We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 3, 2009

This is an average hotel, about the quality and ambience of a Holiday Inn. We were on the 4th floor, and while the sink area had been redone, the bathtub and shower looked dated, and the bathtub had a high wall that made getting in and out a challenge for all but the most athletic.

The location is about a 10 min walk from city center. Parking was very easy, tho getting your car out required a stop at the front desk for an exit pass. The rooms were just ok. The bed was comfortable, but if you have the sofa bed pulled out, it gets a bit tight. While we had a river view, the window was placed high on the wall, so you could only enjoy the view while standing right next to the window. The river at that area was not all that scenic.

Don't order room service, the quantity of food for the high price will leave you wanting and disappointed. The breakfast is the same you'd get at any other Novotel or Holiday Inn. And drinks are a bit pricey. But the lobby and dining area were very stylish, and there were people hanging out down there into the wee hours of the morning. The pool is small, but our kids enjoyed it nonetheless.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sere74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,411 - 2,417 of 2,582 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2009

Booked this through Superbreaks. Got room for £85 per night stayed 3 nights only paid for 2. Breakfast included. Room rate advertised at hotel was £169 per standard room.

Standard room, big comfy bed, large sofa bed as well. Looked as though the bathroom had recently been upgraded & they were refurbishing rooms on the 3rd floor, but no disruption to us at the times we were in hotel.

Superb breakfast, my hubby rates these places based on the standard of sausages they do, and these were excellent!!!!

Didn't drink in the hotel, so can't comment on prices

walk into the city was around 10 mins & also good path at the riverside.

All in all, we would recommend a stay & certainly will return ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shune36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Our party of four (2 adults & 2 children aged 10 & 14) stayed at the Novotel York for a couple of nights prior to Xmas and found the overall experience quite good. We really had no complaints, our travel agent had not bothered to tell the hotel we were travelling as a family and originally we were slated for different rooms on different floors. However the staff were quite accommodating and we ended up with adjoining rooms. The rooms were typical fair, basically what you would expect from a Novotel. The main thing was it was clean, quite, well presented and within easy walking distance to the town centre. We dined in the hotel for both breakfast and dinner and although it was a buffet affair, it was actually quite good which is not alway the case with buffets. We had rooms overlooking the river which was really quite nice. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, it is the consistent standard you would expect from a chain like Novotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrisbaneSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed with my family for two nights while visiting my son at the university. I book the City Break plan which was cheaper than most B&B in the area. The room had an excellent view to the river Ouse and it was very quiet. As you may expect for this type of hotel the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast was very good, surely better than some I have had at some B&B. A bonus is the ample parking. The hotel is quite close to the city centre, less than 10 minutes to the Minster. The staff was superb and my teenage daughter received a voucher to download 3 songs from the Novotel website (supplied by Sony). My only negative point is that rooms do not have free WiFi but Orange, as other Accord chain properties. The hotel has a pool but we did not use it. Plenty of places to visit in York!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Andariego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Just stayed a couple of nights in the Novotel, the hotel is in a good location just outside the city centre only a 10 min stroll to the shops and attractions. It costs £5 for 24 hours car parking which is payable on leaving.
The receptionist was not at all welcoming, "Hello", "please fill this in " as she handed the check in card, and then " the lift is around the corner", that was it.
The room was on the second floor overlooking the front of the hotel, it was clean and tidy although the furniture was dated . The bed was a little bumpy in places and pillows were strange ,just one large square pillow each with a normal rectangular on in the cupboard, neither vey comfortable.
Although the room was supposed to have a temperature setting for the air con it was not at all effective against the cold conditions.
Our first night was very noisey , below our room was the hotels function room which was hosting a private party . The disco started up around 22:00 hrs with the music so loud that all the words to the songs could be heard. Not normally one to complain I called a very helpfull night receptionist around 23:30 to enquire as to what time the disco was going on until, 01:00 was the reply, is there a problem , I said it was very loud in our room to which he said he would get them to turn it down . Five minutes later the sound level did indeed drop so the it could only just be heard.

Breakfast in the hotel was excellent with a very well stocked buffet available, there were plenty of staff on duty clearing tables and topping up the food which made for a well run dining area.

Overall our weekend was reasonable, it was very well priced at £68 per night with breakfast. The hotel is in a convenient location so we would probably stay there again although we would check to see if there was any functions on and ask for a room at the back and away from the funtion room.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lincs1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

This was our second stay at this Hotel. It is quite hard to find but the location is very good for walking into the city. It has a small (cold) pool but no other leisure facilities. The rooms are nice, clean and modern. The restaurant is great for breakfast but okay for dinner - there are much better places in York to eat. The lounge area has a great bar, Wii games, free mags and books and quite a nice 'hang out' area. We have stayed in supposed 'luxury' hotels in York, but this is the best for price, location and service. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaniaWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed 2 nights here and it was excellent. All pluses and no minuses. Very short walk to all attractiobs and shops. Hotel clean, well appointed and superb staff. Will have no hesitation about staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $87 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing