We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel York Centre
Nearby Hotels
Middletons York(York)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$89
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
$109
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$108
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$127
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,632)
Filter reviews
2,632 results
Traveler rating
776
1,085
515
162
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
1,085
515
162
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolx boxseparate toiletexecutive roomsofa bedcar parkhalf termreception areagood sizeper dayreception staffoverlooking the rivercoffee machinecastle museumclifford's toweryork centrewalk into town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,770 - 1,775 of 2,632 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on 20th April 2013 with our two boys (aged 8 yrs and aged 10 mths). Very welcoming and speedy check-in. Hotel foyer was buzzing with the activity of other families and children enjoying the Xbox, Wii and small play area for younger toddlers/infants. All easily viewed from the open plan modern bar area and comfy seating. Spotlessly clean Superior room with sofa bed and travel cot. Queen size comfortable bed. Ample towels, toiletries, tea, coffee, family mini bar (with snacks available). Reception staff extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Free kids toys on arrival which pleased our 8 yr old.

FULL restaurant available for room service for small additional fee, which is unusual as room service quite often very limited choice. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent and served hot with good children's menu to complement the main menu. Great breakfast with good choice. Indoor pool good size with beds around for spectating. Could have been a little warmer for the kids.

Ideally located. Only a short 5 minute walk to main shopping area and tourist attractions of York. All in all a really great hotel and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Just be sure to let staff know your requirements and they'll ensure you're room meets your needs completely.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyHitchin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your review. I have shared your comments with the team and we are all very pleased to read the whole family had a good stay. We do hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

for the price of the rooms they were clean but not up to much and expensive, the breakfast was lovely and hot but the dinner menu i thought was very limited and i had the same started i had two yrs ago so not sure how often it is changed. the rooms you couldn't look out the window as it was high up and you felt very confined. The bar and foyer area was nice. I love going to york for the weekend but dont think i will be returning to the novotel again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank macbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Good morning. Many thanks for your review. I am sorry to read you would not consider us for your next visit to York. I have taken all your comments on board as they are extremely useful to further improve on our service delivery.

Thank you

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Staff excellent and effecient. Just after getting into our room we noticed a lack of towels for the three of us staying (husband, son and me) within five minutes we had a knock on the door with plenty of towels and very polite housekeeper. son had by this time 'tried' everything and discovered one bedside light didn't work. As it was 8.00pm the maintenance staff had left. By the time we had finished breakfast the lamp was fixed. All staff bedroom cleaners, reception, bar, restuarant etc always spoke and were polite with a smile. Breakfast was fantastic, you name it they had it. The room was a little cramped but then we did had a double sofa bed. Disappointed that it was not free internet connection. During school holidays they offer free children deal so if you want a quiet or romantic break this hotel may not be the best. If you have children or don't mind them being around this hotel would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel has views over the river
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Good afternoon. Thank you very much for your comments. I have shared them with the whole of the team and many were extremely pleased with what you had written. We all hope to welcome you again to the hotel.

Wishing you all the best,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and 22 month old daughter. We had an executive room on the first floor, which had a lovely queen sized bed, coffee machine and other extras. The room was modern, clean, and had everything you could need. Only problem was with the internet connectivity, you have a cabled internet connection which isn't much help if you have a tablet! The staff are friendly and very helpful, the pool is a little cold but the room it's in is warm, and has changing rooms, towels and lockers. The restaurant is excellent, the breakfast buffet is superb with fruit, cereal, full english, croissants, waffles with syrup etc. The evening buffet is fantastic and well worth the money, amazing choice of top quality food. Pizzas made in front of the kids, chocolate fountain. Additionally, the restaurant staff are great, and gave my daughter a toy zebra and a chefs hat. Hotel location is central and a few minutes walk into York town centre. Hotel doesn't work out that much more expensive than guest houses. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Business_Traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Good morning. Only a few words to thank you for your kind comments. I am extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I shall pass on your review to all the team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this because I am an Accor Club member. Our executive room was decidedly not executive, poor layout, cramped and a view out at a pitched roof.
Head of housekeeping is asleep on the job, room was overall dirty, walls, skirtings, carpet.
Bathroom really poor with dried spots of something red on the mirror, rust and limescale stains in the shower and drains so blocked that the sink took a minute to empty.
Had breakfast one morning and the eggs were like rubber, not a good advertisement for the cook, so didn't eat anything else there.
Staff were friendly and helpful, but the games equipment in the lobby and the presence of young children in the bar at 2230 on a Saturday night were distinct turn offs

Room Tip: I paid extra for an executive room and it was crappy
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimPymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Good morning. Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay. I am really sorry to read your room was not to your satisfaction and I just had a meeting with our Head Housekeeper to go through your comments. Please do feel free to contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com should you wish to discuss the matter further. Thank you once again for bringing this matter to my attention giving us an opportunity to take all necessary steps to avoid such issue in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews