We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel York Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

we had a lovely break.The hotel is a short walk from the centre.The rooms were clean and warm with plenty of roomThe bathroom was large and clean..food was very good.plenty of choice for breakfast.we hope to rerurn for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharongdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good morning. Many thanks for your feedback followiing your stay with us. We are all looking forward to having you for a longer time on your next visit! Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    959
    449
    139
    80
See reviews for
850
889
60
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice reception but that's where it stops. We were on the 4th floor, impression when the lift doors opened scruffy, room was tired, sheets were clean but stained, towels had seen better days.
Breakfast ........I love a cooked breakfast but for the 1st time ever I could not eat it. Everything was undercooked or totally tasteless. Ended up having toast
Great location but not worth the price. My advice you would be better off in a premier travel in.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good morning and thank you for your honest feedback. I am obviously very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay and will share your comments with the rest of the team. Please do not hesitate to contact on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com should you wish to discuss the matter further.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

A very standard hotel, it is 15 to 20 minute walk to the centre of york, but thats not a problem, our room for a family was clean no complaints. Advertised as family friendly and kids get a welcome gift which was not for coming and asked about it on leaving and got a pack of cards!
Kids play area in the lobby had xbox and a very small selection of toys some wooden blocks but thats it.
Breakfast was ok plenty to choose from but busy.
Pool was not very warm which has been pointed out on here a few times so was expecting that.
Drinks expensive in the bar but thats the norm for most hotels.
Ok if you get a good deal but wouldnt want to spend a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genna40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Good afternoon. A few words to thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you and I hope we will see you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotels location was really good, five minute walk to the shambles and other areas. We planned to come to York for my partners 30th, as well as wanting to go to the pubs for the real ale, we also expected and wanted to have a quiet & relaxing break. Little did we know that this hotel is like a crazy kids playground! Upon arrival there were children jumping all over the place, which was a very bad first impression and instantly made me regret our booking. We had paid for an Executive room £100pn and thought hopefully we can escape the children once we get in there. Boy was we wrong, 7:45am on a Saturday morning the kids were running riot up and down the corridors, the parents must not have had any respect for other people as they didn't seem bothered by the way their children were behaving, running, screaming & banging about. Breakfast was even worse as the children seemed to get even more out of control. The net morning it was 7:30 when the lovely alarm of the sweet innocent children awoke us :-/ Should have staid at home and saved our money, least we might have had a sleep in.

Not going to comment on anything else as my mind didn't see passed the crazyness of what was happening around us.

Overall, worst hotel ever! If they would have advertised it as a zoo i would have stayed clear! Not impressed

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Good morning. Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to read that the amount of children made you feel this way. I would agree that it gets noisy and we do prompt parents to keep their children in control as much as we can. It is a shame you could not assess the hotel properly as I can guarantee we are far away from being a zoo!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel was in a pretty good location, about 20 mins walk from the train station/town centre. We booked an Executive room for 3 nights (asked for a high level room facing the river) well we were facing the river but on the 1st floor with a lovely view of a roof right in front of our window. The room wasn't huge but it was ok, if a bit dusty, bathroom was nice and the shower was excellent. We had an issue with the toilet cistern continually running and dripping throughout the night, we reported this each morning and were told that it would be fixed straight away, it never was and the noise was quite annoying.

The main reason we booked an Executive room over the superior option was that we'd read that you would get free wi-fi, this wasn't the case. Although when I asked about this at the reception it became clear that where I had read that was not the official Novotel site but Hotel-Rez.com. Ok so this wasn't their fault but they were not interested that information about their hotel was out there but not correct. You do get free internet but only if you had a laptop to plug into, I only brought my tablet as I expected wi-fi! A nice gesture would have been to refund us for the difference between the superior and executive rooms but the reception were not interested in doing that.

Breakfast was good, make sure you book in advance as it's much more expensive if you decided to take it when you arrive, there wasn't anywhere that nearby where you could get a nice cheap breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms without a connecting door, we had very noisy neighbours one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Good morning. I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant teams for their information. I will also personally try to get in touch with the website you mentioned so that they can change their description. All website are normally feeding from a central platform and for some reason they have decided to change the description of the offering. Thank you for letting me know. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Also, we will be in a position to offer free WI-FI throughout the hotel by Mid 2013.

With kind regards.

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked this hotel for a nice weekend with my husband. Mistake number one.
It was full of very noisy children, running all over the reception, corridors and at breakfast. The hotel is obviously a very child friendly hotel as in it reception area it has games consoles and play areas. Which is great if you are a family with children to entertain..not so much if you are a hard working couple who want a nice quiet weekend away.
The room though clean was very basic and the seperate toilet was a good idea but smelt very badly of damp.
Although advertised as central its not. Its a good walk into the town centre made worse by the severley cold weather and getting a taxi on a saturday after 5pm in York is impossible - at least an hours wait.
Breakfast - was in a nice dining room and we were seated very quickly, there was a lot of children and the serving areas were quite small for the amount of guests there were so you ended up queueing for a while.
I love York and will be back but in the summer.. but in a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Good morning. Many thanks for your honest feedback. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have passed on your comments to our maintenance team to try to identify the room you stayed in so that the problem can be sorted urgently. Thank you once again for your custom and review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAKEFIELD
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel hotel for a night out with friends, the room was very basic but clean. Thats the end of the good bits, the service was very poor. We paid for 6 coffee late on in the evening and we were told to sit down and these were brought to our table, the coffee's were not even luke warm, when we complained the waiter said sorry and just walked away, we asked for new coffee's and he just walked away. After getting ready in the room we went down to the bar to wait for the rest of our friends coming down, so we ordered a glass of medium white wine and a bottle of Sol, £11.71, what a rip off! you are also charged £10 to leave your car in their car park overnight. Areas of the hotel look very tired also. For the price of this hotel, everything is just not good enough. Stay elsewhere, you have been warned!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Good morning and thank you for your comment. I am very disappointed to read your review and will share it with the bar team. I can honestly say it is not a true reflection of our usual high customer service standard and I will personally investigate the matter. Thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing