We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel as a base for our few days in York. Although outwith the city centre, there is a park and ride very close by which we made much use of and the hotel have a special deal with one of the taxi companies so it's a set rate into the city centre.

As we have found with any Holiday Inn Express we have stayed at, we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and of a decent size. No bath in the room, but a decent sized shower cubicle, and a good shower.

The only negative we found was the size of the breakfast area. There isn't too much room to maneuver about, especially at busy times. The fact that breakfast is included though is a bonus as we are happy with a plate of cereal (not something we want to pay about £8 at other hotel chains!)

Overall, a very pleasant stay, just not so handy for anyone travelling without a car. We didn't want the hassle of trying to drive in the centre of York, so ideal for us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F00tballFan1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear F00tballFan1903,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help us continually improve our hotel services and guest experience.

I am really delighted your stay was a positive one and that we met your expectations. I can assure you that our team really appreciate the recognition that you have provided.

There is a bus stop which is located only a 10-15 minute walk away if guests wanted to leave their car in our Car park and visit the centre;It does run regularly too. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    242
    101
    23
    13
See reviews for
158
233
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed in the holiday inn express hotel from 6th to 9th sept it was a lovely hotel very clean, staff were so helpful really friendly, and we would definatley stay at this hotel again, toby carvery right next door which we found very helpful as we had no car was really pleasant stay

Room Tip: all rooms appeared fine to us and our friends x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Kerry h,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay.

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. They do work very hard and i can assure you they really appreciate the recognition you have provided.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a large wedding party of all ages at the start if the month. Well positioned hotel for city centre and surrounding areas. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel was up to a good standard. The nearby restaurant was not very good, however, so we travelled to another one, which meant taxis and cars.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RogerWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear RogerWatson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experiences at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel.

I extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for using our hotel as a base for your travels to the Wedding venue. I apologise that you felt the Toby Carvery pub was not very good. This pub is a real asset to have on site and i will promptly handover your feedback to the Company/Management. We do have a number of restaurants close by and within a short drive and i'm pleased you found one of these to be more desirable for yourselves.

Thanks again for your positive comments and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights (26&27th August) and had a lovely time. Very clean and helpful and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We did have a little difficulty finding it though.
It is very close to a park and ride and although we didn't use this (son has fear of buses), I would recommend it as parking in York is really expensive. On average it cost us to park between £6 - 12 for a couple of hours! There is ample spaces at the hotel however which is always a deciding factor in choosing accomadation for us.
The free breakfast was a nice touch and there was plenty variety.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugo-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Hugo-monkey,

Thanks very much for posting a review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that we met your expectations and you found our team to be friendly and helpful. Your kind comments serve as great recognition to our team.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really nice hotel, lovely helpful staff, nice clean room and hotel, only down side no air con in the bed rooms, which was not good on a hot summers day, so trying to sleep was not much fun in a very hot room. Good continental breakfast. Also arrived just in time to watch Andy Murray Win Wimbledon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandgirlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear IslandgirlEdinburgh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to evauluate current hotel procedures and help improve overall guest satisfaction.

I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments; I understand that it was very warm when you stayed with us. When you stay next please ask at reception for a fan as we do have a limited number of these available to guests for such occassions.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

F / HIExpressYork
T@HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for a single night but the room was great, very clean, and the breakfast was fine. The staff were warm, friendly, and really helpful. It's a short trip into York so we would recommend it to anyone who needs to take their car as there's ample free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lph537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Iph537,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All guest feedback is used constructively to continually improve our hotel services and ultimately guest satisfaction.

Thank you for your positive comments relating to the team. All our team work incredibly hard each day to try and deliver a high level of service. Your kind comments are appreciated on all levels.

Kind regards
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager
T@ HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived for a three night stay on the 6th of August and found the hotel was spotless, tidy and the room excellent for a short break with the beds all made up. The staff are all very friendly and we would definitely consider returning to this hotel, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKitchenSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear TheKitchenSlave,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express York. All our feedback both positive and negative is properly analysed to help ensure hotel services are continually being improved.

It was excellent to read of your experiences with us; I am really pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and enjoyed our modern comfortable rooms.

Thank you for all your kind comments, I hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,323 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
4.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing