We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble - Doctor Bob”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our annual pre-Christmas gathering was suddenly interrupted for some of our party by serious family illness. All the staff at Dean Court reacted with great empathy and kindness and without prompting immediately rejigged quite complicated arrangements so the remainder of the party could still enjoy their stay. This was done quietly and without any fuss. Everything at the hotel excelled (as usual), as did the main focus of our York trip - the annual panto!! Thanks Dean Court.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our second stay at the Dean Court this year. Once again, the standard of service and attention to detail from all staff - from reception to restaurant to room service to maintenance - was impressive. Coupled with the location next to the Minster, the comfort of the well-equipped rooms and the quality of the dining across the day, this really is a hotel that stands out from the crowd. A wonderful base from which to explore and enjoy the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David7KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Dean Court Hotel in York for our pre-Christmas treat going to the fabulous York Pantomime. The hotel looked fabulous for Christmas and was just around the corner from the theatre but also superbly located for the shops and sightseeing. We had an amazing view of York Minster from our window. We stay in hotels a lot and are sometimes disappointed by lacklustre service and scruffy hotels, but the reason I'm writing this review was that all the the Dean Court staff went out of their way to make our stay really special. And the Yorkshire breakfast was magnificent too. I would recommend the hotel highly to anyone Prof Sally B

Room Tip: If you can get one looking out over the Minster the views in the morning are marvellous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on many occasions from our home in Australia. Our room overlooked the beautiful Minster, it was well equipped, large, clean, with very comfortable beds and good linen, the staff is always friendly and very helpful, with many familiar faces, we were made to feel at home straight away. The restaurant is great and the bistro through the day is excellent. It is in a great position, you can walk anywhere and is within easy reach to any other tourist destination in the Yorkshire Dales. As Alan H has said in his review "it is a country house in city centre". I would recommend this hotel to any one visiting York or the Dales. Mac.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heraclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great position for walking around the sites , bags of atmosphere and charm, excellent breakfasts and top notch service ( just avoid the Lendal bridge trap) come in from the northern end, you are really right in the middle of things

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a really nice place. Has individual charm despite being part of the Best Western chain. Location in old town fantastic - you can walk to anywhere of interest in York. My room a single was really quite big for the UK and had a very comfy bed and great bathroom. The service was very good and particularly friendly. The breakfast was great . The price was good- really I could not fault the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mattjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Bron1303
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $120 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing