We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

All we wanted was a bed for our quick trip to York and this was perfect. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who confirmed my request for a quiet room away from the entrance. The room was very clean and obviously recently refurbished. Breakfast was fine if unexciting, with very friendly (again) staff. The area was a little cramped but this isn't meant to be a luxury hotel. The nearby Park and Ride was very useful.

Room Tip: Away from entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear CathyELondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is used constructively to help review procedures and ensure that hotel services are effective.

Delighted to read of your experiences. I am pleased that that you thought all the team members you encountered were friendly. That is a big part of the service we provide and know that guests like friendly but professional service; thank you for your kind comments.

I am glad you found that our free Express Start Breakfast met your needs and met your expectations.

Again, thank you for kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    234
    99
    23
    13
See reviews for
146
228
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed for a night whilst on business in June.
Looks like over the last 12 months they have really tidied the rooms up e.g. decorated, some new fixtures and tiling in the bathrooms. Very clean!
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Area for improvement are poor (weak) showers, and the breakfast area was very small and had a distinct smell of wet dog....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E6522G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear E6522G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is always great to hear from our loyal guests. All our feedback is analysed to help ensure hotel services are continually reviewed and improved.

It was great to hear that you choose to stay with us on business and really pleased that you noticed and enjoyed the fully refurbished bedrooms. These were completed in January and they’re designed to be modern but ergonomic to suit both business and leisure guests. I apologise that the shower experience did not meet your expectations and hope that the next time you stay with us it is more positive.

Thank you for your comments relating to our team; they work hard everyday to try and deliver a high level of service. Your comments are appreciated on all levels and will be passed on to the team.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a short stop overnight whilst in the York area. If you aren't looking for the centre then this is ideal though as mentioned the postcode can be slightly misleading on a Sat Nav. We arrived quite late but the check in girl was very friendly and quickly booked us in. There was a small but tidy bar and breakfast area just by the reception which supplied any immediate needs, though the bar was expensive. Our room was just at the back of receptions and really clean with a very comfortable bed. The slight downside was that a delivery lorry arrived very early in the morning so woke us up. I would recommend it to anyone that needs a quick overnight trip outside of the centre. Catherine on reception was really friendly and welcoming, thanks.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms near reception on the ground floor if you don't like noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Christian A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express York Hotel. All feedback received is analysed to help ensure hotel services are continually reviewed and improved.

I was really delighted to read of your experiences relating to the check in experiences and our hotel Bar. We do have a Bar at reception; we stock wine, lager, Beer and a number of different spirits plus soft drinks; thank you for deciding to have a drink at our Bar and I'm glad it met your requirements.

Thank you also for your positive comments relating to Katherine, I will ensure this feedback is passed on and that Katherine receives the praise she deserves.

I was concerned to read that you were woken early and apologise for any inconvenience caused by that particular delivery. Normally this does not effect our guests as if they are early we always try and ensure they are quiet and we have taken steps to ensure this continues.

Thank you for all of your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Take care if using a Sat Nav to locate the hotel as the post code does not take you there. Take the Malton Road signed Malton/Scarborough and look for the Toby Inn which is attached to the hotel. The receptionists were friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and functional. A good nights sleep and breakfast was nice. This is reasonably priced hotel in a good location and having a Toby Inn next door is very handy for eating without having to go far

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear David T,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. All our feedback is analysed to help ensure hotel services are continually reviewed and improved.

I think the advice you have provided with regards directions is very useful so thank you for that. For more information on directions; guests can visit our main website where full directions are displayed. If guests ever need advice then they are able to call our friendly reception team for help or assistance.

I am really pleased you were happy with the service provided and that the stay met your expectations. I will ensure all positive comments are passed on to our team.

Again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel has been refurbished since our last visit with new bathrooms and interior décor. Bedrooms are spotless with more than enough space for two people.
The staff we met were both friendly and helpful, especially at reception. The breakfast now has hot food (beans, scrambled egg and sausage) which adds to the variety.
The best feature of the hotel is the location. It's right next door to a Toby Carvery and within a mile of the Park and Ride at Monks Cross, by far the best way to access York city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CymroDyserth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear CymroDyserth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is always great to hear from our loyal guests. All our feedback is analysed to help ensure hotel services are continually reviewed and improved.

I was delighted to read your comments and will definitely pass on your positive feedback to the team. I am also really pleased you noticed the changes; we completed a full refurbishment of our bedrooms in January and they have a modern yet warm feel to them. Our Housekeeping team work incredibly hard too ensure they are cleaned to a high standard everyday. I am pleased your stay met expectations.

Thank you for all your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staff were excellent -from guy at check in through to breakfast and check out. Room spotless and modern with comfortable beds. Breakfast was good with hot food being replenished regularly. Staff went out of their way to get my young daughter a chocolate muffin! Great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjohnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear jjohnymac,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express York. All our feedback both positive and negative is properly analysed to help ensure hotel services are continually being improved.

It was excellent to read of your experiences with us; I am really pleased that you had a great stay with us and that we met your expectations.

Thank you for all your kind comments relating to our friendly team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The staff made you feel welcome from start to finish. They were friendly, pleasent and very helpful. The hotel was lovely and clean. Rooms were very spacious and very clean. Breakfast was serve your self cold buffet, it also had sausages, beans and scramble eggs and toast. Crossisant, fruit, cerals, yoghurts, fruit jucies, teas and coffees. The staff at breakfast were really chatty. They even told us we could take breakfasts to our rooms. Breakfast started at at 6.30am and finished at 11.30am they never rushed you. I would definitely stay there again and recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXYork, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express York, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Patricia M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay with the Holiday Inn Express York. We ensure all our feedback both positive and negative is properly analysed to help improve our Hotel services as a whole.

I was delighted to read of your experiences and that we met your expectations. Very pleased to read that you received a warm welcome and that you were given helpful and friendly assistance at breakfast also. I will ensure all your kind comments are passed onto the team!

Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stuart Anderson
Deputy General Manager

T @HIExpressYork
FB /HIExpressYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing