We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Nearby Hotels
$233
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$179
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
$178
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
$117
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$144
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,774)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveler rating
1,168
422
126
33
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,168
422
126
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyork minstertaxi rankkedgereedch restaurantvalet parking isminster bellsperfect locationlovely hoteleggs benedictkippersno air conditioningbreakfast was excellentvisiting yorkthird floorbooked this hotelsmall roomfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

When travelling for business you get used to hotels saying they are 4 star but in reality they are an optimistic 3 star. Also with business booking you get shoved in the old rooms. So I was really surprised when I got a lovely room, great size, tea tray with about every drink you could think of on it. The room was clean, bathroom a good size and the bed was really comfortable, the sheets had not been sterilised to an inch of their lives, so where soft not scratchy.

The staff where just wonderful, felt really safe and nothing was a bother, I had room service and there is a good selection of veggie options and the food is not over priced. The breakfast selection was good too. To top it off, you're a stone's throw from the Minister, so can hear the chimes when you have the window open.

Felt like a mini break rather than a business trip, just need to find a reason to go back to York to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorraine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great hotel , we had a room overlooking the main road at the front of the hotel, which can be noisy early morning. But we still managed to sleep in, so I wouldn't let it turn you off visiting them. We love the location of the hotel and although we only had breakfasts I can recommend them , very good selection on both the cold and hot menu. Also for anyone traveling by train it's only a 10 min walk away.
The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and had a good supply of coffees and teas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanbucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and what a great hotel in terms of location and accommodation. The staff provide an excellent service from the time you book in until you check out. The breakfast was very good with excellent friendly service. We had a great view of York Minister across the road. The only negative was the bar restaurant which had no atmosphere and we waled straight out and dined in York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing York Minster
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ultrabernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visiting York and went to the Dean Court Hotel bistro/bar for dinner.
Greeted by an unhappy looking member of staff who told us the restaurant did not open until later (we had a prior engagement so could not wait) so decided the bistro/bar would be good enough, the front of house gave us menus and told us to sit where we want. The bistro/bar area looked nice enough, but on closer inspection was not very clean and felt like a converted swimming pool (which it may have been previously).
Now on to the food....it was awful. My partner ordered a plain burger and chips (not a complicated dish) and I had the carbonara. When the food arrived the "plain" burger had mayonnaise on it, so had to be sent back. A good 30 minutes later the burger is returned, minus mayonnaise but with reheated and now inedible chips.
I realise this is not the main restaurant, and we didn't expect 5* food but even McDonalds can manage a burger and chips!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank curlywurly88423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is located right by the Minster, we had been to York before and stayed at the Hilton, this is by far superior, more friendly service, great room and nicer location. Car Parking is not a problem, as they valet it for you. Went to the Hilton, park it on here but you will have to move it.

Breakfast was OK, first day I asked for Egg and Fried bread, which was a bit small, but the next morning, two eggs and Fried bread a go go. Really good service.

Cannot fault it, my wife and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews