We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freindly Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freindly Stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend away, the hotel staff were great the amenities very good, have to comment on the bar staff, wonderful and humorous especially Gregory the funniest man I have ever met from Paris ! superb service I highly recommend having a drink at the bar just for the professionalism of the guy, Hotel room very clean and the bed very comfortable. Will definitely stay again

Room Tip: the rear of the hotel looks over the river and the park very quiet , lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazjwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good morning. I have just shared your comments with Gregory from the bar and he is extremely pleased! Thank you so much for your comments and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    988
    460
    145
    82
See reviews for
885
909
60
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first family city break. the hotel was easy to find and located within walking ditance of the walls. the reception staff were very helpful on arrival and suggested a few places to visit which would be appropriate for the children. the giving of toy story watches and a cuddly toy key ring were an instant hit with the little ones!
We ate dinner in the restaurant that night as the kids were too tired to go else where. a great kids menu at a good price. the menu for the adults was satisfactory. the service was very friendly.
the rooms were great for a one night stay although there wasnt much room with the sofa bed down. the beds in particular were comfortable.
the pool was small but the kids loved it all the same.
we had a lovely first family city break and would definatley recommend to any family with young children looking to do the same thing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank rachel1971736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good morning. I am delighted to read the whole family had a good time in our beautiful city of York. I have also passed on your comments to the teams involved in making your stay an enjoyable one and we all hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed overnight while in York on a break, hotel was in a good location, staff were very polite and helpful, our room was clean and the bed was so comfortable and for once in a hotel, the correct temperature .Breakfast offered a good selection and all very fresh . would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthF940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your rsecent stay with us. We are all very happy to read you had a good time and would consider us again for your next visit. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We checked in last Saturday night for a bank holiday break. I knew what to expect as I have stayed here before, as always a comfortable, warm welcoming room and of course the amazing help yourself breakfast!
The only letdown this time is the extremely rude receptionist we encountered when we arrived on Saturday evening, even her younger (and much politer!) colleague looked embarrassed by her. However, we won't let that put us off staying again, we'll just make sure we check in with a different lady!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good morning. I would like to thank you for your comments and repeat custom. It is always a pleasure welcoming our customers back. I would also like to apologise for the rudeness of one of our colleagues at the reception desk. I can assure you that I have personally dealt with your comments and that the situation has now been resolved. I am looking forward to welcoming you back with a big smile at reception! Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed one night at the Novotel York for the first time this week. I have to say, this was the best service I have ever received in a hotel. Staff at reception was very friendly, yet efficient, really made me smile on arrival. No surprise with the room, very clean and standard. I ordered room service for dinner, and yet again, staff members were so friendly, both on the phone and the young man who brought the food to my room.
Really, enjoyed my stay, and as York is a beautiful place with lots to do, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good afternoon. Well, what can I say? I have displayed your comments in all of our staff areas so that people can read them! We are very humbled by your comments and would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write them. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for a night. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Clean and nice spacious rooms. Will return and recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Its within 5 minutes walk to city centre which helps alot. Parking also available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good afternoon. Many thanks for your review. I am delighted you found our team to be pleasant and helpful. I will certainly share your comments with all of them. Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

All staff helpful, polite and knowledgable. nothing was too much trouble. Travelling as a hen party the staff were able to provide extra beds in each of the rooms as the hotel had become fully booked before all of the party had made their booking, something which they did not have to do. for this we were extremely grateful. Rooms were clean and tidy, although the hotel is looking a little aged in places. Breakfast was fresh and offered a good selection, but be aware you may have to queue for entry on busier mornings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning. Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and hope your hen party weekend will be one to remember! We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing