We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Polish Resaurant give it a try!”
Review of Barbakan

Barbakan
Ranked #15 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Polish Resaurant give it a try!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This small but quaint Polish restaurant situated towards the bottom of Fossgate has wide selection of vegetarian dishes to choose from and all at excellent value for money. The staff at all times was courteous and helpful and a wonderful lunch for two was washed down with two large glasses of House wine for under £25! Whilst we were in they were turning people away for the evening sessions which fully booked and this did not surprise us. A great atmosphere and a restaurant we will certainly be returning to dine in when next in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveb540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    175
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Truly memorable experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a wonderful Polish restaurant with lovely, unusual food and a fantastic atmosphere. We've been in York on a short break but would consider coming back just to go to Barbakan again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I'd never been to a polish restaurant before, but Barbakan makes me more likely to do so again. Good food, very friendly people and a nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Potato cakes and Goulash”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from Poland I was in need of Polish fair. I must say I wasn't disappointed. I had taken two clients from Korea who were staying in York sight seeing and asked if they fancied a change of cuisine.
I had potato cake and goulash and it tasted just like some I had in Biesczady recently. My clients had gołąbki which also was delicious. In fact Mr Yang declared that he must visit Poland to eat the food! Thank you very much the food and ambience were both fantastic! I will be visiting again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bariphoniumboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place. Very tasty food. Definitely coming back!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here last night for the first time after great reviews from friends and neighbours. We were not disappointed. I had the hunters stew which was delicious and very hearty. The only bummer was that they had run out of bread pots...that just gives us an excuse to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbakan also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Barbakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing