We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in York
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Adequate and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Grange is conveniently located a short walk away from the old city walls in a nice neighborhood. Parking was provided in the rear. The entrance opens into a lobby that looks up a large, winding staircase that is your only access to the upper floors. There is no elevator. That could be problematic for those unable to lug heave suitcases up two or three flights of stairs…although they are wide and not steep. Our room was large, but the carpet had been recently shampooed and the smell didn’t agree with us. We asked for another room, but the availability was slim, so we opened the window and hoped for the best. The room had a king (English King) bed and the closet was spacious. The bathroom is large, with an enclosed shower and bidet. (We later learned that the shower leaked into the dining room!) Our two night stay was pleasant enough, and we became accustomed to the smell. The breakfast options were satisfactory and the bar, while minimally stocked, was suitable. We would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swingtowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    357
    166
    81
    30
See reviews for
149
689
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Grange Hotel was a comfortable place to stay for 2 nights recently in York. The room was a reasonable size, the hotel staff were helpful with questions, and we enjoyed our time spent in the common areas reading or enjoying a drink. I will note that the internet access was very good and free, which during a long trip to many places is lovely indeed. They also provided free bottled water in the room, which was a nice touch. The hotel is also a reasonable walk into the heart of York.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the building, so do take that into account when booking if many stairs would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very impressed with meticulous preparation and attention to detail. Superb food and excellent service. All the staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble
Helped make our wedding day very special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dac1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although we knew only small double bedrooms were available when we booked we were unprepared for a single room with a double bed pushed up against the wall. One person had to climb over the other to get in and out and could not read in bed as no bedside light. The room was tiny, hot, dark, oppressive and needed a complete makeover. The fridge had been taken out so no cold drinks, one lamp had no bulb, the loo did not flush, there was no bath and worst of all the biscuits on the tea tray had been opened and half eaten. The road noise was indescribable and could not shut the windows because of the heat. The noise from the upstairs floorboards was also very bad and there were also quite embarrassing noises that kept us awake most of the night. This was our anniversary and was totally spoilt. I would not recommend this hotel at all. Although the staff were quite pleasant they were unable to move us but offered nothing by way of compensation other than sympathy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CandM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Grange Hotel York, I am sorry your experience has caused you to reflect on the visit in a negative light.
We make no allusions of our three small doubles which are priced well away from our other rooms and on checking your confirmation which did include a picture of the room the rate reflected the last let nature of your bedrooms.
That said I agree more could have been done to put you at ease during your stay and I will use your feedback to aid our Guest Service training.
Lastly thank you for your kind comments relating to the team and should you wish to discuss your stay further feel free to contact me at the Hotel.

Kind Regards

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My friend and I spent 2 nights here recently, to the tune of over $200 per night. I was disappointed in the cleanliness, the lack of attention to detail, and the service in general. For instance, in our room, the saucers for tea were actually dirty, and our electric kettle leaked because it was broken. The kettle was replace, but the only way to reach a plug with it was to put the kettle on the floor. I had to contact the management about a loud party in the room next to us the first night, and while the response was fairly swift, the result wasn't all that effective.
The location of the hotel is good...an easy walk to the MInster. Anyhow, I wouldn't stay here again. It wasn't horrible but it didn't seem like particularly good value for the money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Grange Hotel York, more time than you took to locate the plug socket for the kettle which is just behind the desk at waist height.
Your feedback has been pasted to the housekeeping and maintenance team which I of course I apologise for. You will see from 90% of our TA feedback my team, our location and the cleanliness of the hotel are all rated extremely highly so this is disappointing to learn so late in your experience.
If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at the hotel

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked an extra small room for under 100 pounds, and were delighted to open our door and see a large space (perhaps our largest room in all of the UK). The décor was charming and tasteful, with sweet touches like fresh milk in the fridge for your tea, local books and magazines, etc. The beds had white duvets, which I love as it feels so much cleaner than bedspreads. The only drawbacks were no AC and the toilets were tricky to flush. We would recommend and would stay here again. It was a 5 minute walk outside the city walls. We took a taxi from the train station - walkable but just far enough to be too far with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is generally clean and tidy but it is a little dated and frayed around the edges. Not what you would expect from a 4* hotel paying £169 per night. But if you can ignore the frayed/well worn parts of the hotel then you will enjoy your stay. The rooms are comfy and clean. The staff are very helpful and polite. The location is very good with a short walk into York centre. The food is in my opinion a bit over priced but is an acceptable quality. But there are plenty of quality places to eat in York it’s self. There are limited free parking spaces at the back of the hotel. There is no lift so if you have trouble with stairs it may be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing