We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for something else unless you like noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Look for something else unless you like noise.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I arrived here on Monday 20th May 2013 with my Fiancee for her birthday. The receptionist said we had a free upgrade to room 61. I thought this was a good gesture especially when most rooms now had a good reduction in there price.. Room 61 is a bit dull and the noise in there is bad and will keep you awake for your stay. Across the road is a pub and the noise is sometimes loud with drunks and on Tuesday they have a band or karaoke. In the early hours of the morning you will hear the delivery lorry for the pub, rolling kegs onto the pavement and later the garbage lorry will turn up with more noise. As this building is very old the floor boards will creak in your room as well as the room above you.
On the plus side the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is good.The hotel itself is in a good location for all the amenities, with good restaurants nearby like Jamie Oliver and pubs.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the roads if possible or the top floor,this will stop you hearing those crea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    396
    120
    30
    23
See reviews for
255
909
65
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived early staff very helpful, car and luggage all dealt with so efficiently. Had a card for birthday and champagne ready waiting as requested. Room was the best, great view lovely and clean.
This hotel was excellent service fantastic food even had gluten free food and nothing was too much trouble. The staff really made the stay. Never felt so relaxed and comfortable. Would defiantly stay here again. Thank u to all the staff that made the 2 days so special.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzejk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed two nights as a couple visiting York. Staff were very helpful throughout. We arrived too early to check in, but they kept our bags and had delivered these to our room by the time we returned. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast offered a wide choice and everything we tried was very good.

The only minor niggle was the bar meal we had one evening. It was a bit disappointing and seemed rather overpriced for what we got.

Other than this The Dean Court is a good hotel in a great location and we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badelynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great service, good breakfast and excellent location as its right opposite York Minster. Downside for me was that the room was very noisy as our room overlooked the road and very warm. Wouldn't like to stay here in the height of summer although you can hire an air conditioning unit at a cost. Would stay here again but only because of the location. The Hotel itself is a little tired for prices they charge.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and were very impressed with our room and breakfast was truly great.
We did not eat here, apart from breakfast, but have done in the past and found the food very good.
I can recommend the Italian" Little Italy" which is not far from the hotel.
The room was spotless and checkin quick and effortless. The position is unmatched as it is central to most places and next to the minster which is now charging to wander round.
Would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertonian61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went here for our wedding anniversary for three nights.
First room was fine if a little small but due to a minor problem with the TV we were moved and upgraded to a larger room overlooking the MInster.
Staff were very good - professional but friendly and helpful. Food was also very good - especially our anniversary dinner.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, but perhaps starting to look a little "tired".
Position could not have been better, right by the Minster and just a very short walk to the city centre and the river.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, avoid the "small doubles". They are OK but rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night on a business trip. Fantastic site oposite the Minster. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast. Friendly attentive staff and a knowledgable restaurant manager. The single room was fine. It had everything it was small and hot, so I didn't sleep well.
Great site, great food excellent staff but check the room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing