We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveler rating
707
443
192
89
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
443
192
89
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ivy restaurant premier room morning room car park lovely hotel drawing room city centre the ground floor fresh milk in the fridge four poster wedding party yorkshire breakfast eggs benedict small room booked this hotel york minster ten minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2017

I booked this stay for a special occasion, but The Grange Hotel made sure it was certainly not that.
Upon check in, we were told there was no parking space so needed to find somewhere else and pay for it. We were also told our room was not ready and we would have to wait, despite being there on time.
After finally checking in, we went up to our room only to find someone in there. A disconcerting start for any hotel stay.
The room was dirty, run down and dismal. The menus provided were covered in dried on food, and the carpet was covered in stains. It was very drab and basic, and the tea/coffee making facilities were very poor. Not what you expect from a 4 star "luxury" hotel.
Would never stay here again, we paid an extortionate amount for this hotel, and I've had better, cleaner stays at budget hotels.
After speaking to staff about how poor the room was and how it ruined our stay, they offered us absolutely nothing and stated that "that's just how the rooms look". They were very rude and stubborn and refused to accept that dirty, stained rooms were unacceptable.
Worst stay I've ever had at a hotel. Nothing nice to say about the room whatsoever.
DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hjl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear hjl2

I have already responded directly to the points you raise in your review, however to summarise: -

My apologies the menu was not clean and you considered the coffee tray "disorganised". I was on duty throughout your stay and very much wish these problems had been brought to my attention at the time. A retrospective inspection of the room following your email (received the day after your departure) revealed none of these issues.

Carpets are routinely shampooed and our rooms are cleaned daily.

Check in is from 3.00 pm and whilst we do our best with early arrivals, I am sorry your room was not ready when you arrived at 2.15 pm and the house keeper was still room checking when you went up at 2.40 pm.

Alas, car parking is a perennial problem not just for us, but for the city itself. In December, we did state quite clearly that all our spaces, although free of charge, were available on a first come, first served basis.

The fabric wallpaper and freshly painted furniture is very much the "style" for room 28. The bathroom is also brand new. Size wise, it is one of our standard rooms and is charged accordingly.

Our 4 star status is tested against a number of criteria with particular emphasis in 6 key areas and it is a shame you did give us the opportunity to demonstrate all we have to offer.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016

Spent a couple of nights here while helping out a family member. Loved the cosy bedroom and beautiful bed, super bathroom and ambience of the hotel. Delicious breakfasts and one dinner, friendly service. A pity that the first floor dining room has been made into bedrooms but the basement is now much more attractive.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Petal1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear Petal1912

Many thanks for your kind comments. We're very pleased with the Brasserie too - glad you like it!

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a last minute break and loved every minute. Had a warm reception and the team at the hotel will ensure you are happy. Great breakfast a lot more choice than the normal selection. It is a short flat 10 minute walk to York Minster will definitely stay here again.

As for the car park it is only a small one however speaking to a resident there is a second one a short walk away which can also be used for free. I am sure the hotel can advise you.

Ignore the main chain hotels this is a lovely hotel lots of little snugs you can get a drink and relax in.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear Steve G

Many thanks for the recommendation - very glad you enjoyed your stay. It does make it all worthwhile!

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

Very well presented courses with careful attention to vegetarian and intollerant requirements. Very good list of wines and cocktails. Far from the central area, taxi recommended but worth a visit. Casual restaurant.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank GiadaG1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear GiadaG1976

Many thanks for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Arrived Christmas Eve to an initially not very warm welcome when it came to car parking but after that, the service was faultless. Lots of hard work put in by all the staff. Food really good and the room we stayed in which was one of the new ones where the dining room used to be was lovely. Spacious, well maintained and good facilities including team making stuff, toiletries and a walk in proper overhead shower with plenty of pressure. Special mentions for Suzanne(?) and Dave for making us feel very welcome and would certainly consider returning next year.
Not 100% perfect though - might seem an odd comment for a December review but it was too warm inside! Room could be adjusted although it did take a while to cool down from the 23 degrees we arrived to but the public areas also made us both get a sweat on.
Car parking disappointing although to be fair there is nothing that could be done about it short of knocking down part of the building! Managed to get a space in the end so was able to relax about it

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms where the dining room used to be
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne N, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear Ray A

Many thanks for your comments - very glad you enjoyed your stay.

It was quite warm! I was particularly concerned that we'd had to delay the installation of one of the fires in the Dante, but this actually proved unnecessary in the end.

The car park is being re-surfaced next week and once the dedicated bays are marked out, spaces can finally be reserved.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews