We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, in walking distance to town.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, in walking distance to town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

All staff helpful, polite and knowledgable. nothing was too much trouble. Travelling as a hen party the staff were able to provide extra beds in each of the rooms as the hotel had become fully booked before all of the party had made their booking, something which they did not have to do. for this we were extremely grateful. Rooms were clean and tidy, although the hotel is looking a little aged in places. Breakfast was fresh and offered a good selection, but be aware you may have to queue for entry on busier mornings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning. Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and hope your hen party weekend will be one to remember! We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    959
    449
    139
    80
See reviews for
850
889
60
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jacquicook9@AOL.com
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

booked 3 double rooms in January 2013, Good price - was about £115.00 for 2 nights per room. No breakfast included in the price. If you wanted breakfast it was rather expensive, so didn't bother and went out for breakfast.

The rooms were spacious and the bed sheets were clean. The room could have done with a deep clean and the bathroom and toilet floors could have been cleaned better.

There was a mini bar in the room that we didn't have to pay for items that we drunk or ate. Asked for a quiet room and was put on the top floor.

The hotel seemed to be popular and was quite accessible, but we had to pay for parking which was also expensive. It was a 15 minute walk into York, ok if it is not raining. Overall I would go back again if I couldn't get another bargain elsewhere.

Room Tip: Would request a room at the rear of the property as this overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning. Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased to read you would consider us again for your next visit and hope to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being a Novotel, you can expect it to follow the pattern of the chain and we were not disappointed in this case. All staff were very polite and helpful since the first contact on arrival and specially in the bar and restaurant area. Bedrooms offer comfortable space even for a family of 3-4 and all furniture and facilities were of good quality and user friendly. Restaurant and bar had reasonable choices of food and drinks, although buffet which we tried seemed not so much fresh at the time we had it, but in all was OK. Good options for children with a space for smaller ones and x-box and wii for the slightly older ones. Not really in the city centre but in a calm place beside the river Foss, reaching Clifford's tower in a max 10 min walk. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Good morning and thank you for your kind comments. We are all very pleased you had a good time with us and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you and your family again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night visit to the Barbican, in an executive room with a good view of the river, perfectly located. A well equiped room, very quiet, an excellent buffet meal in the evening followed by a help yourself breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Good morning. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read you had a good time whilst staying with us and hope you enjoyed the show at the Barbican Centre. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile


Mmmm supposed to be four star? The rooms have been refurbished but appear difficult to clean. We were in room 226 the wall needs another coat of paint, the mirror had not been cleaned and the slot for the menu's was filthy. The cups needed to have a spell in the dishwasher. Access to the Internet is £10 per person so in our case with 2children it would have been an extra £40 to connect.
We have been staying here since 2005 and it seems to have slipped in standard year on year. Its as low as we could tolerate, sadly our last stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank margaretspps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Good morning and thank you for your comments in both Tripadvisor and our own satisfaction surveys. I am very disappointed to read you will not consider using us again in the future. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your most recent stay. I have personally been to the room you stayed in to review your comments. Wifi is currently chargeable per device used but should give you unlimited access for 24 hours. Free Wifi will be available as of the middle of June throughout the hotel.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have just arrived at the hotel and we are very disappointed, no wardrobe space in the room, very small rooms, separate toilet (what's that all about) tiny room probably comparable with a travel lodge quality, we are used to staying at the Marriott but couldn't get in, I see why they had no vacancys but the Novotel has, the check in desk the card machine didn't work and you have to get the staff from behind the check in desk to swipe you into the swimming pool area (what's that all about) also you have to write a health and safety essay before your aloud in, no mention of this until you try and go swimming , terrible hotel and we can't wait to leave and we've only just arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J70ols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for letting me know about your arrival. I am sorry to read you do not like the room you have just been checked in. I understand my team has explained the reasons behind the health and safety questionnaire which should only take a few minutes to fill in. I hope you will find the rest of the facilities to your satisfaction and enjoy your stay with us.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent hotel - staff very attentive, hotel very clean. Room very nice. Booked an Executive room so paid a bit extra. It had a view of the river and great Novotel layout separate shower room & toilet. room was a bit on the small side but sleep quality great. Car park pricey but this is true everywhere in York. Easy 200yds walk down river to centre of York & restaurants - the Olive Tree is as fabulous as ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Patrick_542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Good morning. Thank you so much for your comments. I will pass them on to the whole team as I am sure they will appreciate them. We will also add the Olive Tree Restaurant to our list of recommendations. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing