We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, fairly quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express York
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, fairly quiet location”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Visited the hotel on business, got give an room overlooking the far off road and directly by the entrance, so had to suffer hearing the conversations of muppets having a smoke.

Nice room and bathroom, very clean and a comfortable sleep

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special and included in the cost of the room

Room Tip: away from the entrance :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    242
    101
    23
    13
See reviews for
157
233
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a couple of nights here as a family. Rooms were basic but clean. Beds were very uncomfortable. Breakfast wasn't very good - orange juice was watery and stale rolls.

Reception staff very nice and helpful.

Car park a bit of a pain. Arrived back at 8pm and struggled to get parked due to the carvery next door.

Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is well located if you want to combine a visit to York with visits to North and East Yorkshire. If you are just visiting York you may want to look at alternatives. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the rooms functional and comfortable. Breakfast is as advertised and adequate but don't expect anything special.

Room Tip: Seek a room away from the main entrance if you like to sleep with the window open - it can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights courtesy of earned priority Club Points.

Rooms clean and Tidy, and hotel is quite quiet.

Breakfast Room is very small for the size of the Hotel so in school holidays have your breakfast early circa 8am to avoid having to queue.

There is a Good and very popular / busy Toby Inn next door. Great for carvery meal or morning Breakfast if you want something with a bit more moisture than the Holiday Inn Express Continental Breakfast.

We used the Hotel as a base for York and for the Moors and Coast.

Car Park is always very busy and shared with the Toby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

very impressed with this hotel clean,large bouble room staff very helpful and friendly,breakfast
lot of variety .Toby carvery was good and tea/coffee in room very welcome .stayed 3 nights to explore york and the hotel was perfect for our needs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked as part of a an extended family get away for one night. Wanted a twin rather than a double room was told this was not possible, then asked for some bed linen so we could make up the pull out bed. At first the manager refused as it had not been booked as a family room, couldnt understand if the bed was in the room why he did not want us to use it. He did however eventually agree and came to make the bed up. The room was clean and well kept, no complaints. It was £8 taxi fare to York that went up to £12 at night, so ended up costing quite a bit over the weekend stay. The family was split up all over the hotel and although we had a good night sleep some of them were kept up with noise and banging on door till 5.30 am from a group of lads. We complained and although we got an apologie nothing else. Breakfast was help yourself buffet syle, was fine. Dont think we would stay here again due to location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseakers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was really impressed with the friendly staff and the facilities. I see a lot of people giving average or low reviews. This is a Holiday Inn Express, not a 5-star hotel. We arrived about 9pm, and were checking out the next morning, so it was perfect for our needs. I know what I can expect from Holiday Inn, and they surpassed those expectations. You can eat at Toby's Carvery next door, or you can choose one of the take-away menus the hotel provides. We opted for take-away. The hotel allows you to use the dining area at any time of the night, so you don't have to eat in your room. You can have a wide range of drinks at any hour. The hotel is a bit outside of the city centre, which saves you money, but it's really close to a park-and-ride centre, so it's easy to get to York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,320 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
4.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express York

Property: Holiday Inn Express York
Address: Malton Road, York YO32 9TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express York 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Holiday Inn Express York is a short drive from the A64 road and less than a mile from the Monks Cross Park & Ride. Our family rooms mean 2 kids stay for free when sleeping on the sofa bed. The whole family can help themselves to our all inclusive continental breakfast buffet with selective hot items served every morning, in the air-conditioned breakfast lounge with flat screen TV. Holiday Inn Express York is just 2.5 miles from York city-centre attractions such as the magnificent York Minster. Keep in touch with wireless Internet throughout the hotel. We have plenty of complimentary parking for residents, and York's two universities are within easy reach of Holiday Inn Express York. Relax over a drink in our Lobby bar. Next door, the Hopgrove Toby Carvery serves delicious pub grub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express York Hotel York
Holiday Inn York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing