We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
$233
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
$197
$84
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$174
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
$117
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
$71
$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,774)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveler rating
1,168
422
126
33
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,168
422
126
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyork minstertaxi rankkedgereedch restaurantvalet parking isminster bellsperfect locationlovely hoteleggs benedictkippersno air conditioningbreakfast was excellentvisiting yorkthird floorbooked this hotelsmall roomfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
1,027 - 1,032 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've written reviews about this hotel in the past, but decided to write another one today, having just returned from another excellent stay. You could argue that the building itself is getting on a bit, with creaky floors etc, but that's just part of its charm. If you want a hotel with the best location in the city, staffed by some of the most friendly, welcoming folk you'll find anywhere, this is the one for you. The lovely reception staff go out of their way to help and the well-cooked breakfasts are a great way to start the day, served with true Yorkshire hospitality. I guess that's why we keep going back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ShropshireLass69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. I took a long time debating over which hotel to stay in York, and I'm so glad I chose this. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, the car was taken away to a private car park, our bags were taken to our room. The room was fabulous to say the least, I booked a superior double and it even had a 4 poster bed, separate seating area complete with leather settee and a large TV on the wall. The bathroom was had everything you could wish for, complete with bountiful supplies of toiletries. The hospitality Tay in the room had everything and more, filter coffee, cafetiere, hot chocolate, various teas, plenty milk and more, even a huge bowl of fruit on the side. The breakfast was lovely, anything you wanted, cooked to order. All the staff were very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble for them. The location of the hotel was perfect, next to the minster, just 5 minutes walk to town, perfect in every way. Will definitely be returning to this hotel again if we're visiting York, oh and to top it all off, they brought our car round to the front of the hotel all lovely and clean! Service indeed!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rose-gray73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Steps away from the Minster, quiet, and with reasonably priced valet parking... almost too good to be true for York. The hotel was delightful. Staff were not only polite and friendly but genuinely welcoming and keen not to rush us when we arrived at the last minute for breakfast. The breakfast itself was excellent with a wide range of freshly cooked to order dishes and lovely fresh fruit, and all accompanied by the Minsater bells. The comfortable bedroom had plenty of space and good bathroom, with an interesting array of various teas and loads of milk (Nothing parsimonious about the place).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayton37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Really enjoyed staying here for the weekend - we visit York regularly and always have a weekend of retail therapy and relaxing after Christmas but this was our first stay here. Can't really believe we haven't stayed here before - you would be hard pushed to find a better location in the shadow of the Minister. We drove straight to the door, walked into reception and they took our keys and parked the car for us - in York this is an incredible service.
The staff on reception were friendly and welcoming, we were shown to a lovely room on the second floor - it was a standard double room but exceeded my expectations (I often upgrade but there was no need here) The bed was beautifully made, very comfortable, the decor was warm and modern, beautiful bathroom and small sitting area, lovely biscuits on the tea tray and water provided, cosy bathrobes - we didn't need anything else!
Breakfast was very good, good buffet selection and cooked to order hot breakfast, eggs, porridge etc All the breakfast staff were friendly and efficient
Criticisms - if I'm being very fussy I would say the only disappointment was the bar area on an evening, having been out for a meal we walked back to the hotel and thought we would have a nightcap. The bar area lacks atmosphere, there were only a few couples and it could have done with some music or a pianist maybe - it just felt very flat. In addition the bar was poorly stocked (though it was the week after New Year) no Drambuie/Glayva/Frangelico/Baileys - just a basic choice which was a shame but this was the only short coming.
Otherwise a really lovely stay and we will return - hopefully when the bar has restocked!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyschoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews