We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did I go to the same hotel as some of the bad reviews??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leyland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Did I go to the same hotel as some of the bad reviews??”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel was absolutely fine. Don't get me wrong it wasn't a luxury boutique hotel-but it doesn't claim to be! Location was great, car park felt secure and was ample spaces. Check in great, smooth and no hiccups. Extra bed a bit creaky but hey it was a sofa bed so....reception had a few kids in it, but people are going to take kids to York, and they do make the world go round. Noisy ones are usually the fault of parents-not the hotels responsibility. Room clean, bathroom clean, toilet separate-so what? Nip and wash your hands in the bathroom, it's not difficult. More expensive than a travelodge, cheaper then a smart hotel in town. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending to a friend. Didn't eat here or have breakfast so can't comment. Wonder why some bad reviews-? Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your honest feedback. It was a pleasure welcoming you and we do hope we will have the opportunity to see you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    988
    460
    144
    82
See reviews for
884
909
60
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is one big busy hotel in York, overpriced for what you get. Desperate for somewhere here on a long weekend, while travelling throughout Britain, saw the reviews and gave it a go.

At least it had carparking - an essential for me.

The check-in was efficient and lobby ok, but on exiting the lift I saw the first of many signs this is a tired hotel. My room door looked like someone had previously broken in and the room itself was stark. Bed ok but tired stained carpet and paint, bathroom desperate for a refresh, and the separate toilet downright grubby and looking like it had not been cleaned for some time. Over next 3 days, the housekeeping was basically non-existant. The carpet wasn't vacuumed, bed roughly pulled into shape, but not changed, bathroom and toilet barely touched.

Breakfast was very second rate - busy, kids everwhere (not aware it was a family type hotel before arriving), but the food was not excusable. Slices of sour fruit, trays of bulk-cooked eggs, clumped semi-cooked bacon and so on. Not appealing at all. Surpisingly, my expresso coffee was good. Location a bit of a walk from York's action spots but not too bad.

There was little to recommend here, and I would prefer to pay a lot extra for a far better place next time. Only the sights of York saved my bacon!

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerPete1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Good afternoon. Thank you for your honest feedback. I would like to apologise for the shortfall in service you received on this occasion. I have taken your comments very seriously and will ensure actions are taken to avoid any future similar complaints. with regards to the bedroom doors, we are in the process of changing all of them and some works in our corridors will follow to make good of the damage caused when removing all the frames. These doors have been designed to reduce further the noise from corridors.

Thank you once again for your comments.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This hotel is located at the heart of york and is just 10 mins walking distance from Shambles, York Minster etc. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, clean, bed was cozy and the interiors done quite elegantly. The only downside is that they don't provide free WiFi.

The best thing about this place is the breakfast buffet . They had plenty of options including hot english breakfast, continental. Do check out their Cappuccino! I would gladly stay there again!

P.S: Check out Mason's arms near Novotel, plenty of options for beers and yummy food!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ViRaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Good afternoon. First, I would like to thank you for your comments. I will share them with the rest of the team. Then, we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotl in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a comment.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nothing to complain about - lovely big room for a couple. Fab breakfast buffet. A pleasant stroll into town and friendly staff. Not romantic but clean and comfortable. Although there had been reviewers saying the place could be over run with kids I think a normal weekend in March meant there weren't too many.

Room Tip: 409 - high up quiet and a small window over looking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janeeejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I am delighted to read you had a good time with us and am looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing