We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looked good and was definitely good”

The Hole In The Wall
Ranked #68 of 916 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 17, 2014

definitely a good decision to venture into this pub for a meal after a great day out in york. great pub atmosphere, great service from the young girls. great food. and excellent value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rod u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dico3d, Assistant Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi Rod,
Thanks for popping in to see us on your last visit to York, we are glad that you had a pleasant experience. Its good to hear that we looked and sounded appealing and then managed to deliver to ensure that your food was good. Hopefully will see you again on your next visit to York.
Kind Regards The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 605 of 884 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Perfect to stop in for a quick drink! Authentic setting and good service! Would recommend for a drink stop!

Thank Freddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dico3d, Assistant Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi Freddie,
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your visit. We do pride ourselves on our traditional and welcoming surroundings. Its a shame that you didn't have the time to have a bite to eat but hopefully you can do on your next visit.
Kind Regards The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

A great pub restaurant where staff are friendly and food is amazing!
Had the steak burger (home made) which comes with onion rings (home made) coleslaw, dip of your choice and a 'bucket' of chips. Absolutely delicious! Could even finish it.
Also have a range of specials on the board and a curry and drink night on a Monday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Klhm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dico3d, Assistant Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hello,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our business, we are glad that you had a pleasant experience. You made a good choice with the burger they are exceptional and very popular.
We do offer a lot of specials that change daily in keeping with the time of year. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to York.
Kind Regards The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We took advantage of the free bottle of wine (Hardys Cabernet) on Wednesday's Grill Night. My sirloin steak (£13.25) was cooked to perfection and it was not surprising that it was hard for others to find a table after 7.30pm - they cannot be pre-booked. The steak came with tomato, mushrooms and chips and was enhanced by a pepper sauce (£1.65). The garlic mushrooms for starter (£4.25) were also delicious with a chunk of bread so no sauce was wasted. The atmosphere was nice in the dark-panelled room and we were not interrupted by any ghosts. We will definitely be back when we are next in York

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StuB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dico3d, Assistant Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi Stu
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that your food was of a high standard. We always try to allow for a nice friendly warm atmosphere which is good to hear we achieved when you were with us.
Kind Regards The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Every time we go to York we always go to this pub. This visit we ate twice here. We never got to go back in the evenings but if you get the chance go. Its a lovely friendly pub in the evenings and depending on the time of year they will have the open fires on. One pub not to miss on a visit to York.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crunchynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dico3d, Assistant Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello,
Thanks for your kind review and for your continued support every time you visit York. You must try and get in on an evening this is when we have a lot of our special offers and entertainment on, for example live music and steak offers. We will no doubt see you on your next visit to our lovely city.
Kind Regards The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hole In The Wall also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing