We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with well equipped modern clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with well equipped modern clean rooms.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Good large hotel just outside the City centre with a secure carpark and indoor swimming pool.
Important to book rooms on a deal, the walk-in prices are hideous but many deals exist to overcome this.
Very well decorated and spotless with large rooms which have very modern top of the range bathrooms.
The usual excellent buffet breakfast with a very good selection.
Many conference rooms and well used for corporate events so if you need a last minute room then you might not get in.
It's just a bit too far outside the city centre for the less mobile but Clifford Tower is only a five minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you soon and make your saty as enjoyable as the last one.

Kind regards

Zak Mouafik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    997
    468
    147
    84
See reviews for
897
918
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Title says it all really! The Novotel is in a perfect spot for everything in York, just a short walk away from the centre. The room we were given (for 2 adults and 1 child) was really quite spacious and seemed to have most things in it that you could need for a short stay. Breakfast was distinctly average ~ the continental stuff seemed OK with all the usual things you'd expect ~ the cooked breakfast was where it fell down a little; although there was plenty of the usual things to choose from it was only luke warm. I wouldn't have been pleased to pay full price for it but we booked online and got 'free' breakfast (although at £133 for the night I don't see how it was free!). All in all, this place is in a good spot, the rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast fills you up. If this place is indicative of them all, I'd stay in a Novotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyFinnRotherham_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments and please rest assured that I spoke with our Head Chef who asked me to pass on his sincerest apologies and is making sure ther is no future re-occurence. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Zak Mouafik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in mid October. Upgraded to a larger room as we had 2 grandkids with us. The room was very comfortable and ideal for a short visit. Although located near the lifts there was no noise, in fact the corridor was quite peaceful although the hotel was quite busy. The hotel is child friendly and has a nice pool and also a games area near the bar/reception with 2 Wii games consoles. Had dinner in the hotel both nights as we were tired after a long day walking round the sites and the meals were good especially the kids meals. A special thanks the John ( Juan from Calvia) the waiter and Paul the Chef who took the time to speak to us and made a special desert for the kids. The breakfast is buffet and has an excellent selection of hot and cold food and proper fruit juices. The only downside was the price of drinks at the bar a large gin and a small tonic was over £10. The location was good just outside the old walls and within easy walking distance of the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabozaritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good aftrenoon,

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you gagain.

Kind regards

Zak Mouafik
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently visited York with my daughter and grandchildren for a half term break. We chose to stay at the Novotel as it was promoted as suitable for families and it surely was. We had a superior room which was ideal for our needs, very clean, warm and comforatble. Ok it was not a large space when the sofa bed was pulled out, but who spends lots of time in their room when on holiday? Certainly not us when there are so many interesting things to see. What we did like especially was the sofa bed makes up as two singles.
The hotel is in a great location for the city centre [10 minutes walk]. We walked to the rear of the building, turned left, crossed the blue bridge and then walked along the banks of the Ouse to reach the sights of York. A beautiful walk through the trees in full autumn foliage.
My grandsons enjoyed playing the wii and x-box in the lobby while we had a pre-dinner drink and used the pool after a long day visiting museums. Yes it was busy but it was school holidays and as such to be expected.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and we chose to eat in the hotel each evening for the family buffet which we found very good value.......£46 for two adults and two children with a range of starters, mains and desserts as well as the chocolate fountain!!! It was the little touches that endeared the hotel to us as a family venue. The miniccino [hot chocolate with whipped cream] and smoothie [chocolate or vanilla shake] served at the end of the meals to the children was a winner as far as we were concerned. Little touches mean a lot.
However what we thought was the 'icing on the cake' for our little holiday was the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff. Everyone we spoke to was pleasant, lovely with the children but still professional and efficient ; even those made up as Halloween witches!! Special thanks to them.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayloverDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your feedback which I will share with our staff and no doubts they will over the moon with it. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Zak
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here recently and found it to be perfectly fine for a family weekend away visiting the sights. The location is only a short walk away from the centre. Rooms were clean and reasonably sized. The breakfast was good with a big choice. I initially thought breakfast was going to be charged at £14 which seemed steep but when we checked out it was charged at £10 per adult and children ate free which was fine. There is a Wetherspoons nearby if you require a cheaper breakfast.
The swimming pool is not the largest and has only two changing rooms and one shower so we tended to just go back to the room. It is also quite cold.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant for dinner as it seemed expensive.
You do get charged for parking at £8.50 per day but most York hotels seem to do this if they even have parking. We were happy with the stay and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good morning. I am delighted to read you had a good time in York and with us. It has been a pleasure welcoming you and I hope we will see you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from York Centre. The rooms were spotless and staff were friendly and helpful.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but had a good fry up at the Wetherspoons round the corner.

I would definitely return if visiting York again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good morning and a big thank you for your comments. I do appreciate you taking time to leave a note following your recebt stay with us and we are all looking forward to having you with us again in the future. Thank you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Novotel is located just 5 minutes walk from the historic city centre, in a peaceful area along the river. The parking was cheap and the breakfast...a classic Novotel one, so very good.
On the other hand, I can't say that I enjoyed all the children, as I went with my wife for a peaceful getaway. The water in the pool was too cold for me and I could also say the bathroom could have benn better cleaned up. I am not sure if the air conditioning was working and the shower cap was leaking...it took us a while to figure that out. All in all, the hotel has a good value for the money, because it wasn't expensive at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vladsomesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Good morning. Only a few words to thank you for your comments. It is true the hotel can get very busy with children during the school half terms. I have noted your points with regards to the cleanliness in the bathroom and will go through these with our Head Housekeeper. I shall also pass on your comments with regards to the breakfast. Thank you once again and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing