We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night romantic getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Hull - East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One night romantic getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the Grange Hotels' suite in March for 1 night for a romantic getaway. We were not disapointed. The hotel itself is a grand building and this grand theme was continued in our suite. The suite itself was very large, having a sitting room, complete with open gas fire, a large bedroom with king sized bed and ensuite bathroom with what can only be described as the largest bath tub we have seen, the bathroom also contained a separate shower cubicle.
The hotel has 2 restaurants, a New York Grill where we dined and a more formal restaurant that we used for breakfast the morning we departed. We both enjoyed dining in the New York grill. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful, the food, plentiful, well cooked and well presented.
The hotels location also proved to be ideal for us. An easy 5 minute walk into the city for the bars and restaurants, of which there is plentiful supply.
All of the hotel staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist who always met us with a warm smile and friendly greeting.
Overall we would recommend the hotel for couples seeking a romantic getaway in a beautiful city location.

Room Tip: If you can - choose the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulF1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    352
    166
    81
    30
See reviews for
148
676
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Grange is an outstanding hotel. In appearance, it is a charming and historic town house situated in the heart of York and the staff take great care to ensure that the expectations associated with such graceful surroundings are fully met. Our bedroom was very comfortable with a large bathroom and, a nice touch, the housekeeper called personally every evening to ask if we needed anything. The food was very good indeed and the service in the restaurants was unobtrusive but knowledgable and unhurried. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and even to anticipate our needs. We will hurry back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymraes_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We will definitely recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again - especially to eat there!
The Grange has a great location just outside the city walls a very short walk from the Minster. It is a beautiful grand old building with a lovely atmosphere and ambience.
The rooms are quite small but are well equipped and very comfortable, this must be the most comfortable bed i have ever had in a hotel and the linens, duvet and pillows were all high quality.
We ate in both the restaurants in the hotel and the food is of a VERY high standard in both and it is clear from evening meals and from breakfast that they source excellent fresh produce.
All the staff in the hotel were lovely and very responsive to our needs. The hotel uses a lot of young staff and whilst they were all very friendly, positive and enthusiastic i felt the hotel could do more to reach their potential as there were clearly areas where they were out of their depth especially in the restaurant, which was a shame because it was not my view they lacked capability.
The hotel has no lift and whilst it has a lovely and eager concierge he is not always there and so my 70 year old mother in law was left to carry her own case up 2 floors as she arrived before us.
All in all this hotel looks and feels beautiful and i defy you to have a bad stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back and on an upper floor as it is an old building and therefore has sqeaky fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gWiz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is the first time i have ever written a review but I had to for The Grange Hotel. My wife and I stayed at the Grange Hotel from 25th February until the 2nd of March 2012. What an absolute fantastic and brilliant time that we had. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel so special. Our room was brilliant, clean, bright and very airy, the bathroom was well equipped and very large. On our first night there we had a meal in their restaurant The Ivy Brasserie, the meal was fantastic and the staff were incredible. I have eaten in lots of restaurants but this is in my top 3 of all time.

Over the six nights that we were there every member of staff were fabulous, they would always pass the time of day with you and if you asked for anything or had a request it was done and you did not feel that you were troubling them. It is very rare to find service like this in Britain.

So if you want to book a hotel in York book the Grange you may pay slightly more but it worth it as this cannot be compared to those chain of hotels, this hotel has a personality all of its own and its location is fabulous a 5 minute walk from the Minster. Thankyou to everybody at the Grange.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rge1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Guests

A while ago I decided not to reply to positive reviews as I feared becoming rather monotonous in my replies. However I could not resist replying to your review to compliment you on your fabulous review.

Thank you not only to you but also to those guests who have posted similar reviews. I am sure the team will read these and join me in expressing our gratitude for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor.

We also hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to The Grange in the very near future

Best wishes


George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay in a hotel where all the staff, without exception, wwere extremly friendly and despite working hard very happy in their work. The hotel is very close to the centre of York and an ideal base for walking round York or driving around the wonderful countryside nearby. The food in both of the reatsaurants was good modern British with daily specials. Pricing given its location and service level is very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked the Grange for our Wedding Anniversary. When I phoned to book I advised of this and was told that the cheaper room was very small so we paid the higher rate for a double or king size room. We had a lovely evening out in York but when we went to bed late that evening we were very disappointed to realise that we didn't have a double bed, but two single beds pushed together. When we spoke to the Duty Manager about this the following morning he was very sympathetic and did refund us some money because we were misled when we booked. Nevertheless we were disappointed that what was meant to be a luxurious night away, ended up being an uncomfortable one!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizRoberts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing your review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that the ziplink beds did not meet with your approval. I assure you that most hotels utilise these beds to give the option of either having a twin or a double. It is a shame you were allocated one of these bedrooms even though due to availability and celebration we upgraded you from standard double to a king size bedroom free of charge, we should have been more selective when allocating the bedrooms.

I am obviously delighted to learn that the duty manager was sympathetic towards the issue ending rewarding you with a further discount

I am sorry for somewhat spoiling your celebrations

Yours sincerely


George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

...look no further than The Grange Hotel in York where I stayed in Feb 2012. The staff went out of their way to provide a great service and nothing was too much trouble.
My bedding was changed to hypoallergenic quilt & pillows within about 15 minutes of my request and I also received a courtesy call to check that everything was to my satisfaction.
The quality of the food in the New York Grill was outstanding, and I had the best steak I have had in a very long time.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay the The Grange again as I was very impressed by the service & the food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#17 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing