We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Easy access to the City”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

OK it's a corporate Hotel but it is well positioned to explore the City and extremely satisfactory in every aspect. The rooms are spacious and modern with good facilities, well heated and quiet. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a good choice of full English or Continental plus oodles of fresh fruit. The staff were welcoming and friendly both front of house and restaurant. Only slight niggle, no Radio 4 on the TV set and £10 per day to park. Didn't realise it had a pool so missed out on that. Would thoroughly recommend Novotel if they are all like this one.

Room Tip: For the full northern experience try the Wellington Inn Alma Terrace. A ten minute walk down the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommodoreChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Good morning. Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted you had a good stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our Novotels around the world. I would also like to send you our best wishes for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    997
    469
    147
    84
See reviews for
897
918
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed a great stay for 3 nights after Christmas visiting family in York. The location is great, parking is £10 a day and you can come and go as you please. It's a short walk into the centre of York (and parking is not cheap nor easy to come by in the centre of York). The reception staff are super friendly and efficient. We had breakfast included which was very good, again great service. The rooms all have a sofa bed so you can have two adults and up to two kids in each room and breakfast is free for under 16's (in fact the deal we had had breakfast included). We stayed here a few years ago and the rooms were getting a bit tired, but certainly the floor we were on had been fully refurbished and the room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We overlooked the river which was quiet, another poster mentioned it was noisier on the car park sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlandsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure welcoming you back and I am pleased you noticed some of the works which is happening in the hotel. We do aim to carry on and keep refurbishing whilst minimising the impct on our customers. I would like to wish you all the best for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've stayed here twice recently, once before and after taking part in the York marathon (Oct 2013) and also last weekend (Dec 2013). Both times we had a very pleasant stay. On arrival, the staff couldn't do enough for us, explaining where everything is, times for breakfast etc etc. The rooms are a decent size, with comfy beds. On our most recent visit we were on the 4th floor which seemed noisy (people walking/talking in the corridor, bangs from the floor below) but on our first visit we stayed on the 2nd floor which seemed quieter.

A little quirk is that the bathroom and toilet are separate - which seems quite old-fashioned. The toilet rooms could do with updating/a lick of paint. The shower was nice and hot/powerful. There are 2 bottles of water in the fridge/mini bar - but they're chargeable. Would have been nice if something was complimentary as it is in many hotels in the same price bracket.

Breakfast is expensive, but has a good variety of food. We only had breakfast on the morning of the marathon when they opened the restaurant especially early and made us runners porridge etc etc! This was a nice touch, but a pity that the waitress on duty was in such a bad mood and everything we asked for seemed to be a massive inconvenience for her!! On this basis (and the price!) we didn't have breakfast in the hotel on our most recent stay. If you want a full English, there is a Wetherspoons 2 mins up the road (turn left onto the main road then right at the corner) or there are many nice cafes in town where you can eat for a fraction of the price of the hotel breakfast.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel. The location is good (10 min walk into central York) there is a bar on the ground floor, also a swimming pool, and the rooms are very comfortable. There is also free parking if arriving Sat evening (free all day sunday) This is useful to know as the hotel carpark is very expensive, as are most other carparks in York.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondehotelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for your review following your recent stays with us. I am very pleased to read you decided to use the hotel again following the first York Marathon back in October and have shared your comments with the team especially at breakfast. Please rest assured I have personally spoken to the member of the team you are referring to. On behalf of the team here at the hotel, I would like to convey our best wishes for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a family of four for a weekend break at the beginning of December. I was very impressed with the hotel, service from all members of staff was friendly and helpful and we were genuinely made to to feel that nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was of a good size, clean, comfortable and was well equipped to cater for all of our needs.
We booked on-line and pre-booked the buffet breakfast which was good value, of good variety, and hot and an excellent way to start each day.
The hotel is ideally situated to explore York with the city wall only a short walk away and all attractions within easy walking distance.
The car parking was plentiful and very reasonable at £10 per night and once we had arrived we did not need the car again until we left which is a real bonus as York gets very very busy with traffic and its difficult to find a parking space in the main shopping area.
Overall we had a lovely time and have come away with very good memories of our weekend. We will be looking to return to York again in the future and will definitely be booking the Novotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Good morning and thank you for your very kind comments. I have passed them on to the team. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would like to wish you only the best for 2014!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Novotel is in a great location - it is only a short walk to York Minster and the shops etc. Staff are friendly and the hotel is comfortable. However, we soon became aware that the hotel was particularly family friendly...but not so friendly to anyone else staying there. Shortly after our arrival, there were several children running up and down our corridor. We phoned reception, but the problem didn't improve. The fire alarm then went off and we all had to traipse outside in the wind and rain! We booked a taxi to go into town in the evening and whilst sat in reception waiting for it to arrive, we were surrounded by lots of children, playing on toys set out for them and the Wii, etc. That night, both of us hardly slept, between the raging row going on above us at 2am, followed by crying children, a tantrum with another child stamping on the floor above, then children running up and down the corridors again first thing in the morning! When we checked out, we made a complaint and I did suggest that having the children booked into one end of the hotel might be a good plan. The receptionist was very good at dealing with our complaint and did say that normally that is exactly what they try to do however, with it being Christmas they had particularly high numbers of families staying. She did give us free parking to compensate. Maybe we were just unlucky!

Room Tip: The water provided in the room is £2.50 a bottle. Ask for tap water from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yippee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Good morning. Many thanks for your honest feedback. It is true that we do have contingencies in place to pre allocate rooms with families in some areas to the hotel to avoid diruption to our other guests. Sometimes it is however very difficult to do so and I would like to again apologise for the noise you have experienced. We hope this will not deter you from using again in the future.

With kind regards,


Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here with 2 children for one night and found the staff to be very helpful. The room was clean, and comfortable with a mini-bar. We stayed in winter so when our youngest child being too scared/cold for York's Ghost Walks was able to retreat back to the Hotel for a swim and play on the Xbox provided by the Hotel. Ten minutes walk from Yorks Attractions. Great Hotel value for money :)

Helpful?
Thank gnasher3377
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for your review. I am very happy to read you had a good time whilst staying with us. I will certainly share your comments with the rest of the team. We hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you and the family back to the hotel in the future. All the best for 2014!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dewsbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stopped boxing day, Arrived early and allowed to use room on arrival. Nice clean room with excellent shower separate toilet.Used swimming pool, again good but a little cool.Drink expensive in hotel bar, pub accross road.Excellent buffet breakfast (food was hot unlike others)was included in price,if not weatherspoons is 5min walk away.You have to pay £10.00 to park car in hotel carpark.About 10 min walk into centre of York.Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I hope you made the most of your visit to York and also hope to seeing you again in the future. Wishing you all the best for 2014.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,775 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing