We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Old Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hole In The Wall

The Hole In The Wall
Ranked #69 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Came here twice in a weekend. First time was saturday evening for a drink and the pub was fairly busy. Drinks are a bit costly. Had evening meal on the sunday. I had the large yorkshire pudding with the meat on the inside with veg and it was nice and filling. My boyfriend had a large plate of scampi and chips. We shared a dessert as it was large. Food menu is extensive and good value for money. Friendly staff and good customer service. It is just around the corner from the minster so in a good location.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    294
    72
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great welcome and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just had a great lunchtime meal at the hole in the wall york.
Great welcome and service. The beef and ale pie will keep we going for quite some time..definitely go back agin.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thepassmanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing Sunday roast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was looking for a Sunday roast in a pub in York and found good reviews about this pub. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone looking for a proper Sunday roast. For starter, there is a limited choice of roast (beef and pork). Both of us chose beef roast. It came extremely overcooked, see picture, the meat was very dry (despite their effort to hide it by covering the meat with gravy). The gravy was watery, the Yorkshire pudding was so dry and over cooked that it was more of a crust pudding than anything else.
It might not be the worst roast I had, but it is a definitely a contender.

On the positive note, the wine and ale were good.

I will not go back to that place as the cook has no pride in the food he serves to customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilian_blot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pub of my Choice. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I often visit York to see my partner, and every time I do, we visit this fantastic establishment. Great atmosphere, and even better food! The burgers are to die for! I highly recommend the Wild Boar an Chorizo burger with bacon as the topping! friendly staff, and see visits to this pub as a tradition for many years to come!

Helpful?
Thank JakeSmith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bannockburn, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a cracking pub with great food !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

What a great pub and superb food. Not only was the place a homely feel with an open fire but the menu and food was superb. We were made to feel welcome and the pub had a great atmosphere. The prices for drink and food was great, we will be back on our next visit to York. What a gem keep up the good work !!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandyMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hole In The Wall also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing