We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT STAFF” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
notts uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“GREAT STAFF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here with friends for 2 nights ,the hotel is easy to find and in a good position,the staff are great and very friendly nothing is too much trouble!
rooms are spacious although the bed was slightly soft for us the hotel is in a great position being very near a park and ride so good for days out in york.
there is plenty of free parking aswell, next door is a toby carvery which is very handy for a meal drink etc you can also get free hot drinks from a machine in the bar area which is a nice touch
breakfast is in the "small" bar area which can be very busy at times when people all come down together which happened to us on both days! staff do their best but the area is just too small for the guests and some were waiting to get a table! it can be very haphazard as the food is not easy to get to due to the set up of the serving area which is again due to lack of space
this was our only gripe as we thought there was a good choice of food considering it is free! you also got a choice of some hot items the sausages were especially nice,all in all we enjoyed our stay and would return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaNottsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear SheilaNottsUK,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a positive review on your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel.

The team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the recognition that you have provided, this serves as great motivation for us as a team.

Thank you for your comments relating to the Breakfast service and I'm pleased that overall it met your expectations. Breakfast can be busy during peak times and our breakfast team are always on hand to help make guest feel comfortable where possible.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future and thanks again for all your feedback.


Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    229
    98
    23
    13
See reviews for
144
222
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

stayed at the HIE for 3 nights this week, great place it was peaceful, quiet and just what was needed, the room was fairly standard and had all the usual requirements for a short stay, the breakfast is a help yourself affair again it was fine with a good selection of breakfast food, i have to say sausages and beans for 3 days was bad but so good !!!!!!!! the staff were very helpful when we needed assistance, the lady on reception when we arrived was very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area and kept us right, all in all a very good experience, we had a great time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Stevokelly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments; our team really appreciate your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in York.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in late September. The hotel was really easy to find being just off the A64 Ring Road. The receptionist was most helpful and check in was quick & easy.The room was pleasant and the bed very comfortable and the hotel itself clean with friendly staff. It also had a large settee in our room so watching TV at night was not uncomfortable. Being coeliac I found the use of individual toasters a bonus as it meant I could toast my own bread in my toast "pockets". The breakfast was quite adequate for my husband. I found the Toby Inn carvery next door very helpful in catering for my gluten free requirements. The thing to bear in mind is that you need a car to get around as the Park & Ride for York although nearby is not "walking distance" & the last bus back runs at 8.00pm so with fairly expensive parking in the city late nights may mean a taxi return. We would definitely use it again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Eileen M,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express York. All our feedback both positive and negative is analysed to help ensure hotel procedures are continually being improved.

Delighted to read of your experiences at our hotel; we aim to make the breakfast experience the way you have described. I am really pleased you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast before you adventured onwards.

Your positive feedback and recognition is really appreciated on all levels.

I hope you continue to use IHG Hotels for your travels and we look forward to welcoming you the next time you’re visiting York.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel as a base for our few days in York. Although outwith the city centre, there is a park and ride very close by which we made much use of and the hotel have a special deal with one of the taxi companies so it's a set rate into the city centre.

As we have found with any Holiday Inn Express we have stayed at, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and of a decent size. No bath in the room, but a decent sized shower cubicle, and a good shower.

The only negative we found was the size of the breakfast area. There isn't too much room to maneuver about, especially at busy times. The fact that breakfast is included though is a bonus as we are happy with a plate of cereal (not something we want to pay about £8 at other hotel chains!)

Overall, a very pleasant stay, just not so handy for anyone travelling without a car. We didn't want the hassle of trying to drive in the centre of York, so ideal for us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F00tballFan1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear F00tballFan1903,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. I can assure you that our team really appreciate the recognition that you have provided.

There is a bus stop which is located only a 10-15 minute walk away if guests wanted to leave their car in our Car park and visit the centre;It does run regularly too. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed in the holiday inn express hotel from 6th to 9th sept it was a lovely hotel very clean, staff were so helpful really friendly, and we would definatley stay at this hotel again, toby carvery right next door which we found very helpful as we had no car was really pleasant stay

Room Tip: all rooms appeared fine to us and our friends x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Kerry h,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay.

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. They do work very hard and i can assure you they really appreciate the recognition you have provided.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a large wedding party of all ages at the start if the month. Well positioned hotel for city centre and surrounding areas. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel was up to a good standard. The nearby restaurant was not very good, however, so we travelled to another one, which meant taxis and cars.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RogerWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear RogerWatson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experiences at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel.

I extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for using our hotel as a base for your travels to the Wedding venue. I apologise that you felt the Toby Carvery pub was not very good. This pub is a real asset to have on site and i will promptly handover your feedback to the Company/Management. We do have a number of restaurants close by and within a short drive and i'm pleased you found one of these to be more desirable for yourselves.

Thanks again for your positive comments and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights (26&27th August) and had a lovely time. Very clean and helpful and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We did have a little difficulty finding it though.
It is very close to a park and ride and although we didn't use this (son has fear of buses), I would recommend it as parking in York is really expensive. On average it cost us to park between £6 - 12 for a couple of hours! There is ample spaces at the hotel however which is always a deciding factor in choosing accomadation for us.
The free breakfast was a nice touch and there was plenty variety.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugo-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Hugo-monkey,

Thanks very much for posting a review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that we met your expectations and you found our team to be friendly and helpful. Your kind comments serve as great recognition to our team.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing