We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location with pool”
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Booked 2 rooms here (adult and 3 children in one and 2 adults in the other). Room not quite ready on arrival but very pleasant reception staff said they would hurry things along and gave us complimentary drinks which was a nice touch. The rooms were spacious if a bit tired decor wise. Did find it strange and a bit awkward that the toilet was separate from the bathroom - after using toilet had to go next door to bathroom to wash hands. Don't understand why they don't just knock the wall through - it would be much more convenient. The hotel had a pool which was a real bonus especially for those with children - it kept our kids entertained and helped them meet friends. Breakfast catered for everyone (cooked, continental etc) but pay heed to the hotel's advice about breakfast times as it becomes very busy - anytime after 8.30am and you will have to wait for a table. This hotel is a pleasant 10 min riverside walk into town and is also on the route for the York Tour Bus and Pullman Tours. Parking is free which is great. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Would give the buffet a miss - very disappointing. Much better to head into centre for dinner. All in all a clean hotel with polite and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again - a great base while in York.

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The buffet dinner offered in the hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    997
    468
    147
    84
See reviews for
897
918
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

My fiancée and I stayed at the Novotel in mid-July 2008. We were looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay for one night in York and plumped for the Novotel after looking at the reviews on this site. The free parking also assisted our decision.

We were initially offered a standard double room for £59 through a hotel comparison website but we decided to upgrade to a 'superior' room for just an extra ten pounds.

We feared the worst upon arrival as the hotel has a dull, new-build exterior reminiscent of many of the hotels located by service stations around the UK. However, once inside the reception and bar area has quite a contemporary feel and the first-floor superior room was clean, modern and more than big enough for the two of us (complete with bed, sofa and flat screen TV). The hotel is also ideally situated with the city centre only a 10-minute walk away. The Novotel is situated in roughly the same area of York as the Travelodge and Hotel 53, right by the city walls.

We sampled the hotel bar and restaurant and, whilst the prices were fairly standard, quality was good. However, the hotel has many restaurants and cafes nearby and travellers may wish to eat out for less than the price of eating in.

  • Liked — Value for money, interior decor, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Exterior of hotel, pricy breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichH6109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Very central,a 5 min walk into town.Nice location beside River Foss with terrace overlooking river,nice walk beside also.
Room was decent size for two of us with large comfy bed.Decor a bit tired, plain woodchip walls and carpet had some dodgy stains
.Room was very warm so we left window open at all times and were not disturbed at all by any noise.
Bathroom was basic,shower worked well but was hanging onto wall by a prayer.Loo was seperate in what I can only describe as a gloomy undecorated cupboard,fan didnt work,no wash hand basin.

Pool was nice,got it to ourselves,no shower or toilet though which we thought was not very hygenic.

Breakfast was not included in our very reasonable rate(£59),and overpriced at £15 for a cooked brekkie. We went 2 mins down road to Wetherspoons where we had a lovely breakfast,tea and toast for under a fiver each.

We didn't eat in restaurant as York has so many great eating places nearby,why pay over the odds for hotel food?

In conclusion, felt we got good value for such a central location,and as we were only really in our room to sleep the facilities didn't bother us.A bit of redecoration(get rid of the woodchip),and this hotel would be a winner.

Also parking was free and we were able to leave our car for the morning after checking out which was handy.

  • Liked — central location on riverside
  • Disliked — dated decor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank squidgitmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Recently returned from a 2 night short break with the family at the Novotel. The location is excellent with plenty of parking, its just a 10 minute walk into York city centre along the river. The accomodation was very good and clean. We had a family room which consisted of a double plus sofa bed. The fittings are typical Novotel and functional but the room had everything we needed. Meals were good. The restaurant was pricey but there was a carvery (didn't look to appetising!) and a varied a la carte menu plus a kids only menu. Would recommend eating in York though for evening meal as we did on our second night. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Bar prices are expensive but the hotel was very family friendly and had no problem with children in any of the areas. The swimming pool was fine but as one reviewer has said already, go down ready as there is only one changing room! The pool is unsupervised. We would recommend the hotel and return, there were lots of families staying as it was half term and the hotel seemed very much geared up for them. All in all it was a good break in pleasant surroundings.

  • Liked — Location, value ofr money, car parking
  • Disliked — Expensive evening meal
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Keen_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Free parking at the hotel was a bonus! a 10 min walk into town was even better!
Arrived early but my room was not ready but the staff changed the rooms around so i could get it early, which i was really grateful for.
The room was ok, nothing speacial but the bed was not that great and the pillows were really hard.
At breakfast there is a huge choice but not enough seats or staff to get you seated.. stayed for 3 nights and had to queue twice for breakfast and had to sit at what i can only describe as "breakfast bar style table and chairs" not ideal!!
Had 2 meals at the hotel, liked the idea of having tables with mini tvs, when you on your own it can be hard to eat in hotels but this made it much more pleaseant!
The food was totaly over priced but it was nice, plus both nights i had dinner there was only 2 other tables in there so it was quick!!

The pool was nice and i used it everynight and there are 2 changing rooms with plently of towels!

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Booked the hotel through Superbreak for 1 night on 25th April for myself, husband and 12 year old daughter. Got a good deal for room and breakfast. Room nice and clean but in need of refurbishment, unusual to find a separate toilet but rather inconvenient when the wash basin in main bathroom. Try and get a B & B deal as breakfast would have cost us £12.50 each otherwise. Evening meals also very expensive, average a 1 course could set you back £20, but the main shock was the bar prices £10.70 for a bottle of Magners and a small glass of wine! Luckily Hotel situated close enough to some nice restaurants but if on a budget Wetherspoons three mins. down road.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no wash basin in separate toilet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffiths01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Stayed here after posting on the forum. It was a very clean hotel with a great breakfast which we all loved. Our 2 children were in the room with us and when the sofa was pulled out space was quite tight. However, we got by in the day time with the sofa folded up. Staff were great - they helped us unfolf the bed and then they brought extra blankets to our room. As it was easter they also gave our kids chocolate eggs which they liked! The swimming pool was very murky as if it had a lot chemicals in it. Also people were being a bit too boisterous around it for me to feel comfortable. However, clean towels were supplied at the pool along with a couple of small changing rooms. York was easy walking distance. We ate at Toto's nearby one of the nights - a very lovely cute little Italian restaurant. It cost us about £160 for 2 nights B&B for a family of 4, including one weekend night and a bank holiday - pretty reasonable!

  • Liked — friendly staff and breakfasts!
  • Disliked — The murky pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank S_BurnsBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing