interview and it was good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspink1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

stayed at the Elmbank hotel in york for 3nights for my husbands birthday it was basic but was only a short stay to go to the rail museum which was the reason for the stay,The staff where very friendly and helpful really enjoyed it york is a lovely place,The town was about 10-15mins walk plenty of shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean43NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,278 reviews
1.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing