We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went above and beyond”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Limes
Ranked #27 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Went above and beyond”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My mom and I stayed at The Limes over the summer and had a wonderful experience. Fiona and her husband were very welcoming and accommodating to us. We needed to get some washing done as we'd be on a trip around England for over a week at this point, and she arranged it for us without a problem! While I was there I also left my cell phone in a taxt and she helped us track it down and was there to get it from the taxi driver when he brought it back. Outside of their outstanding customer service, the room was clean, comfortable, welcoming, and overall lovely. Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    66
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
150
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because of its location and because of other comments made on Trip Advisor. We were not looking for a City Centre Hotel.

The Limes is situated about a 20 minute walk from City Centre via Banks of River. It also has Car Park although there is off street parking available. If you don't fancy venturing to City Centre there are about 4 local pubs within a 10 minutes walk and also a local Chippy. There is also a regular bus service to York City (£1.90). Taxi costs £5.00

We found this hotel to be extremely friendly/clean/ hospitable. Fiona made us both feel very welcome, she is friendly and humorous. The Breakfasts were freshly cooked and fulfilling and the room we stayed in was extremely clean and comfortable.

Thoroughly recommend this Hotel for those who don't fancy finding a parking space and enduring City Centre location

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sol21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is an excellent well run B&B close to the city centre.We were ther for only a couple of days and needed to be close to the city and this fitted our requirements to a T.Good off street parking, just parked the car up and didn't use it till we left Good sized room very clean with en-suite shower and toilet. Good breakfast served in a good sized breakfast room.lounge bar was nice to be able to have a drink whilst waiting for the taxi. Helpful owners with information about York. would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utalkintome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 children aged 10years and 7years. Rooms were very clean and the owners made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. Brilliant location, we walked into York city centre and back, it was about 20mins each way. Would defiantly recommend staying here and hope to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the limes again for 2 nights on 29th & 30th April 2013. The staff and owners are really friendly. Was a little disappointed with the room size on this occassion but it did not spoil the weekend. The bathroom could have been a little bigger but over all had a lovely stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The Limes is a beautiful family run B&B. you are made to feel extremely welcome, rooms are very clean, service is brilliant, atmosphere is warm and happy and the breakfast (prepared to order) was wonderfully cooked. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyA2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just come back from a few days in York. Stayed at the Limes based on the Trip Advisor recommendation. Could not have faulted it. We were looked after from beginning to end. Room was spotless, breakfast was spot on, access at any time, nice lounge and nothing too much trouble. Is on a frequent bus route 10 minutes into York which avoids parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#37 of 192 in York
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,353 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#16 of 192 in York
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#75 of 192 in York
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#12 of 192 in York
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Property: The Limes
Address: 135 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The Limes here in the historic city of York. We are a family run business and pride ourselves on the personal touch and attention to detail to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible which has earned us the 4 star rating and a Silver Award for guest accommodation providing bed and breakfast. For the last six years since it started we have been awarded the Kellogs Breakfast Award for excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing