We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - cant wait to come back !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on while on a weekend break in York and would have no hesitation recommending or returning to this hotel.

It is a very nice, clean and modern hotel in a great location being less than a 10 min stroll to the city centre. All of the staff were very welcoming helpful and provide excellent service.

There is a delicious buffet style breakfast offering all you could want (hot and cold) and a nice relaxing bar area (great cocktails!)

The pool is an added bonus after a day walking around the city centre.

Fab stay – thank you !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waggers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good morning. I am very pleased to read you and your husband had a very good time et the hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you and I hope we will have the opportunity to seeing you again soon... and I will make sure the barman works on some new cocktails!!

Wishing you all the best.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

we booked a twin room..two ladies going to the races..there was a double bed and a sofa bed..!!!making it very tight to get around..
no air /con. in room...and temperatures were in the early 30 degrees.. internet access was very antiquated !!
staff were wonderful though. but .next time we will try a different 4star hotel

Room Tip: if you want a twin.....make sure you get 2 beds !!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good morning and thank you for your honest feedback. I am sorry to read to read the bed arrangement was not to your satisfaction and will look into the WIFI provision as it is a brandnew system. I am however very pleased that you found the staff to be very helpful.

Wishing you all the best.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Rentacat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Without exception every member of staff at this hotel was fantastic - helpful, smiling, going the extra mile. Stayed three nights during a very busy time but this made no difference to their service, thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenness R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Good morning. Thank you very much for your comments following your stay with us. I will make sure to share your comments with the whole team of the hotel. I know it will go a long way in recognising their hard work. Thank you once again and we all hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels around the world.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Railwaychildren_5385
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked DBB at the Novotel for 3 nights and our 3 day break was just great. I appreciate what people say about rooms being slightly tired etc but they were clean, comfortable and we were very very well looked after. The reception staff on arrival were lovely, I brought up the discussion about the Royal baby and we had a chat about potential names etc. The waiting and bar staff, in particular Alex and Gregor were absolutely superb and keen to make sure that you had what you were waiting on and nothing was too much trouble. Our 2 children are quite fussy and they were patient with them and encouraged them in a nice and not over the top way. The chamber maids which we met in the corridor were very polite and asked if it was ok to do the room and just very accommodating. I think a lot of the time it comes down to staff and I can safely say, as I used to work in hotels in Scotland, the staff at the Novotel were superb which is a refreshing change to some who really dont care!! Also the food was a terrific surprise and we were going to go out for dinner but was more than happy to stay at the hotel. Well done and keep up the good work! P.S. I have quite high standards so I dont say these things lightly!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your comments. I have passed them on to Alex and Gregory. They were very pleased! I appreciate your honest feedback and am delighted we were able to make your stay special. We are obviously looking forward to welcoming you back!

Wishing you all the best.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Thetayburns
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#37 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $99 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing