We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grange Hotel”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Grange Hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights in a good sized, clean and attractive room. The bed was very big and comfortable, the linen crisp, the towels large and fluffy and the toiletries were from the White Company. We were pleased with the complimentary bottles of water and fresh milk in the fridge as well as the free morning newspaper. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Granville7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    370
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
155
716
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just like York everything about the Grange is wonderful, the food was amazing, the staff were brilliant and predominantly British (nothing against hard working immigrants, we assure you - it was just unusual in this day and age). My wife and I will definitely be staying again when we return to York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

After booking online internationally we arrived to be warmly greeted by Charli at reception, and all the team made sure we felt welcomed and part of the family. Our large room was beautifully decorated and appointed. The bed extremely comfortable as well with great linen and comfortable pillows. As my partner had a rolled ankle we ate in the Bistro and Mick made us welcome there. The food was great over the two nights we were there as was the breakfasts as well.
The hotel has parking on site which was important a York is so busy. A great venue , elegant, with warm staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eklasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I loved the grange hotel! It was near the city centre, it was beautifully decorated and the staff was really nice. We only stayed here for one night, in a 'small' room. If that was small, i can only imagine how big a luxury room must be! Because we had another full day in York but had to check out of the hotel before 11.00 am, we asked the receptionist if we could leave our bags there and pick them up later. That was no problem and free of charge. So, my overall experience of the grange hotel is great! If i'm ever going back to York, i'm definetely going back to the grange hotel!

It has the atmospere of a small town B&B, but all the luxury of a hotel. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed two nights, very good location, 5minute walk in to the centre. Rooms are a good size. Food was very good and very good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend staying as just a short walk from the centre.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidzaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed two nights in room 4, ground floor. Great room, quite large with good bathroom & bath. The king size 4 poster bed was a delight & very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with good choices, the salmon & scrambled eggs was delicious. Very clean & greasy service with friendly staff. Great location, short walk to the city. Only complaint was parking, we were lucky to get a spot & it's tight.

Room Tip: Room 4 ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samrox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved the tradifional Grange Hotel and York. Its so convenient to the city centre and everything it has to offer. Dinner and breakfast both excellent. Staff extremely helpful. Bedroom stylish and of good size with adjoining first class bathroom. We have also stayed at your other hotel The Felix in Cambridge an ultra modern hotel but also a great place to stay and of the best quality.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road and if infirm not too high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,549 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing