We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here with 2 children for one night and found the staff to be very helpful. The room was clean, and comfortable with a mini-bar. We stayed in winter so when our youngest child being too scared/cold for York's Ghost Walks was able to retreat back to the Hotel for a swim and play on the Xbox provided by the Hotel. Ten minutes walk from Yorks Attractions. Great Hotel value for money :)

Thank gnasher3377
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good afternoon and thank you for your review. I am very happy to read you had a good time whilst staying with us. I will certainly share your comments with the rest of the team. We hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you and the family back to the hotel in the future. All the best for 2014!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stopped boxing day, Arrived early and allowed to use room on arrival. Nice clean room with excellent shower separate toilet.Used swimming pool, again good but a little cool.Drink expensive in hotel bar, pub accross road.Excellent buffet breakfast (food was hot unlike others)was included in price,if not weatherspoons is 5min walk away.You have to pay £10.00 to park car in hotel carpark.About 10 min walk into centre of York.Would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I hope you made the most of your visit to York and also hope to seeing you again in the future. Wishing you all the best for 2014.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I felt very welcome here as a solo traveller. The reception was very friendly and helpful, always had a smile when I came in. The little bar was also nice, great for a couple drinks, again staff was great. The rooms were clean and roomy. Location was great, quiet, but close to the main attractions of York. I will stay here again, and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhukesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good morning. Thank you very much for your comments. These have been passed on to the team and all are very pleased to know they made a difference to your stay. I hope we will be seeing you again in the future but in the meantime, I would like to send you our best wishes for 2014.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed for one night on boxing day got a good price of £55 would normally stop in a B&B but struggled to find one at late notice. Paid £10 for 24hr parking and walked into town which is only 5 minutes. The hotel staff were nice and freindly and the room was clean and comfy. We were a bit disappointed that breakfast was £16.95 for full english so didn't bother with that. But few minutes uo the road there is a wetherspoons full english for under a fiver. All in all a very good location with good parking and nice room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANDnSTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good afternoon and many thanks for your review. I am delighted to read you had a good stay and hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you again in the future. Please check our offers on line as breakfast is nowhere close to the £16.95 you are referring to when packaged with your room. Wishing you all the best for 2014!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stay at the Novotel, it is in a good location with a 10 minute walk into the main shopping areas of York.

The staff were very friendly and polite, the room we were in could do with a little refurbishment however.

Overall, we worth a stay for a reasonable price if you are spending some time in York.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Visitukhotels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good afternoon and many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. May I take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for the New Year?

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wendbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked this hotel so we could stay in York and visit the Panto . Its location was excellent for us being only a short walk to York centre . The rooms were spacious and modern . The staff were excellent and very friendly . If I had any criticism it was the closeness of the bed to the wall - and it couldn't be moved . Ok for me being petite but could prove more difficult for a larger person.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the car park at the front - which got the noise from the Disco ( which sto...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your review and hope you enjoyed the panto. I have passed on your comments to the teams and we all would like to send our best wishes for 2014.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#37 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $99 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing