We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from York Centre. The rooms were spotless and staff were friendly and helpful.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but had a good fry up at the Wetherspoons round the corner.

I would definitely return if visiting York again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Good morning and a big thank you for your comments. I do appreciate you taking time to leave a note following your recebt stay with us and we are all looking forward to having you with us again in the future. Thank you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,783 - 1,789 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Novotel is located just 5 minutes walk from the historic city centre, in a peaceful area along the river. The parking was cheap and the breakfast...a classic Novotel one, so very good.
On the other hand, I can't say that I enjoyed all the children, as I went with my wife for a peaceful getaway. The water in the pool was too cold for me and I could also say the bathroom could have benn better cleaned up. I am not sure if the air conditioning was working and the shower cap was leaking...it took us a while to figure that out. All in all, the hotel has a good value for the money, because it wasn't expensive at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vladsomesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Good morning. Only a few words to thank you for your comments. It is true the hotel can get very busy with children during the school half terms. I have noted your points with regards to the cleanliness in the bathroom and will go through these with our Head Housekeeper. I shall also pass on your comments with regards to the breakfast. Thank you once again and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Cheerful, helpful reception staff and no waiting at reception. Room was ready before scheduled check-in time and was spotless. Breakfast buffet was quite varied between cooked hot stuff, cold meats, pastries, cereals and fruit. Dining room staff were very pleasant, always had a smile. Not sure what the criteria is for being handed a morning paper, seemed erratic (maybe I'm only raising this as I didn't get one!). They advertise as being convenient for the city centre but its a good 20-25 minutes walk so the centre isn't exactly on their doorstep. Taxi to centre is around 4.50.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Good morning and thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we willl have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just stayed at the Novotel for 4 nights and are feeling a bit disappointed as we were here 2 years ago with our young son and had a great stay then, however this time was different. On the plus side the reception area has been refurbished with more space for the new wii and xbox (which our son loved) as has the pool area (but it was still freezing as it was 2 years ago- why can't that be changed?), breakfast was fine and the cocktails were very good! The barman was very helpful and made a mean cosmopolitan. Staff generally were polite and helpful.

We paid extra for an "executive" room (we stayed in a standard one previously which we had no complaints about) but I am not sure it was worth it. The storage space was very limited with a tiny wardrobe space meaning we ended up living out of suitcases which wasn't great over 4 days. The room itself was snug to say the least, I am not sure how a family of 4 would have managed. Considering we booked well in advance the room wasn't made up for 3, we had to ask for an extra bed, bedding and towels. The extra bed was only made up with a sheet and blanket, I had to ask for a duvet only to find I ended up making the bed myself. Each day thereafter towels were only left for 2 of us, you can get fed up of asking..... Considering the place is full of families you would expect they would be used to having more than 2 in a room.
Going back to the room I expected free wifi but it was broadband and it wasn't free- I am wondering why we bothered with the executive room. It was handy having a large bathroom with seperate shower but it took up so much space I am not sure it was worth it. The room itself although generally clean was a bit tired and grubby in places.
Then to top things off the hot water broke before we could get showers as we decided to use the pool in the morning one day (what is it about me and hot water- see another review in Nottingham of mine), an engineer had to come from Birmingham so knowing this would take an age we had to all have cold showers.
I did speak with reception about these issues, apparently all rooms are the same size so no point in changing, so due to this and the hot water issue they did waive our car parking fees (that is an issue in itself as I think it's a bit excessive to charge for parking as not all city centre hotels do) and a couple of drinks.

Overall this has the potential to be a good hotel, we did come back so did like it, due to location and as it is family friendly but a few things are letting it down. Due to this I am not sure whether we will return and we do come to York at least once a year.

Room Tip: Don't think an executive room is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your comments and for raising your concerns as it will give us an opportunity to improve on our service delivery. I can reassure you that your comments are taken seriously. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for a short weekend break. Room was a good size but dated. Didn't like having the toilet separate from the main bathoom as no handwashing facilities in with toilet-very unhygienic as you need to touch the door before you can get to the sink. Not a great selection in the restaurant but the breakfast made up for that. Not happy about the car park as the barrier was open all weekend so no security - complete rip off. Thankfully, the bed was comfortable. The corridors leading to the bedrooms badly need updated.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Good morning and thank you very much for your comments.Your points have been noted and will be investigated especially with regards to the car park barrier. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Family room for 4 was fine, Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice for everyone. Extremely disappointed with pool - water was FREEZING!!!! Was reported to staff they came in and done a reading of pool area tempature but not a water reading for some strange reason! This was the main reason we booked to stay at this hotel. We wanted somewhere to relax with the children after our days sight seeing. We did not use the pool again on this visit.

Hotel had good location and was in excellent walking distance to the town centre and tourist attractions. Was disappointed that you are charged to park in the hotel grounds and felt this was rather cheeky considering we had paid over £200 to stay.

Overall we enjoyed our visit to York but the Novotel have a few things they need to work on before we stay with them again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a few words and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read the water in the pool was too cold and can assure you that we have fully investigated your concerns. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we stayed at novotel for two nights,we found that nothing was too much trouble for all the staff including gregory who was particuarly attentive and knowledgeable.ok the car park fee is pricey but at least your car is safe as the parking area has barriers.this hotel is perfect for city centre,only short walk away.our stay was midweek and there were conferences in the hotel but had no problems either at the bar or with the restaurant.we had a superior room which we found comfortable,large comfy bed,nice modern bathroom.overall we had a very relaxing break and shall be returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Good morning. Thank you very much for writing a comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read you had a good time with us and am looking forward to seeing you again in the future. I will also personally share your comments with Gregory.

Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $107 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing