We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel; good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Novotel York is located right next to the ancient city wall and on the banks of the River Ouse; only a fifteen minute walk to York Minster via the Shambles. Locations don't get much better.

The hotel is clean and modern with an impressive bar area in the lobby. Rooms are quite spacious and well equipped. The bathroom arrangements are slightly quirky; a toilet in one room with no basin and a separate room with basin and shower. Breakfast was a well presented buffet.

One slight criticism; the hotel makes a charge for car parking. Ten pounds for an overnight stay seems a little steep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I hope you had time to make the most of what York has to offer. I am very pleased to read your comments and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future. Wishing you a very good weekend.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

stayed with my partner last week for two nights midweek. when we arrived we checked in and found strawberries, raspberries and a brownie on the table as it was my birthday which was nice. only down side was the pool we had it to our selves, but if others are there it is quite small.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beck1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Good morning and many thanks for your review. First I would like to send you all our best wishes for your birthday. I am happy you enjoyed the little tray! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was quite average for us to be honest, nice and clean and the quality of breakfast is what we would expect from Novotel.

We stayed for a weekend break, and what really set this hotel apart was the customer service. From the lovely girls on reception, who checked which theatre our show was due to be on, and the barmen wishing us a good night, everyone was so friendly. It makes a difference when we are welcomed in this way, and we will be staying again. Well done to all concerns.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn0wy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Good morning and thank you for your review. Your comments have been shared with the team this morning. All were very pleased to read they made a difference to your stay. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Always used to stay at the Novotel when visiting York but this was my first visit in 15 years. Was not disappointed. Rooms are still clean and comfortable, staff friendly and service good. Stayed 2 nights. The car parking was £20 but the convenience out weighs the cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlechef2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Good morning and welcome back to Novotel York. I am delighted to read you had another good stay and hope we will have the pleasure to see you again in the near future. Wishing you all the best for the fast approaching end of the year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I organised this hotel as a surprise for my husbands 30th birthday and we had a fantastic stay.
The staff are so friendly and checkin was easy and quick. The parking is great with plenty of spaces.
The barman Greg is a credit to the hotel. He's polite and courteous and is lovely to chat to.
We have two children and would happily return with them as it was clear that children are made v welcome and there is plenty to keep them amused.
Location is perfect as only a 5 minute walk into the centre.
Overall it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Good morning. Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted you had a good time and would like to send my best wishes to your husband! I have shared your comments with the reception team and Gregory at the bar. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back with your children next time!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $99 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing