We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveler rating
707
443
192
89
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
443
192
89
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ivy restaurant premier room morning room car park lovely hotel drawing room city centre the ground floor fresh milk in the fridge four poster wedding party yorkshire breakfast eggs benedict small room booked this hotel york minster ten minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location with very courteous and friendly staff. The breakfasts were very fresh and beautifully presented. We were in Room 25 which was perfectly adequate however one thing I would like to add is that the decor was a little tired and could do with a bit of freshening up. A very minor negative as overall the hotel was fantastic!!

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Chevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chevito

Many thanks for your review - very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped over for a weekend break and took our Dog too!, which was great, all of the staff were brilliant and made us all most welcome, how refreshing to stop somewhere and they allow for your pets too. there were a number of other people stopping with their dogs, but you would never know.... glass of wine in the bar with our Dog asleep on the floor, two more couples doing just the same......very relaxing. cannot recommend the hotel enough - thank you

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear R2410

Many thanks - we very much enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We attended the gin masterclass at The Grange and booked an overnight stay bed & breakfast as we had traveled from Manchester by car and we hadn’t been to York for a while so wanted to get some touristy things done.
The hotel is a five minute walk to the Minster and on a main road but the trafficker intrusive.
Parking is secure and to the rear of the hotel, there are not many places so booking is essential. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. Great shower and really quiet, you couldn’t hear other guests at all and the hotel was full.
After a good nights sleep we had breakfast in the ivy brassiere. It was really busyness it was peak time and the staff were running around but breakfast arrived in a timely manner and it was hot too and not over facing. There was a good selection that would please everybody’s tastes.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay again next time we came to York.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcrich66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Marcrich66

Many thanks for your kind review - very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Stayed for 2 nights in early August, annual trip away to treat my Mum and we had a lovely time. The room was luxurious and very comfortable. Staff really friendly and helpful, evening meal in the Ivy Brasserie was really good and breakfast nice too. Convenient location and handy on site parking. Nothing not to like!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Karen B

Many thanks for your kind comments - we hope to see you again next year!

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Just returned from a few days in York with 6 x couples and 1 x single.

It's an annual event, mainly Midlands / North venues, and my turn to arrange it. Not always easy as, all aging rapidly, there's a few potential Victor Meldrews and a couple of divas in the cast!

But not to worry - Suzanne (Manageress) and her brilliant staff + The Grange charmed all of us. So I'm (temporarily) basking in the thanks of all the group - most unusual - for an impeccable few days. The reality being that the organisation / friendliness / food and the rooms at the Grange were the real stars and won everyone over.

Many many thanks. The food was excellent and seating us as a group in the annex to the restaurant worked wonderfully. Our room was superb and everyone else was similarly appreciative. And your staff are very impressive. Always cheerful / always smiling and a real credit to you.

We really enjoyed your Hotel and staying with you. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikeyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Mikeyorks

And we very much enjoyed your company too! Thank you for this, such comments are much appreciated.

Enjoy Stratford next year and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2020!

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews